We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun for all ages” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perot Museum of Nature and Science

Perot Museum of Nature and Science
2201 N. Field Street, Dallas, TX 75201-1704
+1 214-428-5555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 304 things to do in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inspiring minds through nature and science.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great fun for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Simple enough for those with no basic knowledge but so well done as to be of interest to those well versed in the subjects. The grounds outside are interesting and playful too. The architecture is impressive. The best bit, which is a hands on playroom for all ages,is saved until last!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    303
    104
    34
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

What a wealth of information
What a great place to bring young people who want to learn.
Plan on spending at least 1/2day
All In All a great time

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After visiting a couple other science centers in other cities I feel so happy knowing that the Perot Museum is in my home town. The exhibits are well maintained and up-to-date, the museum has a wonderful flow and the information they provide is very knowledgable. I haven't been in a few months but I am hoping to make it to the Animal exhibit that is currently at the Perot.

** Go early or go late, the crowds can get pretty big on the weekends.

** I highly recommend their IMAX, we had a wonderful experience there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fascinating Place To Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited in July of 2013...

I live in Dallas and have been passing by this place for quite some time. We finally went and visited for my mother's birthday.

It's a lot of fun with lots of interactive exhibits stretching across 5 floors (plus a basement). The tour begins on the top floor and you work your way down via stairs/escalators or elevators. The exhibit begins with the birth of the universe, space, the stars, and the formation of the planets down to prehistoric times to the understanding of weather, land formation, biology, animal evolution, and geology, to the world today. Of course, there are special areas dedicated to the sciences and history as it pertains to the Dallas-Forth Worth area and Texas in general. As mentioned, each floor has plenty of interactive exhibits to try out (too many to mention here), Interesting videos on HD Monitors, and theaters with 3D/IMAX movies.

It takes a good while to explore the entire exhibit as everything has been well-constructed and set up to the point that you can't help but linger on every exhibit. So going through the whole museum could take at least a few hours.

If there s a drawback to visiting the place it's the sheer number of children visiting the place on the weekends. Naturally, with so many kids running wild around the place, it can make maneuvering through the place difficult. Plus you might need a couple of asprin from the noise, especially on the 3rd Floor where a majority of the interactive exhibits are located. Of course it's understandable to deal with the kids. But if you are looking for a more peaceful touring experience, I learned after the fact that on Friday nights there is an "adults only" tour.

Because we were overrun by the kids and we were on a tight time crunch, we didn't get to see EVERYTHING but if we get the chance, we will go again. The museum is that interesting. If you get the chance to go there, don't pass it up.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum - just couldn't get our bearings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The museum is a must see - very well done throughout the entire building. Exhibits are top notch. We didn't have children with us - but could see this would be an excellent spot to bring children/students. We purchased our tickets online - which is highly recommended. Attended the special exhibit on the animals - where they have preserved the animals and taken cross sections to show you - and that was fascinating.

Snack area is nice - elevators are clear to show the inner workings - lots of variety throughout the museum - something to interest everyone - a very interactive museum from the moment you set foot on campus. Parking is no problem at all - easy to park - easy walk to the museum - easy exit.

The only issue we had was that we were nauseous the entire time we were in the museum. Don't know if it was the movement in the escalator from the first floor to the fourth - or the amazing amount of sensory overload - or the amount of people present - but it was pretty uncomfortable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Perot Museum of Nature and Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perot Museum of Nature and Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.