We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing hotel I've been to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ZaZa Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ZaZa Dallas to your Saves list
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2332 Leonard St, Dallas, TX 75201 (Oak Lawn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast/Valet/Cocktails
Ranked #2 of 189 Hotels in Dallas
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most amazing hotel I've been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed at Zaza to celebrate our anniversary and I cannot tell you a better place to stay in Texas than this boutique hotel. The art the experience the atmosphere cannot be beat. We had dinner and drinks at the Dragonfly restaurant and the food was absolutely impeccable. The service both at the restaurant and hotel was stellar and could not have made our stay more memorable. We may have to make another trip to Dallas just to stay here! This place is a unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaZaHouston, General Manager at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thanks for the generous comments! Our owner is extremely proud to provide an environment that is second to none. His commitment to an art-based experience is what sets us apart from our competition in both Dallas and Houston. He has provided pieces from his extensive personal collection which provides the backdrop to a very unique experience. We like to think of ZaZa as an art gallery or museum in which you are allowed to have a great deal of fun!

We look forward to your return and thanks again!

Matthew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    112
    31
    27
    29
See reviews for
33
209
36
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed last weekend and was this hotel not what I expected. Hideous. We were in room 233. Bare bones room. Not even a real comforter on the bed. I froze! Mattress was old and saggy. If you love the smell of cigarette smoke in your room, get room 233. Disgusting. When you walk in the door of the hotel the smoke smell just overpowers you. And the kicker- We got home and were double charge on our Debit card. Call the hotel and they said "All Requst must be in writing". What the heck? Horrible Service. I guess if you are in the party drinking crowd and want to get your drink on, pick up the ladies/men and need a place to hook up-This may be the hotel for you.

What a dump. Stay at the Ritz, Mansion, Adolphus, or Joule.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaZaHouston, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, February 1, 2011
We apologize for the less than enjoyable experience. We have a strict anti-smoking policy within the hotel and our housekeeping team should have been more diligent in inspecting your guestroom. We will revisit our procedures so this remains an isolated incident.

I have researched your debit card issues and all should be resolved. As with most debit cards, there is a lag when an authorization is lifted after the transaction has been settled so it may seem as if there was a "double charge". We have followed up with our merchant bank to ensure we don't have a problem and we don't and the authorization has been removed. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance in that regard.

Again, my apologies for the issues with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, TX
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

As frequent guests of this hotel, we probably stay there 10-12 times a year, our last 3 trips have gone from bad to worse. This past stay, when we checked in our room there was a dead roach on the floor. We walked downstairs to the front desk on our way to dinner and asked the person working the desk to please send someone up to our room to clean it up while we were gone. This did not happen, when we got back to the room 5 hours later, it was still there and was never picked up. At the bar downstairs, we waited in long lines for drinks due to the fact that there were not enough bar tenders. When we finally were able to get service, the bar tenders were rude and seemed like we were imposing on them to order our drinks. At breakfast the next morning at the Dragonfly, their restaurant, our order was completely forgotten even after asking our waiter several times to check on it. Our waiter dropped off another table's ticket for us to pay and we could not find him to have him change it, so we had to stop a manager.
All in all, we used to love this place and raved about it to all of our friends. Now it seems they are more interested in becoming a hot spot for the 20s scence and no longer interested in great service and experience. For close to $500 a night there are much better options out there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cashzeke, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear MSBLMURPHY,

Thanks for taking the time to communicate the shortfalls you experienced during your recent stay. I apologize for our team. Typically we do a much better job of executing, especially to our loyal guests. I have shared your feedback with the staff so we can respond and schedule with your feedback in mind.

We look forward to your return so we can make things better for your next stay.

Again, thanks for the candid feedback!

