We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but watch your booking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Dallas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Dallas Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Dallas Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 S. Lamar, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #5 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but watch your booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My Travel Agent booked the Omni Hotel, 555 Lamar, Dallas, Texas at a very good $114 rate. When ending the booking the reservation switched to the Airport location. To stay where I wanted became a $279 per night booking. When checking in they had a supply of turn by turn directions to the other Dallas Omni and the front desk representative told me it happens all the time. To make sure the agenct did not make a mistake I had my travel agent rebook the hotel and sure enough as soon as the enter button was pushed the reservation would change to the other hotel. I understand from my agent that the Omni has been taken out of their system until they can demonstrate a accurate booking process.. To stay at the other Omni would have resulted in a $100 roundtrip taxi ride for each of the three days I was in Dallas. This is a great hotel and I hope they find out this is a system glitch and not an attempt to capture business for the other property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,946
    467
    153
    73
    62
See reviews for
287
528
62
1,554
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, NJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Was at a 2-day conference at the 1-year old Omni in mid-November. The room was spacious and comfortable with a very modern but subdued decor, consistent with the rest of the hotel. Good food at the sports bar and throughout the meetings. Large fitness center and a newsstand/gift shop that also serves Starbucks coffee and food beyond the usual packaged stuff. Very helpful, friendly and courteous staff. I did not have occasion to leave the hotel during the conference so I don't know how convenient it is to the downtown. I had not been to Dallas in 15 years, but if business takes me there again I wil ldefinitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our daughter was in camp so we did an in town runaway. Had not been to Downtown Dallas in years and had seen the light show at the Omni so chose this hotel.
fantastic room, got an upper floor looking at downtown Dallas, room was great, first class amenities , empty fridge (that I love), TV built in the bath room mirror, great large bed, priced under 200$ night.
One problem was they charge lots for parking, since you must park at the hotel they should build in garage parking into the room price, but that did not deter from the great room.
Sports bar was great and packed, Bobs Steak was to pricy so we went to Main Street and had dinner at Iron Cactu.
Business or pleasure this is a good pick.

Room Tip: We requested a city view room high floor. Fantastic iews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graford, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very nice hotel and clean comfortable room! It is a very busy hotel and I don't believe they have enough staff to accommodate for the traffic. Had to wait at least 10-15 minutes just to check in and make sure to call ahead for your car or else prepare to wait a long time for valet. The valet area was always a mess- they need to triple the staff there to be efficient especially when you are paying that much for parking!! Also had a pretty long wait to get bell service when leaving and ran into another customer who had been waiting so our bellman doubled up all our stuff together in one trip down which was a bit odd but not a big deal- just again shows they are understaffed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Modern up to date rooms that were clean and perfectly comfortable. Excellent bed and pillows. Very quick check in at the front desk and with super friendly staff. Noise is a factor worth the managements review. At 3:00 AM the alarm clock in the adjoining room went off and since the room may have been empty it went on and on and on. Lack of wall insulation made every minute more painful. If it were not for this single negative experience the balance of my stay was terrific. The sports bar on this property is a must experience. Excellent staff and a solid offering of delicious food items. This is a big down town convention style hotel so their service formula is designed for the business traveler. If in down town Dallas for business its a must try. Also, if you get a chance fit in a Mavericks game at the American Airlines Center. What a wonderful experience. Superb!!! The hotel should do a promotion with the team. Could be a terrific family experience that would make this business hotel even more popular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Sleek and modern yet warm, bustling environment. The staff was friendly in every area with a hello each time form the snack shop to the lobby bar, to the gift shop. The room was large with a nice bath/shower, good lighting with a TV embedded the bathroom mirror. Energy saving light fixtures, comfortable beds with multiple pillows on the beds. This place takes care of the little things like a sturdy ironing board, and spray starch with the iron. Water bottles that I didn't have to pay for, large wide screen TV, couch space, and many outlets.
Somewhat difficult to figure out the layout the of hotel the first day. Lively night life with a sports bar, casual bar , and lobby bar and restaurants. I was here for a meeting: the food was good for our large group. Close to most anything downtown.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Self parking customers are treated as second class, you enter the lobby from a back door and no bell man service is offered at the front desk. Check in was quick and painless. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the room was superb. The only problem is when building this hotel they must have skimped on insulating the rooms for noise because we could hear everything in the hallways, and even though we were on the 7th floor we could hear vehicle traffic on the road out front. Also house keeping woke us up at 9am trying to clean our room. For the price you pay to stay here it didn't meet our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Dallas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Dallas Hotel

Address: 555 S. Lamar, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Dallas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Amex, Venere, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Dallas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Dallas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.