We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NYLO Dallas South Side

Save Saved
You added NYLO Dallas South Side to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NYLO Dallas South Side
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1325 South Lamar St., Dallas, TX 75215   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Early - Save 10%
Ranked #19 of 188 hotels in Dallas
Midlothian, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

In major cities I always try to stay in boutique hotels and this is one of the best I have experienced, for a very reasonable price. The historic building is fabulously decorated with Hollywood glitz and the staff was superb. Derrick took great pains to make sure we were taken care of. Had an lunch amazing lunch downstairs and then, after a day of fun, thoroughly enjoyed our rooms, with exquisite bedding. Conveniently located next to a Dart station to travel Dallas, or very easy parking in front of Hotel. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to others and will surely return. It would be a great place for a wedding party to stay and congregate in the lovely lobby with tons of seating. Also, the rooftop view both day and night is awesome! The rooms are spacious and the Hotel has done an awesome job of retaining it's historic warehouse feel with exposed brick and wood. We are local and were on a girls trip and could not have been more pleased with our choice. The uniqueness and novelty made it so special!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor if you are traveling on a weekend night, or bring earplugs as the partying from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Good Day Carolyn N.,

Thank you for the fantastic feedback! I am happy you had a delightful visit to NYLO Dallas South Side! I am also pleased that you found the NYLO team outstanding. I will definitely share your kudos to Darrique and our associates.

Please touch base when you are ready to escape for another amazing girls night out, as I will have my staff create a signature NYLO experience for you!

Stay Unique,

Kirk Richard
General Manager
NYLO Dallas South Side
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    49
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
12
67
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Booked the Nylo Dallas South side a week before a major conference. Got a great rate and was worried that I could get a hotel so close to the convention center at such a good rate and only days before the beginning of the meeting. This is one of the better boutique hotels I've stayed in anywhere at any price. Staff was excellent all around! The lobby well appointed and had live music. Rooms are well furnished and loved the exposed brick and high ceilings. The rooftop bar was the highlight with the best view of Downtown Dallas. If I had known previous, I would have booked the entire bar for private event. My only request is that they increase the food menu available up here as it would be the perfect place to enjoy eats and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYLOManagement, General Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Michael S.,

Thank you for the awesome feedback! I am so glad you enjoyed visiting NYLO Dallas South Side. I am also happy to read that your recent stay at the hotel was thoroughly pleasurable from your guest room to your delightful experience at SODA Bar.

Please touch base when your travels return you to Dallas!

Stay Unique,

Kirk Richard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Haze, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a jem, great looking old building moves to exciting fun lobby to the best place to have a drink in all Dallas. My wife kissed me when the elevator doors opened to a view of Dallas unseen by most. Staff great, lobby wow, room great( mix of historical building and 4 seasons comfort bed), roof top bar, over the top( pun intended). I did not talk about the main floor restaurant, if you order the steak frites, you will be very happy unless your vegan, my wife's soup and salad was in the great range. High recommendation, for a brand new place they really have there stuff together.

Room Tip: We had a room facing downtown, the view was great but better view from roof Toby bar. I liked the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan_NYLO, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Papajack007,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback! I am happy to hear that you and your wife had an ejoyable time at Terrace Bistro & SODA Bar during your stay at NYLO Dallas South Side! We can't be more pleased to have a great team that truly values our service culture.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and please touch base if you should ever need future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My friends and I had a bad first experience for a bachlorette party we had planned for our best friend. The general manager contacted us to invite us back to have a completely different experience. We were so happy for everything that was done to completely make this visit amazing. It was the complete opposite of our last visit. The reserved parking and NYLO teddy bears were very nice and we all appreciated it. Also the champagne was perfect for Sarah's last night before she walked down the aisle. We had a great time and thanks again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan_NYLO, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Greetings Liza A,

We are so thrilled to have you back at the hotel. I am also happy to read that your recent stay at the hotel was thoroughly pleasurable.

We hope to see you again in the near future and as always please touch base when you are ready to plan another escape!

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We held my sister's bridal shower at NYLO Southside at their rooftop lounge - it was such a great spot for cocktails and conversation! The view is fantastic - our guests loved spending a few hours in the sunshine overlooking the Dallas skyline. The service during our shower was attentive, friendly, and helpful - not to mention the staff that helped me plan the event were easy to work with and quick to respond! The food was prepared beautifully and the cake was a huge hit. We were extremely pleased with everything at NYLO Southside - my sister is even going back to have her bridal portrait made there. A truly unique venue and great party spot - highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan_NYLO, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Greetings Colleen R,

Thank you for choosing NYLO Dallas South Side to host your sister's bridal shower and thank you for posting your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that you and your guests enjoyed SODA Bar and rooftop pool. Please be assured that we have forward your kudos to the team!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and always feel free to contact us directly if we can ever be of future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Social Media Manager
NYLO Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

NYLO gets a high-five. We were in town for the annual beat down of Texas by OU and could not have had a better experience. The location is perfect for getting anywhere in Dallas and close enough to downtown without getting caught in the heavy stuff. The rooms were great, staff was better that great - can't say that I wold have changed a thing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan_NYLO, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Good Day JCameronD,

Thank you for choosing NYLO Dallas South Side to host your most recent visit to downtown Dallas and thank you for posting your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations. Please be assured that we have forward your kudos to the team!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and always feel free to contact us directly if we can ever be of future service.

Stay Unique,
Maegan Smith
Social Media Manager
NYLO Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The A/C in the room did not work either night we were there. The room temp never got below 77 degrees. The hotel did not have enough parking to accomodate guests for OU/TX weekend. The cofee pot was dirty and the tea never refilled and the front desk was less than responsive. Also had maid come in the room at 7 am the first morning of our stay to ask if we were leaving. I really expect far better for this class of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maegan_NYLO, Public Relations Manager at NYLO Dallas South Side, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Good Day Dfresh1972,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. Our team strives very hard to provide every guest with the best possible experience, and we are disappointed to learn that this was not the case during your recent visit to Dallas for TX/OU weekend. I sincerely apologize for the mishaps of your stay and I assure you that your comments have been forwarded to the appropriate team leader to address the A/C & Housekeeping service. We are continually working to perfect the parking situation during busy weekends to accommodate all of our guests.

We hope to see again in the near future and should you decide to visit our property again please let us know and we will be sure to make it a better experience.

Kindest Regards,
Maegan smith
Social Media Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NYLO Dallas South Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Dallas South Side

Address: 1325 South Lamar St., Dallas, TX 75215
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 188 hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NYLO Dallas South Side 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in downtown Dallas at NYLO Dallas South Side - a boutique hotel designed with a passion for art, music, and the environment. Contemporary design blends seamlessly with the building's historic character, creating a unique and inspirational hotel that is also eco-friendly. Designed to LEED Gold status - NYLO Dallas South Side is one of the greenest hotels in the world. With green design, chic loft-style accommodations, the Terrace Bistro, and the rooftop SODA Bar and pool, NYLO Dallas South Side redefines the standard for a new generation of lifestyle hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your NYLO Dallas South Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NYLO Dallas South Side, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.