Kindest regards,

Trent Yoder
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

The room was perfect and decorated with the special ZaZa touch. I am a photographer and always love coming to the ZaZa to see the photos. We had two great meals at the hotel and hung out at the bar until 130 am, our favorite was the ZaZa lemonade. Staff is courteous and always helpful. In the summer the pool area is one of the best places in Houston to relax and soak up the sun. The location is in the middle of Houston's museum district and right next to Herman Park - you can't beat it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Decided to stay at Hotel ZaZa the day after New Year's to relax and get ready for the new year. The room was very nice and the wait staff was very friendly. We had dinner at the DragonFly which was awesome. Dustin the manager stopped by our table several times to check on us and just chat. It was a nice little touch that was very much appreciated. The Ahi Tacos were to die for and the steak was cooked to perfection. Although the hotel and resturant are a little pricey, it was a very enjoyable and relaxing experience. We will be going back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waco, texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Booked a New Years Eve package for myself and my date that included a room on the 3rd floor, 311 to be exact and were accomponied by some friends who stayed across the hall in room 312 with a nice balcony view overlooking the pool area where the party was to take place. We did not check in until 9pm due to driving in from out of town and eating nearby before arriving. Upon arriving it was pretty busy and the staff were doing their best, we have stayed here before and were a little let down that the check in process did no go as usual. We are used to prompt car service and luggage removal, we had to wait in line to get out of the car and had to bring in our own luggage as no one even offered to help. Check in staff were not as courteous as we have experienced as before so strike 2 already and its only been 20 minutes since we have arrived. We get to our room and it was nice as usual but I noticed how dusty the desktops and table ends are and the black couch was covered in lint and other 'stuff" that I did not even want to sit down on it. Shrugged all this off as we came to party, so we changed clothes and while in the restroom I noticed the floor of the shower was not as clean as I am used to, lots of soap scum on the floor and I notice some of the tile work starting to crack plus the door handle to the bathroom was coming loose (I fixed that). Get down to the New Years Eve party, security was great checking everyone for arm bands and proper dress attire they were on their A game that night so kudos to them, however the bartenders although overwhelmed and understaffed were plain RUDE especially the femal bartender in the first bar to the right when you came in, owning a bar back where we live I understand the stress they get when it gets super crazy busy but there is no room for rudeness as if this happened at my bar she would of been let go the next day but we didn't let them ruin our night the party was a blast we had our fair share of spirits and toasted in a New Year in style. Next morning get up around 9am of course not feeling the best and looking forward to a nice hot shower, turn on the shower and notice the shower head is broken the center ring is loose and water is shooting out the back, side and front of the shower head I didn't feel so hot so calling the front dest for a new shower head was not in the cards, however this was so bad this had to of been an problem from the previous guest or at least house cleaning should of caught this so staff needs to replace the shower head on room 311, thanks!!! We get all cleaned up go down to eat breakfast place our order and then move tables to accomodate our friends who came down from their room, now at this point it's been close to 30 minutes since we place our order of pancakes and waffles whish is pretty basic, another 15 minutes go by and we had to waive down the only waiter that seemed to be happy he is there and he goes back and says it's coming right out, another 10 minutes go by and he finally brings our food and apologizes and explains they simply screwed up and I appreciated his honesty much better than a lame excuse. My date goes to take a drink out of her glass of Dr.Pepper and there is a milk carton top and the plastic security strip IN HER GLASS!!! Yes in her glass, we waived down the waiter again and explain what is going on and I can tell he is just like kill me now but again offers a sincere apology and quickly replaces it with a fresh glass and soda, we eat then check out.
Overall we had fun, but were let down by a few things I never expected from this hotel, less than adequate cleanliness, hotel staff rudeness, poor car service which I chalk up to the New Years Eve event, rude bartenders due to their stress and understaffing and the hour and half breakfast for simple food. I know alot was going on that weekend but this should of been taken in account for and staffed properly, I left my bar in good hands and properly staffed before coming to Dallas and it worked beautifully hopefully ZaZa won't let us down in the future as we love coming here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We had trouble with non-functional toilet, safety deposit box and air-conditioning. Staff was indifferent and were only interested in socializing with each other. After returning home we wrote to the "manager" to describe our very disappointed stay. We didn't get any reply. On duty managers were irresponsible and discourteous. To add to the uncomfortable stay we were charged for items that we did not use.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cashzeke, Manager at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear ejhWinnipeg,

WOW! We missed the mark with your stay. We have researched all rooms occupied on 12/21 and inspected for shortfalls. I apologize that noone embraced a sense of urgency with your comments. We will change that immediately! Our staff is usually most responsive as well as warm and caring. We will share your feedback with the team and learn from the missteps.

Thanks for sharing your feedback!

Best,

Trent Yoder
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ZaZa Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Dallas

Address: 2332 Leonard St, Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#4 Business Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Dallas 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Uptown Dallas, Texas, Hotel ZaZa is a luxury boutique hotel that features concept suites, day spa, meeting facility, vacation packages, and fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaza Hotel Dallas
Hotel Zaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ZaZa Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.