We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star hotel, three star spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ZaZa Dallas

Save Saved
You added Hotel ZaZa Dallas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2332 Leonard St, Dallas, TX 75201 (Oak Lawn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Five star hotel, three star spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel was beautiful, and every staff member went out of their way to be accommodating and helpful. The room was really large for a standard room and I liked that they windows actually opened. We stayed on the back side, room 429 which was nice and quiet. I imagine the rooms facing the front would be quite loud with the bar crowd on weekend nights. The butler service with coffee and tea in the morning on each floor and the afternoon cookies and ice tea in the lobby were nice touches. My only compliant regarding the hotel is if you're looking to relax by the pool on a Sunday afternoon, it's much like the nightly bar scene with loud music and the "bottle service" crowd.

The spa was disappointing - very small locker room with one wet sauna, no dry sauna or jacuzzi and only one shower. Small relaxation room, only large enough for 4 people and if the two lounges are taken you're sitting in straightback chairs at a little table - not my idea of relaxing.

My massage was great, facial only average. What was disappointing was the automatic addition of a 20% gratuity. I thought the word "gratuity" means this is optional, at the client's discretion if they feel the service was over and above. I tried discussing with the spa desk staff and she said this was a standard "service charge" much like in the restaurant. (Not sure what she was talking about there as the restaurant did not charge a service charge the three times I ate there.) If 20% is added automatically this should be included in rates, or at least disclosed on the website rate sheet, which it is not.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room request the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
bll97,

Thank you for the review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel ZaZa! The Butler's Pantry is a big hit with guests; I am glad you enjoyed the delightful service!

In regards to your spa experience, I sincerely apologize for your less than stellar visit. ZaSpa is typically a very inviting oasis! Please touch base with me, as I would like to gather more details concerning your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    107
    30
    27
    29
See reviews for
28
202
35
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is the perfect place to be somebody and nobody. They always treat you as if you're a friend coming over for dinner at the front desk and they mean it. Someone is doing something right at ZaZa and I pray they keep it up. The location is central to everything in Dallas and you can jump on the Toll Road and be as far north as you need in 15 minutes. The rooms are spacious and some have bath tubs, a must for my wife. The valet parking staff is superior to any I've ever experienced and don't make you feel like you need to give them $5 every time you get in your car, it's paid for and they know it and they're excellent. Best of all, they have a CAR and Driver to take you to places in the area so a couple of glasses of red is not too much.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bath tub or, if you're feeling adventurous, get one of the theme rooms, very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
David G!

Thank you for the review! I am very pleased that you feel the love at every ZaZa visit! We understand how important the little touches are to our guests. The Magic Carpet Ride is one of the many gems of the Z; I am glad you found the complimentary shuttle service enjoyable!

Please touch base when your travels return you to the Big D, as I would love to create a signature experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Business trips can be tiring and very busy so in order to mitigate that, I arranged to get a room at the Hotel Zaza Dallas to enjoy some me time, especially since the conference I was attending was a hectic go,go,go type. I am so happy that I did for even though I was there only one night, everyone was so friendly and accommodating. My biggest surprise was that the suite that I was upgraded to was aptly named - The "Escape. It was large but not impersonal, two huge bathrooms with walk-in showers and one wonderful tub that I took advantage of and soaked my cares away while listening to some great music on my ipad. The bed was so comfy with great fluffy pillows which made me sleep like a baby. In the morning, the convenience of the butler pantry (why have other hotels not adapted this?) was quick and hit the spot for getting coffee in a hurry while getting ready to start another busy day. The convenience of having the luxurious robe was a plus. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all business travelers as well as to any busy lady traveler. They do live to up their logo: they love ya at Zaza and make you feel special. Thank you for my "escape" from the ordinary.

Room Tip: If you can, do upgrade to a suite - you will feel like royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Isaw196!

Thank you for the fantastic review! I am pleased to read that your z-scape at ZaZa was thoroughly enjoyable! The Z team definitely knows how to provide guests with a signature experience. Please touch base when your travels return you to the Big D, as I will have my staff roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival! We love ya!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is nice! Very modern vibe! Staff is great! The rooms are a bit odd due to their rectangular layout but the beds are very comfortable. I haven't stayed in a hotel styled like this before. It's not bad at all but I won't go back due to feeling I'm not the right fit for ZaZa. I'm thinking its best for the below 40 crowd but who knows? While I was there I noticed the people staying there seemed to be younger and much more hip than me. I'm 48 and consider myself hip but age appropriate hip. Haha. The bar is VERY busy. Probably a great place for singles meet and greet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I visited Hotel ZaZa and stayed just one night. All the staff was incredible - the concierge, Josh, was extremely helpful to us and while we don't typically stay in "nice" hotels his service might have spoiled us. He knew our names and any time we had a slight issue, he acted like it was his sole purpose in life to make it right. We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZaZaHouston, General Manager at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Whitlow H!

I wish we had nothing but Whitlow H's for customers! Your comments are so heartwarming regarding Josh's commitment to excellence! As I preach to the team on a daily basis, strive for perfection! However, if we fall short in a customer's eyes, do whatever we can to make them feel perfect after the next attempt!

I am so excited to read reviews like yours! Goose bumps! Thanks again for your kind words!

Matthew Nuss
Executive Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is the most amazing hotel ever... I had an event there and booked a room for my son to stay with me while I worked. Not only was the venue perfect for the event, but the room and the service was spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
cmarier!

Thank you for the awesome review! I am pleased that you had an amazing time at an event held at Hotel ZaZa! Come back soon for a delightfully delicious experience at the Dragonfly or indulge in the serene world of ZaSpa. We love ya at ZaZa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I arrived at the hotel at 345 pm and was told "our system is down" but they could check me in. Well they tried but they weren't sure which rooms were available. They would check with the maids. Not sure what the computer system had to do with making up rooms but what do I know. 407 pm and still no word. The lady at the desk gave me two drink coupons and said she was sorry.

Unknown to me at the time was the hotel manager had already gone upstairs and found a room that matched the one I had reserved and got a crew on it. He approached me very graciously, explained, apologized and offered his help in anyway I could use. Nice personal touch. He meant it to. Even gave suggestions in case I was tired or hungry.

The room was ready in less than 10 minutes and it was exceptional!

Every encounter with all the staff was pleasant and they were very efficient.

I try to teach my employees that every day something will go wrong. What's important is how well we fix 'em!

The Zaza manager and staff knew how! Great to be around people like that in such a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew_Nuss, Executive Vice President at Hotel ZaZa Dallas, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
77ChuckB!

WOW! I am very pleased to read that the Z team provided a stellar experience for you! We at Hotel ZaZa want our guests to have a smooth, delightful stay with us. Thank you for your kind words!

Please touch base when your travels return you to Dallas, as I will have my team roll out the reddest of red carpets upon your arrival!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ZaZa Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ZaZa Dallas

Address: 2332 Leonard St, Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#5 Business Hotel in Dallas
#8 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel ZaZa Dallas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Uptown Dallas, Texas, Hotel ZaZa is a luxury boutique hotel that features concept suites, day spa, meeting facility, vacation packages, and fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel ZaZa Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaza Hotel Dallas
Hotel Zaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ZaZa Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.