We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem that is hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kessler Theater

Kessler Theater
1230 W. Davis St., Dallas, TX 75208
214-272-8346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 151 attractions in Dallas
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A little gem that is hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We attended two concerts here in a two-week period. The concert room is wonderfully intimate and comfortable. Nice bar service up front that makes for a great neighborhood feel. And the acts it books are top rate. Sketchy neighborhood but not really dangerous per se. But we love The Kessler.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort worth Tx
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Burlesque show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been to the theater twice. Both times far a Burlesque show. One was very entertaining, the other was not as good. The atmosphere is nice. We liked the upstairs lounge. Bar service was faster up there.
The sound was very good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concordia, Kansas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Kessler Theater Is An Excellent Venue To Experience A Cultural Event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I came from Kansas to go to a Michael Nesmith concert in late October. We were staying several miles away and checked this place out the afternoon before the concert. It is in a gentrified area of Dallas and the posters around Kessler indicate that there is a thriving artists colony in the neighborhood.

In the front of the theater is a bar. As you can imagine, they were a bit pricey, although the selection was very good. There is a wonderful and less expensive bar across the street and you can also await seating time there as well. As we had a handicapped person in our party, we were seated first and were in the front along the left-hand side wall. There were some round tables around the front. We were seated about 25 feet from the main performer, who could be seen easily from anywhere in the theatre (which looks to seat about 300). The accoustics were as good as I've ever heard (even in European opera houses). Unlike most concerts, the volume was not at the ear-splitting level, which also made the experience much more gratifying.

If you like an act that is performing here, Kessler is guaranteed to maximize your enjoyment of being in attendance. While smallish, it is the best place I have been to a concert.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best acoustics ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

You'll never here a sound like this anywhere else. This older building rings with sound and is beautiful!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LD TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice venue in South Dallas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Small venue with funky vibe. Art Deco theme with hip waiting area / bar. Stage is in a small room with adjustable seating arrangements.

I attended a concert at the Kessler and it felt like the band was in a large living room!

I would certainly recommend visiting the Kessler for seeing your favorite act or even to explore the venue and try finding something new!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kessler Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kessler Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kessler Theater to your Saves list