We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Dallas Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Cane Rosso

Il Cane Rosso
2612 Commerce Street, Dallas, TX 75226
214-741-1188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 3,098 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dallas Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This Diners, Drive-ins and Dives featured restaurant in Dallas is a must for those that want the best in pizza. Two of us enjoyed the Paulie Gee immensely. The pizza is thin crusted and cooked in a wood burned oven. The sauce and toppings were scumptuous. The place was very busy which is a good sign. We ate at the bar where the service was first rate and the beer and wine the same. The two of us highly recommend Il Cane Rosso.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    59
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Billed as the best pizza in Dallas, it might be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was in Dallas on a business trip and I had seen this restaurant reviewed on the Food Network website and on some local sites and it had been named the best thin pizza in Dallas. I have to say the service was great, very friendly. I ate at the bar and it was very comfortable and the bartender very friendly. The pizza came out in about 5 minutes, amazingly fast. I was told their oven is at 900 degrees so it cooks very quickly. The spicy sausage pizza was very tasty, just enough heat to the sausage to give it a kick without being a mouth burner. The crust is very good, very thin. Personally i like it a little firmer but it was good and the sauce and cheese excellent. All in all, this New York pizza snob thought it was very good. I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere and excellent pizza! The pizzas are a great value because they are big enough to share between 2-3 people, depending on how hungry you are. Everything was fresh, and tasty. We went on a busy Friday night, we waited for a table but service was attentive and speedy when we were seated.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Pizza in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We live in the neighborhood and we go to Il Cane Rosso as often as we can.

They have the best Neapolitan pizza in town, which reminds us of our many trips to Italy. The staff is so friendly and the outdoor patio is dog-friendly.

What else could you possible ask of an awesome eatery? Well, they have BYOB on Wednesdays (Cool !!!) and occasionally thank their patrons and the community by having $1 Pizza and $1 beer nights...

Did I mention that we really LOVE this place?

A MUST-EAT PLACE WHENEVER IN THE DFW AREA !!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very authentic brick oven pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Il Cane Rosso is listed in some websites as one of the best places for brick oven pizza in Dallas and it does not disappoint in any way. Service was excellent and the pizza very well prepared and flavorful, with a nice crunchy border that for me was worth the experience by itself. It really compares well with the best pizzas I had, particularly in Italy and São Paulo. Worth going back any time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Cane Rosso also viewed

 

Been to Il Cane Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Cane Rosso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.