We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but watch your booking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Dallas Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Dallas Hotel to your Saves list
Omni Dallas Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 S Lamar, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #3 of 197 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but watch your booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My Travel Agent booked the Omni Hotel, 555 Lamar, Dallas, Texas at a very good $114 rate. When ending the booking the reservation switched to the Airport location. To stay where I wanted became a $279 per night booking. When checking in they had a supply of turn by turn directions to the other Dallas Omni and the front desk representative told me it happens all the time. To make sure the agenct did not make a mistake I had my travel agent rebook the hotel and sure enough as soon as the enter button was pushed the reservation would change to the other hotel. I understand from my agent that the Omni has been taken out of their system until they can demonstrate a accurate booking process.. To stay at the other Omni would have resulted in a $100 roundtrip taxi ride for each of the three days I was in Dallas. This is a great hotel and I hope they find out this is a system glitch and not an attempt to capture business for the other property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhsdlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Haddonfield, NJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Was at a 2-day conference at the 1-year old Omni in mid-November. The room was spacious and comfortable with a very modern but subdued decor, consistent with the rest of the hotel. Good food at the sports bar and throughout the meetings. Large fitness center and a newsstand/gift shop that also serves Starbucks coffee and food beyond the usual packaged stuff. Very helpful, friendly and courteous staff. I did not have occasion to leave the hotel during the conference so I don't know how convenient it is to the downtown. I had not been to Dallas in 15 years, but if business takes me there again I wil ldefinitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our daughter was in camp so we did an in town runaway. Had not been to Downtown Dallas in years and had seen the light show at the Omni so chose this hotel.
fantastic room, got an upper floor looking at downtown Dallas, room was great, first class amenities , empty fridge (that I love), TV built in the bath room mirror, great large bed, priced under 200$ night.
One problem was they charge lots for parking, since you must park at the hotel they should build in garage parking into the room price, but that did not deter from the great room.
Sports bar was great and packed, Bobs Steak was to pricy so we went to Main Street and had dinner at Iron Cactu.
Business or pleasure this is a good pick.

Room Tip: We requested a city view room high floor. Fantastic iews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richardandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graford, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very nice hotel and clean comfortable room! It is a very busy hotel and I don't believe they have enough staff to accommodate for the traffic. Had to wait at least 10-15 minutes just to check in and make sure to call ahead for your car or else prepare to wait a long time for valet. The valet area was always a mess- they need to triple the staff there to be efficient especially when you are paying that much for parking!! Also had a pretty long wait to get bell service when leaving and ran into another customer who had been waiting so our bellman doubled up all our stuff together in one trip down which was a bit odd but not a big deal- just again shows they are understaffed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tk_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mclean, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Modern up to date rooms that were clean and perfectly comfortable. Excellent bed and pillows. Very quick check in at the front desk and with super friendly staff. Noise is a factor worth the managements review. At 3:00 AM the alarm clock in the adjoining room went off and since the room may have been empty it went on and on and on. Lack of wall insulation made every minute more painful. If it were not for this single negative experience the balance of my stay was terrific. The sports bar on this property is a must experience. Excellent staff and a solid offering of delicious food items. This is a big down town convention style hotel so their service formula is designed for the business traveler. If in down town Dallas for business its a must try. Also, if you get a chance fit in a Mavericks game at the American Airlines Center. What a wonderful experience. Superb!!! The hotel should do a promotion with the team. Could be a terrific family experience that would make this business hotel even more popular.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Sleek and modern yet warm, bustling environment. The staff was friendly in every area with a hello each time form the snack shop to the lobby bar, to the gift shop. The room was large with a nice bath/shower, good lighting with a TV embedded the bathroom mirror. Energy saving light fixtures, comfortable beds with multiple pillows on the beds. This place takes care of the little things like a sturdy ironing board, and spray starch with the iron. Water bottles that I didn't have to pay for, large wide screen TV, couch space, and many outlets.
Somewhat difficult to figure out the layout the of hotel the first day. Lively night life with a sports bar, casual bar , and lobby bar and restaurants. I was here for a meeting: the food was good for our large group. Close to most anything downtown.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Self parking customers are treated as second class, you enter the lobby from a back door and no bell man service is offered at the front desk. Check in was quick and painless. The hotel grounds are beautiful and the room was superb. The only problem is when building this hotel they must have skimped on insulating the rooms for noise because we could hear everything in the hallways, and even though we were on the 7th floor we could hear vehicle traffic on the road out front. Also house keeping woke us up at 9am trying to clean our room. For the price you pay to stay here it didn't meet our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightstalker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
The Joule, Dallas
#4 of 197 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 872 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#21 of 197 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Adolphus Hotel
#26 of 197 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 2,147 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 197 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 869 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Homewood Suites by Hilton Dallas Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Dallas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Dallas Hotel

Address: 555 S Lamar, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 197 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Dallas Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1001
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Dallas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#