We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A a Preserved Piece of History” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West End Historic District

West End Historic District
Dallas, TX (Downtown Dallas)
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 304 things to do in Dallas
Attraction details
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A a Preserved Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

The historical society of Dallas is rather weak. They've made little effort to preserve the historic architecture of the city. That is what makes the historic West End so important. Industrial buildings that once supported the booming railroad business of Dallas have been converted to commercial spaces (primarily restaurants). If you want a taste of Dallas' past, you need to come here.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    28
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
md
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A lot has changed in 20 years - not a good choice to walk from the hotels for more restaurant choices...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I thought I was all set with my google earth research. I had found a few restaurants that looked promising, but alas, even the national mexican fresh chain I visited had slow employees, was not inside, and dirty. Add to that a panhandler hustling us while we tried to sit streetside to eat when it was just me and my young daughter, and I was really turned off. They do have yellow-jacket cops on segues, but they seem to cluster together instead of running off the problems. It's nice that the train comes through here, the feel is good, but one bad experience kinda ruins the whole trip. If you are at the Omni or Hyatt, stay there to eat, or get a cab and go to a better part of town to eat - like uptown, Arts District. There is a convenient 7-Eleven, so if you're looking to stock up on water, snacks, and food for your room during your stay, this is a good place to hit up - about a short 5 block walk from the hotels.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
476 reviews 476 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Lost its luster”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

this was a big hot spot in the late 80’s and 90's. Sadly, not much has happened to improve it from those days. Few restaurants left, but not the destination it used to be. It is convenient to AA center, and probably worth a visit, but not much more than that.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Ghost town.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Man what happened to this place?you walk around this place and its like a ghost town.dallas ally is shut down and all the little shops and bars too for the most part.the only thing left is a few restaurants and the dallas aquarium.even the horse and buggies are gone.me and my girl walked around for about a hour and left for the stockyards.which is ten times better then this place. What a disappointment. This used to be a happening place.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Every since I was a little girl I've gone to the West end. I love it, it's fun it's great for all ages and there's a little bit of everything is close to the clubs and to the museum and theaters

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West End Historic District also viewed

 

Been to West End Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.