We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas Marriott City Center

Save Saved
You added Dallas Marriott City Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dallas Marriott City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   650 North Pearl Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20%
Ranked #35 of 188 hotels in Dallas
Evergreen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Comfortable hotel, easy to get to places within the city. Staff was very friendly, and the rooms were definitely bigger than expected. I do love how they have my pillow preferences stored and remove of all of the feather pillows for me...that's a small touch that makes a big difference for me!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    87
    39
    15
    7
See reviews for
33
44
9
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel in a great down town area. All the amenities one would expect in the Marroitt chain. Dining is within a 10 min walk, the room well equipped and clean. I will stay there again. My stay was for pleasure and I did have a room facing the city lights of Dallas.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I just spent a couple of nights at the Dallas Marriott City Center. Checking in was quick and the desk staff (Johnathan, in particular) was very polite and friendly. My king room was more spacious than I expected, and the decor was modern and tasteful. There's a good mixture of wood and granite surfaces, a couple of shiny objects (lamps, mirrors), LED reading lights positioned on either side of the comfortable bed, granite tile floors and quartz (I think) vanity in the bathroom, a great Kohler shower-head (the same one I have at home), Bath and Body Works toiletries, good lighting in the bathroom, a 30+ inch LG flat screen with actual HD, and Starbucks coffee for brewing in the room. The work station also has AV, PC, and USB ports that I presume permit you to movies or whatever else from your computer or portable device directly to the TV. I thought that was a nice touch.

The fitness center is great for a hotel. It's large with a ton of good/modern cardio equipment, circuit machines, and sufficient free-weight and resistance band options. The lobby is also well decorated with lots of comfortable seating an free Wi-Fi. I had meetings at the Sheraton, and there is a sky bridge that takes you right into that hotel's conference facilities.

The general location of the hotel is not great. The neighborhood is fine and convenient to public transportation, but the dining in the immediate vicinity is limited. The concierge was most helpful in pointing out the few nearby dining options and offered to call ahead to various restaurants. It's about a 15 minute walk to Main Street's dining corridor with some good options, and the train takes you directly to the West End.

On a final note, the hotel is part of a mall/office complex. I had an interior room which lacks significant natural light, offers no fresh air, and looks out into the mall area and directly over into office windows. There is also full-on construction in the mall with bulldozers and jackhammers going throughout the day during the week. For those two reasons, I would definitely recommend requesting an exterior room. Overall, I was rather pleased with the Dallas Marriott and would return if I'm back in the area.

Room Tip: Exterior rooms offer much better light and privacy.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

From the doorman, to the lobby greeters, to the front desk, to the waitress, to the cleaning staff- all the personnel that I met or that affected my stay were courteous, respectful, and extremely helpful. I stayed at the Dallas Marriott Center while attending the ACDA conference and found it to be among the best Marriott's I have ever visited, not necessarily for its buildings and amenities, but for its staff!. I am a gold member of Marriott, so I have visited many. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and allowed me to check- in very early to accomodate my need to store luggage. The breakfast buffet maintained Marriott's reputation for quality fruit and excellent choices. The discounted weekend rate was great!! I will stay here again whenever I am in Dallas. Its downtown location, near the Arts District and DART was very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Look, in many respects, one big business/convention hotel is very much like another. You may get a break on a negotiated rate for your meeting, but if the block booking is closed, you pay something more. Most large downtown hotels have some special features that give them a claim for your preference, but on the whole, the experience is often very much the same. Nice room, but not great; hotel dining not vey imaginative and a little pricey, and don't forget a high charge for use of the internet. It's part of the business model--strick it to the punters who may be on an expense account, and too bad for the rest. One thing that can distinguish properties may be the folks who work there, and on this score the Dallas Marriott City Center can't be beat. From the greeting by the valet parker o the bellman, to the check in experience, to the hall staff, housekeeping, catering, security, etc. everyone seemed genuinely pleased to be working at the Marriott and genuinely pleased that we were guests. It was a wonderful experience.

