We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Beaten Track But Worth a Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Off the Bone Barbeque

Off the Bone Barbeque
1734 South Lamar Street, Dallas, TX 78215
214-565-9551
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 3,045 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Track But Worth a Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I took a little excursion out from downtown Dallas on the tram to find this barbecue joint but I can say that it was worth the time and effort. It's a tiny, unassuming restaurant with big flavor. The menu offers a variety of sandwiches or meats, all perfectly barbecued with just the right amount of kick. Several sides to choose from as well, each one also a little spicy. If you're downtown and have a little extra time to take tram over for a cheap but tasty lunch or dinner, it'd say go for it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    21
    8
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just absolutely fantastic, I left nothing but the bones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just couldn't stop eating. The ribs were mouth watering with a great sauce to coat them. We really enjoyed ourselves. Don't forget a slice of lemon pound cake before you go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Service, A Win Win”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Went based on Trip Advisor reviews and was THRILLED. Its in a weird location in Dallas, off the beaten path so to speak. SMALL inside, not much room to sit and eat. You pick your meal, meat, and any sides and then tea is available for refill, sodas and beer are canned or bottled and you only get 1. We had a little bit of everything: chicken, pulled pork, and ribs, beans, spicy fries and cole slaw. Interesting beans and slaw. SPICY pulled pork! Ribs were to die for and chicken was moist and GREAT. Sauce for the bbq was amazing, sweet and hot....Cant say enough about the service either. They were very sweet. Owner came out to see if we were good. Literally there are only seating space for about 20 people. NEVER an empty spot. YUM! Thanks Dallas!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch near the Dallas Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stopped by here after a trip to the Dallas Zoo. Very close by. Thankfully it wasn't too crowded and we got seats. Friendly service and good food. I had the pulled pork and it was delicious, although the bread could have been better. Cole slaw and baked beans were also excellent. Definitely worth checking out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Ribs Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Clearly well deserved honor as one of Amaerica's 10 best ribs. The pecan glaze is amazing and the meat falls right off the bone. The staff and cooks are engaging and fun - the spurs and heat were playing when I ate there and althought were were opponents I could not help but feel i was amoung friends - how BBQ is meant to be shared!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Off the Bone Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Off the Bone Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Off the Bone Barbeque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.