We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT vegan diner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spiral Diner & Bakery

Spiral Diner & Bakery
1101 N. Beckley, Dallas, TX 75203
+1 214-948-4747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 2,939 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Takeout
Description: Branch of a small chain offering creative, organic-leaning vegan fare in funky, retro-themed digs.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT vegan diner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Get the Cowboy Burger, with the Nutty Patty. Don't question it, just do it. I was a vegetarian in Texas, and so I felt the call of the Cowboy Burger, and it hit the spot. Also, the chocolate milkshake was definitely in my personal top 3 chocolate milkshakes I've ever had -- and I usually get them with real ice cream. But this one was better. The place is super-fun and funky. I highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    17
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Fun environment, great healthy food. I recommend everyone try it... I will certainly stop here again. The Cowboy classic burger is excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really tasty nachos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We went with a group of vegans and omnivores and everyone loved the food. I had the nachos, and they were very filling and very tasty. The others in the group who didn't order nachos got salads, and they were very pleased with how fresh everything was. None of us had room to try any of the delicious-looking baked goods. The only confusing thing was the drink station where people dispensed their own drinks. The waiter had to ask us at the end of the meal who had soft drinks and who had water. Otherwise, it was a great meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Vegan and fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I told my husband as we walked away from a first time visit..."just think of it as ethnic food because that's not what I expected from vegan...it was delicious!" He agrees. Had the May special appetizer Mushroom Ceviche. Yum!!! Great rich flavor and texture. Had the house made sodAs sweetened with agave. My fave: mandrian lime. Had Sketti & Meatballs while hubby had the Jamacian Jerk BBQ Sandwich. Food was great and continued to deliver on flavor, texture, presentation and overall satisfaction. We ate half and took the rest home. Service was friendly. Food came out a little slow and the place was steadily busy. But no complaints here, just Honest observation. Will go back as I found the entire menu (which includes breakfast) intriguing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fun experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Creative menu and yummy meals. Great spot for vegans and vegetarians. Only down side was a size of portabella mushroom burger. That was too little portion. Otherwise make sure to check out that place ;)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiral Diner & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Spiral Diner & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiral Diner & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.