Now for some details that may qualify the above statement--and I mention them because any one of them could cause heartburn for another, more demanding, guest. The hotel constitutes one side of a quadrant defined by the Plaza of the Americas office buildings and a Marriott Event Center. In the center is an atrium which evidently once featured a nice plaza. During our visit this looked more like parts of Damascus, and on weekdays and Saturdays, the reconstruction crews were getting hard at it by about 7:30 am. Backhoes and jackhammers and pipe poundings punctuated the air--we had planned a late lie-in after our travels, but while the bed in our King room (facing the atrium) was most comfortable, all we could do after 7:30 was lie and try to relax--construction was very apparent. If you have a choice, at least for the next few months, ask for an outside (streetside) room. (On the other hand, things got very quiet after the workers knocked off around 5 pm.) The atrium is brightly lit all day and all night. The blackout curtains were pretty effective, but the room was never fully dark since the atrium light reflected off the floor level window frame. (No need for a night light.) In our room the temperature control was on a wall behind the large television screen. Hard to read, hard to reach and hard to calibrate.

The office complex supports a number of shops and restaurants in the lower level of the atrium, but they exist to serve daytime office workers and by 3 pm almost all are closed. There is a Corner Bakery branch toward the southend of the atrium lower level which stays open longer, but what struck me was that their espresso drinks were only slightly less costly than te lobby Starbucks. That lobby Starbucks is easy to miss--it simply is a coffee supply set within the lobby bar. None of the Starbucks branded extras were visible. The elevators worked well except once when one of them stuck with a small child inside.

Some commentators have praised the Concierge level club; it may be good, it apparently is big, but I'm not given the option to pay the premium room rate, nor do I enjoy the higher levels of status in the Marriott frequent guest program. And probably most of you are not either, so I'll leave comment on the concierge club to others. But every hotel employee with whom I had an occasion to interact, seemed to think herself or himself a concierge as well as a bell man, waiter, maintenance worker, custodian, housekeeping maid or parking valet. I'll never love the hotel industry business model that requires that if you can afford to pay an inflated room tariff, you should also have to pay for parking, breakfast and internet access.

Room Tip: For the short term future avoid atrium-facing rooms due to construction noise during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Minnesota
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Goods: checking in was fast, food on top floor was great, helpful staff, clean rooms, fast room service close to public transportation.

Bads: this hotel is far from food. On a weekend, there are few restaurants to be found in the area. Rooms could use queen beds and not double.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Centrally located in downtown Dallas, walking distance to just about everything - downtown, arts district, uptown. Great executive lounge and the largest one in the US. Great staff in the lounge providing breakfast, late afternoon snacks, an incredible variety of hors d'oeuvres (dinner in many cases), Starbucks coffee, bottled drinks all complimentary if in the lounge. wine, bottled beer (many different kinds), spirits to charge to your room on the honor system. Computers and printers. I just wish the hotel had a pool, but alas that is not possible. Everyone greets you, makes you feel welcome - this is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: If possible and not a marriott gold/platimum pay the extra to have a room on the executive floors an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dallas Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dallas Marriott City Center

Address: 650 North Pearl Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#33 Business Hotel in Dallas
#45 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dallas Marriott City Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dallas Marriott City Center is a gorgeous Downtown Dallas hotel offering luxurious accommodations and an ideal location in the vibrant Arts District. Enjoy world-class entertainment, fine dining and exclusive shopping at Neiman Marcus’ flagship store. Visitors will appreciate our location near the Nasher Sculpture Center, Plaza of the Americas and Petroleum Club. Back at the hotel, guests are treated to eye popping views of the Downtown skyline, and can experience the radiant energy of our well appointed guestrooms. We are equipped for weddings and events with 14 meeting rooms, including the Plaza Ballroom and the Atrium which offers a soaring 15-story space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Dallas Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dallas Marriott City Hotel Dallas
Westin Hotel Dallas
Westin Hotel City Center
Westin Dallas
Dallas Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas Marriott City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.