We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Baker's Rib on 2202 N Galloway Ave, Mesquite, TX” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baker's Ribs

Baker's Ribs
3033 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75226 (East Dallas)
214-748-5433
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #464 of 3,029 restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: East Dallas
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: East Dallas
Mesquite, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Baker's Rib on 2202 N Galloway Ave, Mesquite, TX”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Here it is Memorial weekend and I have a choice. I can either go to Soulmans's BBQ or Baker's Ribs BBQ. So I thought for a minute and decided on Bakers Ribs ( wanted their fried pies) / Mouth was watering for Ribs . Now I will tell you that I don't eat ribs very seldom because I feel that ribs or a waste because after all you paying for a lots of bone right? Ok so I told them that I was wanting an order of delicious ribs. I got it to go which is always a mistake because you can't always turn around and drive all the way back if your not happy . Well, I was I was not happy with the ribs. I could not chew them and they were very tough. The sides we ok and the peach pie was good . If you want sugar free pies you have to go to another of there restaurants since they do not offer them any more. Perhaps the other Bakers Ribs are good but this one I do not recommend for ribs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    13
    9
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Baker's Ribs Deep Ellum is so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Baker's Ribs in Deep Ellum is one of my favorite Texas BBQ restaurants!!!

The baked potato with chopped beef on top is delicious! Around $8.75!

Easy to get to and free parking, it is so fast, faaasssstttt and really good quality!!!

I rate this 5 stars because it is one of the best tasting BBQ in Texas just as good as Up in Smoke!

Wicked fried pies! Oh man it is so wicked I cheap at least once a week and go for it!

Great atmosphere, seat yourself, self serve ice cream at the end is free!

BBQ...BBQ...where are you? In Dallas in Deep Ellum go get it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall very good but with drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've been eating at Baker's Ribs for at least 10 years, and their ribs and brisket are among the best in Dallas. Excellent side dishes as well; their beans and potato salad are among the best I've had. Drawbacks: I love pulled pork and have tried theirs twice and both times the pork was gamey and I sent it back. My wife almost became physically ill and refuses to eat there anymore. Also, who likes to eat on styrofoam plates with plastic forks and knives? Not me - this keeps me from going more often. Also, I think people in Texas like to serve their own side dishes. Most barbecue restaurants we go to allow customers to serve up their own side dishes - that's probably why we go to Spring Creek and Soulman's more often. Their meat isn't as good as Baker's, but the dining experience is better. Every time I go to Baker's Ribs the place is nearly empty - I eat mostly at the Garland and Rowlett locations. Yet Spring Creek is nearly full most times we are there.

Lose the plastic dinnerware and let folks serve up their own side dishes and you will get a lot more business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and Atmosphere the locals share”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

In the shadow of the old Cotton Bowl lies one of the very best BBQ places I have ever eaten at. This tiny little old building is easy to miss, but its worth the trip. We went there witha local, well after the offical lunch hour, and were greeted with fresh food, bug smiles, and a great value!

I had the chopped beef, potato sald, mac & cheese and Texas Toast. Everything was excellent! Best of all was the warm BBQ sauce they give you and the potato salad. I would have sworn my beloved mother made it, it was outstanding. Everything was very, very good.

My wife had the ribs and she literally was licking her fingers.

Excellent and inexpensive!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“the BEST ribs and smoked goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This place was across the street from us, which meant I could always smell the smoke from the meat day in and day out - making me crave their food non stop!

Their portions are huge, their prices cheap, their food AMAZING! Meat and more meat done in a variety of ways and all served with their delicious smokey bbq sauce. Definitely go to this place, the staff are also very friendly!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baker's Ribs also viewed

 

Been to Baker's Ribs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baker's Ribs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.