We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Gathering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen

Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen
3520 Oak Lawn, Dallas, TX 75219 (Oak Lawn)
(214) 521-4700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 3,098 Restaurants in Dallas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Dallas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Family Gathering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We took my In-Laws and a Sister-in-Law to Pappadeaux to eat oysters and have a little seafood. I had the always spectacular Redfish and joining me was my Father-in-Law. I knew it was great and he agreed as we both finished everything. We started out with three dozen oysters; mostly finished with me with a dozen, he with a dozen and the rest with a dozen. Again, as usual, they were very good. The only complaint was that it took too long to shuck three dozen and they arrived too close to the entrees. But, all in all, a very good lunch. Not as noisy as other Pappadeaux locations, but a party of very loud patrons made it unpleasant. The ceiling in their restaurants reflects the sound from anywhere in the restaurant. Very noisy people can negatively affect patrons as many as four tables away in any direction. Still think it would be a good idea for Pappadeaux to better soundproof their ceiling.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    17
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We were pampered from the minute we walked in the door, til we walked away smiling. The host was prompt and friendly, and let us select seating where we thought we would be most comfortable. Our waiter was a pure dynamo, knew the menu inside and out, and let us know the whole time that he cared very much if we were getting everything the way we wanted. I was really pleasantly surprised at the service level for what I thought was a chain, even if a somewhat upscale one.

We opened with the Shrimp & Crawfish Fondeaux which was a cheesy delight, loaded with nice sized shrimp and crawfish meat that seemed more like crab, and came with a huge helping of crusty garlic bread (which followed the very nice crusty plain bread and butter that hit the table before the app).

The shrimp and grits were incredible ... huge shrimp and the creamiest grits, with sausage (andouille?). Tilapia Lafayette was a large and very nice filet of tilapia (not like the cheapo places sling at you, but white and flaky) with a tomato and basil sauce with copious chunks of crab meat and other rich and varied flavors ... maybe buttery capers and wine ... and with a surprising (to me, anyway) side of spaghetti squash which was clean and crisp and just right in its simplicity alongside the complexity of the fish dish.

We couldn't bring ourselves to try dessert this time, but saw a few go by ... I should have laid off some of that crusty bread and save room for the bread pudding I saw sneak by, covered in ice cream and a rich-looking sauce. Maybe next time.

Bottom Line: There was a Red Lobster across the road, and another seafood place that sounded interesting ... This place gave us great food and great food at a good price (not cheap, but worth it). Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very Crowded, For Good Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Our niece and her husband who live in Dallas took us here for dinner. It's a large place but was full up, and we found out why: really good fresh fish in a city not known for seafood. For a chain restaurant, they have kept their outlets at a high level. Didn't feel like a chain at all. We enjoyed lobster spring rolls and fried alligator for appetizers and each couple split a seafood kebob entree. Since the plates each came with two huge kebobs, it was plenty for us. The service was also excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT LUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Almost like an oasis in the midst of busy city....great place to meet friends or family for super seafood and good service.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Perpetual Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We love the Pappa's chains in Houston and Dallas. The Pappadeaux's at Oak Lawn is our favorite location in Dallas. We ate there recently and had another wonderful meal. Our waiter was friendly and very knowledgeable. He made dinner suggestions that were spot on. We had a very enjoyable and relaxing dinner. The fish was perfectly cooked and totally delicious. I can't wait until I have another opportunity to eat at this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.