We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant

The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant
2821 Turtle Creek Blvd, Dallas, TX 75219-4802 (Oak Lawn)
214-559-2100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 2,896 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Cross street: Turtle Creek and Gillespie
Coppell, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

two couples went to the Mansion for restaurant week. Once in the lobby, the restaurant is on the left after you pass many, many couches with people drinking cocktails. The gardens outside look beautiful, some people eating out even though is kind of hot. There were 3 very good choices for each course. The pork belly and corn soup were great. The lamb and red snapper perfect, the black forest definitely better than the peach cobbler. Service was great.
If you want to try it without spending too much, go during restaurant week!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    48
    36
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Another restaraunt week score”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Took a friend for Dallas restaurant week and had a delicious time. My appetizer had watermelon and goat cheese in it and I tasted the chilled corns soup - delish! Tasty fish with fruit and a little spice and my lamb melted in my mouth. Perfect red paired wtih my lamb but the white paired wtih my entree didn't rock. Setting and service is top notch. Ask for Ray - he's been there 14 years and is a pro. Ask him about the history!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great appetizers / Great desserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Appetizers, soups, salads and desserts are wonderful. Entrees aren't worth the price. Outstanding service.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Make an Excellent Ronnie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is home to the greatest shot ever invented: the Ronnie. Inspired by the Malice at the Palace, it consists of a slap to the face (either open-handed or back-handed) from a willing drinking partner followed by a shot of Maker's Mark. It is also recommended to wear your favorite band t-shirt such as a retro Kiss shirt or a Kenny "The Gambler" Rogers tee. Warning: Upon administering the Ronnie, you may be asked to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good, but not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The wife and I went here for the first time for our 5 year anniversary. We had both heard that the Mansion was supposed to be one of the best restaurants in Dallas so we went in with high expectations based on our experiences at other top Dallas restaurants.

The restaurant is well decorated, but it is showing its age. Light fixtures and mirrors had smudges and dirt, parts of the floor board were coming loose, there were a few paint chips, and other minor wear and tear. None of the issues were really bad, but all together they just gave an otherwise good décor an aged and worn feel.

The food was above average, but for the price and reputation I was expecting great. The tortilla soup was fantastic and my wife's iced tea was probably the best we have ever had. I got the veal chop and it was quite good, but nothing really memorable. The wife got the scallops and they were just average. We shared the Texas Grit Fries and they were good, but more of a 'fun to try it once' good.

The service was definitely good, but not outstanding. The French Room has outstanding service, and most of the top Dallas steak restaurants have at least as good service as The Mansion.

There are 3 seating areas - the indoor main dining room, outside patio, and an area in between that looked like it might have been a converted sun room. We sat in this in between area and it probably contributed to the below expectation ambiance. I would recommend sitting in either the main dining room or outside on the patio.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mansion at Turtle Creek Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.