We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sliding...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bob's Steak & Chop House

Bob's Steak & Chop House
555 S Lamar St, Dallas, TX 75202
214-652-4800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bob's Steak & Chop House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 3,049 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Young
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Sliding...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Have dined at this original location for years and find that taste is not as fine for beef, service slower and noise levels almost intolerable! Why this quality restaurant would allow the T-shirted shorts wearing loudmouths to roam freely in this fine emporium of the fatted cow is beyond me, my wife and others we have spoken with recently! To permit the good ole' boys to dominate the environment to the point of inaudibility is a travesty! Service, although slower is still pleasant with smiles all around... Prices are within reason although upward creep on the wine list is evident. A great service is the van ride home if needed and not too far... A tip should be offered to sustain this courtesy as opposed to the outrageous cab fare that Dallas has authorized. This place has local character not so available in the large chains!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    57
    11
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good service. Food to be enhanced and improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We reserved a table in this restaurant as a steak house. The service was very good and helpful with a nice athmosphere. The restaurant was very crowded. On the other side we were not satisfied by the qualiy of food.

A little expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Try it, you'll like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food was prepared well, but the service was even better. Server was quite attentive and timely, but he seemed as annoyed as I was by the wierd guys at the next table who never ordered anything during the time it took me to place, receive, and eat the meal I ordered!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food in a nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went here to celebrate my birthday, the staff was helpful and friendly. The dark wood panels and low lighting made for a nice setting. I ordered the prime ribeye and it was superb! It's a bit pricey but I've had worse meals for a whole lot more money. Overall I would eat here again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had dinner here Christmas Eve 2011 and had a remarkable experience. Everything from the filet to the large asparagus. The dining experience is fantastic. Must try.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob's Steak & Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Bob's Steak & Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob's Steak & Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.