We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to downtown Dallas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO Dallas South Side

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added NYLO Dallas South Side to your Saves list
NYLO Dallas South Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 South Lamar St., Dallas, TX 75215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early - Save 10%
Ranked #21 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
Tyler, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Easy access to downtown Dallas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

NYLO provided excellent service from the initial welcome at the front desk to the surprise gift bag at check out. Hotel desk staff provided excellent directions to use the DART system to access the AA center. We felt safe walking the 2 blocks to the station and the parking lot has 24 hour security. Rooms well designed and good use of space. If you want a "traditional luxury" hotel, this is not your hotel. If you want a unique, relaxing and enjoyable experience, I highly recommend this hotel. Children may be bored although the roof top bar had foosball and the lobby had a pool table. Hotel is really for adults only.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    65
    13
    16
    6
See reviews for
14
84
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Nylo has an absolutely beautiful rooftop bar. Small infinity pool but large bar area. Rooms are nice. Loft inspired. Love the fact that the bottled water is free and not charged in the room. Only downside is there's no late night room service or any convenience store options around. Location is just fair. Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for taking the time to share them with us on TripAdvisor. We are well known for the beautiful skyline views from our rooftop bar! In fact, we received best bar with a view award this year. I am pleased to read that your stay went wonderfully well and you had the chance to enjoy all of our amenities.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Stay Unique,
Trent Yoder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel! Stayed here for a friends bachelorette weekend and we could not have been happier. The view of the skyline from the rooftop bar can't be beat. Staff was attentive and friendly. I apologize if I get her name wrong but I think it was Tia (?), she was especially great. Even shuttled us to our dinner reservations and we talked non-stop the whole way.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Huge room, but far from downtown, which is not necessarily bad, because Dallas is a horrible place. I reserved a room with booking.com but it did not work. Luckily they had a free room, which was very very spacious but not very cheap. Great view from the pool on the rooftop and nice food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

View is great, the pool is on the roof, amazing bar on the roof and great staff. Only complaint was a manager who was being too into our business as we were "younger". Go to the bar on the roof, order a drink and also order a burger from the bar staff. The restaurant brings it up stairs to the bar. So good! Really liked this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We live in Dallas and decided to have a "staycation". We chose this hotel for its uniqueness and reasonable prices, and it exceeded our expectations! The interior design was gorgeous, the rooftop pool had amazing views, the staff was warm and welcoming, always greeting us as we passed through the lobby, and the beds were beyond heavenly! I wanted to take that bed home with me! There is paid parking and valet, but we managed to avoid that by finding free parking around the hotel, since we didn't mind walking a bit. It's close to downtown, and there's a coffee shop underneath the apartment building right next door. We had a view of Downtown Dallas and our view was right along Lamar, so there was a bit of road noise, but that didn't really bother us. Also, the hotel is LEED Certified Gold, so it's a very environmentally friendly hotel, which I really admire. We've stayed at several boutique hotels in Downtown Dallas, and this one is at the top of our list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Check in was nice and easy, got the king room which we booked. The hotel is a boutique style place and has gorgeous furniture and artwork everywhere, the rooms are an industrial type look but it works. The bathroom has a big shower and separate toilet. No fridge or microwave in the rooms, just a coffee machine.

The first night we were there we had to move rooms as the people in the room next to us were making love and we could hear EVERYTHING! It was disgusting and I called to be moved, the reception called them 2 times to be quiet but that just made it worse. It isn't the hotels fault but just to let you know the walls are VERY THIN!!! We moved rooms and it wasn't to bad after that. I also had cockroaches crawling around so my hubby had to get rid of them as I hate them!

The one complaint I do have is the roof top pool area, my husband, mother and my aunty went up for a drink after checking in and the staff were to busy socialising with the cooler crowd in the pool. I ordered some chips and that took over an hour to get to me!! I had to ask 2 times what's taking so long and then when I asked the 2nd time the girl said they forgot to put the order in the first time. I wasn't happy at all. Other guests at the hotel had similar experience so the management really need to train their staff in customer service.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so you will need a car or you can walk to the train station if you need to get anywhere. There is a nice little restaurant across the road but that's it.

I probably wouldn't stay here again. If you are into staying up late and partying then I would recommend this hotel, but if you want something nice and quiet then this isn't the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO Dallas South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Dallas South Side

Address: 1325 South Lamar St., Dallas, TX 75215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO Dallas South Side 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in downtown Dallas at NYLO Dallas South Side - a boutique hotel designed with a passion for art, music, and the environment. Contemporary design blends seamlessly with the building's historic character, creating a unique and inspirational hotel that is also eco-friendly. Designed to LEED Gold status - NYLO Dallas South Side is one of the greenest hotels in the world. With green design, chic loft-style accommodations, the Terrace Bistro, and the rooftop SODA Bar and pool, NYLO Dallas South Side redefines the standard for a new generation of lifestyle hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NYLO Dallas South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO Dallas South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.