We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for pho in the heart of downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Colonial

Pho Colonial
1623 Main Street, Ste 102, Dallas, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #812 of 3,105 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Ft Hood
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for pho in the heart of downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

A unique stop that offers a kitchen feel from the first step in. Quick reliable orders in the front will be the last service you receive. Great pho at a reasonable price.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A cool, refreshing meal on a hot day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This restaurant is great! From the minute we walked in, we were greeted by a very friendly manager and treated to samples of their delicious lime/cucumber drink. SO good! We had the shrimp spring rolls, chicken pho, vietnamese salad and the grilled ribeye banh mi. Everything was very tasty and fresh. My son's favorite was the Taro tea. Cool atmosphere and very reasonable prices. We would eat here again in a heart beat.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disapointed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Me and a colleague wanted to try this place for lunch. When we walked in there it was so hot it felt like the A/C was not even on so we decided to sit on the patio. After ordering we receiving our food. I had ordered the egg rolls and the vietnamese rolls. As I am eating the vetnamese rolls and I found an animal hair inside on the roll.. Grosss I stopped eating the vietnamese roll and hoped to have a better experience with the egg roll pfffffff even worst. After the first bit I notice that the center was still pink and not cooked well enough. It was too much we left I didn't even felt like complaining we just left. The only good thing is the decoration. Bye

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Work in Progress, but well worth watching.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

I don't work downtown, but a couple of times a week I pass through in mid-afternoon on my way home from a physical therapy session. From where I change buses I could see the Pho Colonial sign, and maybe two months ago I checked it out. Since then, it's been the only downtown restaurant I've eaten at. The staff are enthusiastic and friendly, and proud of how many items (like the paté) are made onsite. You should note, though, that as of this date (2/18/12) the menu that comes up when you click on their website is outdated; they've streamlined and simplified it, and some dishes I really enjoyed are no longer offered. I usually go for one of the banh mi sandwiches and a bowl of pho, and I like trying out the various Asian soft drinks and bubble teas (mango, taro, basil seed, etc.). Nice selection of beers as well, many of them advertised by the six-packs converted into mix-packs, holding the condiments on the inside tables. Broths are flavorful, add-ins (lemon and lime, cilantro, sprouts, etc.) are plentiful, and some of the ingredients (beef tendon) underused in other cuisines. I'll certainly come back to see how Pho Colonial evolves.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Vietnamese Food, Service Problems That Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Really great food and nice people, but the night we dined there their computer was "acting up" and, as a result, many orders did not get relayed to the kitchen, order numbers were mixed up, etc.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Colonial also viewed

 

Been to Pho Colonial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Colonial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.