We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herrera's Cafe

Herrera's Cafe
4024 Maple Ave, Dallas, TX 75219-3216
214-528-9644
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #485 of 3,105 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My favorite lunch stop on Maple Ave, Herrera's has a full house everyday but they always seem to find room for another table. The service is excellent, the chips and salsa hit the table before your butt hits the chair sometimes. If you order the Jessica's plate, you will be in for a treat. Spicy salsa, tasty enchilada, rice, beans and a taco to boot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
home
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Local favorite?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We were told of this place by a local. I think I passed 20 others before arriving here. Good sign that the local cops were eating here. Salsa was good and actually had a kick. No alcohol served here so that's a downside. Food was ok. Not great but ok. I am not sure I would drive far to get here again but would stop in if in the area. Service was prompt and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better Tex Mex cuisine at Taco Bell”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The restaurant outside of the Mockingbird Station is great for Drinks but the food is somewhat less than average. I had the Lucio's Carne Asada and the meat was tough not cooked correctly and the sides included ricew with little flavor and beans that were very dry and seemed old by comparison to the meal, some lettuce with grated cheese, no sour cream, Pico de Gallo or guacamole. I am from the Houston area and these sides are standard on any plate at a Tex-Mex restaurant. The other folks at our table had issues with oversalted food, late service or protions that were undersized... As I said the margarita's were good, a bit strong and beer is beer, serve it cold and it is a winner.
I would look elsewhere for food in any event.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Location Same Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Whether you're going for lunch or dinner, Herrera's Cafe still serves some of the best mexican food in town. At it's third location on Maple Avenue, with an extensive bar and a healthy selection of tables the service is excellent and the value is still outstanding. We ate lunch at about 4 in the afternoon and the place was predictably almost empty - but by the time 5pm rolled around, folks were starting to come into the bar. I can heartily recommend the Jimmy's Special if you're really hungry and the Mexican Dinner #1 if you've a bit of a lighter appetite. Chips are always fresh, salsa is always hot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Moderately Priced Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

When I am downtown, Herrera's is always a great place to stop for a meal. The food is excellent, better than any of the chain restaurants listed above. The food is freshly prepared and tasty. I usually have a named combination. The bean soup that they serve with any entree during the dinner hours is superb. The portions are generous but not over sized as in most Tex-Mex establishments. The only criticism is that their margaritas are way over priced and not that special. However, if you are after great food at a reasonable price, stop a Herrera's for meal. I am sure you will return again and again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herrera's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Herrera's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herrera's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.