We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shades of former glory” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant

The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant
2821 Turtle Creek Blvd, Dallas, TX 75219-4802 (Oak Lawn)
214-559-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 3,104 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Cross street: Turtle Creek and Gillespie
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Shades of former glory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The chef that replaced Dean Fearing had a hard act to follow. Unfortunately the dinner we were served in early October was a big disappointment. I ordered venison, one of my favorites. It was tough and very bland. The evening ended on a worse note. We were seated outdoors and apparently smoking in outdoor restaurant areas in Dallas is still permitted. A party of cigar smoking young men was seated at a table near us. Cigars and food in a restaurant that wants to be taken seriously??

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    41
    35
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

I love the atmosphere here! Very relaxing and calm. They have a lot of different wines. Great place to sip wine and enjoy yourself and some company!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was attending a business meeting with a colleague and decided to escape the rubber chicken entree for an evening here. From the pre-dinner bar experience to the dessert, The Mansion deserves your time. The wine, food and ambience were all that I expect from a restaurant of this caliber. One of the best parts of the evening was enjoying the hot, spicy chick peas and a good martini in the classic wood paneled bar before dinner. Arrive early so you can spend some time getting into a fine dining mind-set before your dinner commences. I will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, U.S.A.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“CLASSY AND A VERY NICE EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Finally got around to going to The Mansion after living in Dallas for over 34 years. Made a reservation on line with no difficulty or problem. Went to the bar first for a glass of champagne each, took our time and relaxed and enjoyed the people watching and ambiance there. We went in to dinner exactly at the time we had our rerservation for and our request for a certain table and waiter was honored. The salmon I had was wonderful, my wife's scallops she thought were a little on the "fishy taste" side. We had a glass of champagne again with our dinner which was very nice as it was in the bar. 'Tis very nice to sit in a lovely place witih lovely people and great service! Total cost, $199.00 with tip plus cash tip for the parking attendant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A colleague and I went to The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant and I have to say, Best Meal of the Year so far! The service was the best and I wish every restaurant was this good. The Sommelier was charming and gracious. We opted for Champagne for the entire meal but the wine list was outstanding! The Waygu Beef Tartar was divine! The Heirloom Tomato salad with Burrata and dehydrated kalamata olives was the best tomato salad I have had in years and the green asparagus risotto was heavenly. The Branzino was well executed with great flavor. In a word, simply a blissful dining experience. The ambience was relaxing with a great view of the patio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.