We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh.My.Goodness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Biernat's

Al Biernat's
4217 Oak Lawn Ave, Dallas, TX 75219 (Oak Lawn)
(214) 219-2201
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Al Biernat's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 3,151 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Cross street: Hershel
Coppell, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Oh.My.Goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our pick for restaurant week dinner. My husband and I had always heard about it but never had tried it. I'm so glad we picked this restaurant as we couldn't have been happier. We arrived about 15 minutes early and expected to wait at the bar. However, we were told it was no problem and were seated immediately. They had a good selection of wine and the service was very attentive. I chose an appetizer with pasta and escargo that was amazing. For my entree, I chose a filet mignon. It is extremely hard to get a restaurant to cook my steaks as rare as I like them without still being cold, and more often than not they are overcooked for my taste. However, my steak was absolutely perfect. Dessert was a decadent coconut cream pie. Unfortunately, I was too full to eat it all after the wonderful meal, but I did manage to eat enough to say I'd love to have it again. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    79
    25
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sju
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Enjoy a very good steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a high end steakhouse, with very good ambience and excellent service. The meat quality is
Excellent and they serve really fast even if they are full. You and your family can enjoy every minute you spend here

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fun atmosphere--restaurant and people. Great service. Veal was falling off the bone. Giant portions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millstone, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Great Dining Experience!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This place is a must if you are in Dallas! A great place to enjoy fabulous steaks, and to people watch. Let me start with the food, the NIman Ranch Porterhouse for two could possibly be the best steak that I ever had! It was cooked to a perfect medium rare.

We also had the Grilled veal chop, and the Maine lobster which were both delicious. For sides the lobster Risotto and creamed spinach were enjoyable.

The restaurant has a professional staff which are extremely attentive. Al himself came to our table to introduce himself. What a great meal.....

This place is truely a unique experience which one should definately try....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Dallas' Finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My sister highly recommended Al Biernat's and it didn't disappoint. We ate there on a Saturday night and the place was packed. Great atmosphere, top notch service and then there's the food...wow!
We decided to share Oysters Rockefeller which were fantastic. For the main course (entree) I decided on Filet Oscar...melt in the mouth beef with a generous lump of crab and bernaise...outstanding! Best creamed spinach I've ever had.
We shared the coconut cream pie which is the signature dessert and it was out of this world.
Great wine list and I can't wait to return. Fabulous night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Al Biernat's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Biernat's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.