We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food with some interesting atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Off the Bone Barbeque

Off the Bone Barbeque
1734 South Lamar Street, Dallas, TX 78215
214-565-9551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,895 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OK food with some interesting atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Well, we stopped in this place to get some excellent BBQ ribs and I would say that it was average. The taste was somehow different but I can't say that I would love that. Sides were a little bit smaller that I would expect for the price we paid but it was OK.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    27
    12
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding! Eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We could not have been more satisfied with Off the Bone. The barbeque was off the chart.

First, when we arrived to order they let us try a rib as a sample. We tried to order a little bit of everything. The ribs are great, the brisket moist, and the chicken tender and juicy.

Sides are great too. Beans are good, the cole slaw is real good with a mild blue cheese mixed in that was outstanding. I am not a fan of blue cheese but this was good. Order the charro beans, a little spicy but great flavor.

For dessert we had a peach cobbler and a piece of corn bread that were both outstanding.

Dwight Harvey is the owner/ pit master and is a gracious host. He also helps clean tables when they are busy. You can tell it's his place and his pride is evident.

For Gods sake, eat here! You won't be disappointed. Hurry up, go there!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Do not...I say do not miss out this delicious BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Went here before heading to a show! A rare jewel that stands out in the crowd in the BBQ league!! The most delicious, succulent, yummulicious BBQ I have ever tasted. Everyone is welcoming, friendly and they know how to cook..a wonderful experience! We will be back!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Simply the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Best BBQ we have had in a long time. There is only one other BBQ that competes with it and it's in Fl. Wish we had one of these in LA. Food is tender, flavorful and has a unique twist. A must try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“So good you'll stuff yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My favorite BBQ EVER! And I love the restaurant atmosphere.....urban cool meets family warmth....don't miss the ribs or cole slaw...if you want something different try their insanely good soft tacos or loaded spuds....any meat choice on either item......beyond delish.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off the Bone Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Off the Bone Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off the Bone Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.