We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Saturday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum

The George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum
2943 SMU Boulevard, Dallas, TX 75205
214-346-1557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
Type: Cultural
Attraction details
Deer Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Saturday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a great experience for us! Many of the exhibits are interactive and the touch-screen table top on Iraq/Afghanistan feels like it's straight out of a movie war room. Personally, I skipped the 9/11 section, but the rest of the museum was very informative. Observing different documents pertaining o many important decisions and events was very cool and the replica of the Oval Office is fun! Apparently he had a painting of the Alamo in there! The twins host acute video featuring some of the lighter moments. The Decision Points theater is also a cool interactive learning tool. The visit can take about 3-4 hours if you look at everything.

Tips: Make sure to take a picture behind the desk with your phone or camera, because the one the museum photographer will take is upwards of $15 to purchase. Get there when it opens on a Saturday. We spent the morning there and it wasn't busy, but we left around noon and it was becoming a zoo.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    188
    60
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family and I loved this museum. It gives such a great review of recent history. The 9/11 section is particularly moving. This is a beautiful place and there is something new to see everywhere you look. My children especially enjoyed seeing the replica of the Oval Office and enjoyed many interactive exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Greatly enjoyed all the exhibits. The 911 Exhibit was very emotional. Lots of patron interactive capability. The Docents were well trained and cordial. Only a few things need attention. First, the outside parking signage needs to be larger and findable. Missed it the first time. Second, the parking lot has way too many reserved spaces dedicated only for hybrid and electric vehicles. Great idea for the future, but this Labor Day weekend traffic plus SMU football game didn't provide nearly enough regular spots. The Library inside signage also needs some attention as to where the exits are. Plus, if you enter the gift shop during your tour and still plan to walk around inside the Library, you'll have to go back through the purse, baggage and electronic screening process all over again. This was not explained to us and we had the pleasure of doing it all over.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very interesting and informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This was my first time in a Presidential library, so I didn't have any expectations going in. The library was well laid out and had a lot of personal effects from President Bush's terms in office. Regardless of your political persuasion, I highly recommend checking it out if you're in the Dallas area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The free audio tour is a nice bonus. Lots of high tech things to touch and play with. Interesting stop no matter who you voted for :).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George W. Bush Presidential Library and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.