We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good eatin'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babe's Chicken Dinner House

Babe's Chicken Dinner House
6617 Hillcrest, Dallas, TX 76262
(817) 491-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 3,049 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good eatin'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I love the "family style" set up. Our waitress was busy so she rushed a bit and was slow to return when needed. But the food was great. Even my picky eaters were amazed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    15
    2
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was seriously the best fried chicken I have ever had. We don't eat fried food that often and usually pick off the skin, but this was delicious just the way it came. Perfectly cooked. The kids gobbled their dinners right up. Yummy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jourdanton, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken Anyone?? YES!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Saturday evening. The atmosphere was great. The place was packed. We were told 45 minute wait. We thought that was generous since it was packed. True to word -- less than 45 minutes. Alcohol is not served here but did see people bringing in from outside. No worries as you do not want anything to dull your tastebuds. A 4 piece chicken meal and two chicken fried steaks plus ALL THE SIDES -- SALAD, GREEN BEANS, MASHED POTATOES, CREAMED CORN, AND HOMEMADE BISCUITS LATER!! We left completely satisfied with the food and the price. Would recommend to anyone that loves fried chicken.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“home cooking like mom wishes she could cook.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've had Home Cooking and diner food coast to coast and border to border. NOthing is better than Babes for consistent Southern Delicacies. it may be chicken and catfish and chicken fried steak, but it's delicately prepared by chefs who take their Art very seriously. Based on family recipes, this is food that so good it's almost impossible to name your favorite...it is All that good.

Last time we ate at the Carrollton Babe's, we both ordered the catfish, incredibly well seasoned and perfectly prepared. the veggies are incredible, served family style, all you can eat. mashed potatoes and gravy, grilled green beans and sweet cream corn that they could make a pie out of. but then you might not want to order their pie. and That would be a shame.

trust me. Dallas is known for its restaurants and Babe's is one of the Best.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great food for a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Come hungry. This is not a restaurant that allows for meal sharing. Although their specialty is chicken, depending on the location you go to (there are several), there are other options. Each person gets salad and rolls with their meal, and then the "sides" are unlimited and served family-style. If you have guests, this is a fun place to go. In many instances, there is a wait, so be prepared, but the wait is worth it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Babe's Chicken Dinner House also viewed

 

Been to Babe's Chicken Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babe's Chicken Dinner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.