We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very few restaurants/shops” 2 of 5 stars
Review of West End Historic District

West End Historic District
Dallas, TX (Downtown Dallas)
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very few restaurants/shops”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very little is open in the West End. This used to be the place to see in Dallas, but you can skip it. Very little is open. We were there on a Sunday during lunch, and couldn't find an open restaurant. Streets were deserted. Visit Uptown instead.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    26
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ghost town yet not one!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This area of town is a ghost town. There is one overpriced western store and a few restaurants that are mediocre.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Interesting Places for a Walk and Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Variety of places to dine, easy access for a walk downtown. We ate at Sonny Bryans BBQ one time and the food was good, they had a guy that made Poodles out of balloons for a fun experience.

It's close enough to shops and and Dallas Aquarium to spend time, i wish that they would add a few new places. I think they have a movie theatre by the Old Spagetti Warehouse that could be a dinner theatre or Circ du Soleil, Symphony etc. Dallas could be more creative.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Boring Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

When I was in my late teens/early 20s, I loved West End. They used to have awesome outdoor concerts there, like the free Van Halen concert I went to in the early 90s, and lots of other cool events. The clubs were better (or at least, seemed better because I was younger) and they had a lot of restaurants and if you were into arcades, a pretty cool one inside the building. Over the years, it became way too touristy for me. It's tourist-trap chain restaurants with mediocre, overpriced food and the clubs that are left are just sad. Even on a Friday/Saturday night after a Mavs or Stars game, you'll be lucky to find more than 25 people inside any of the bars or clubs over there. I worked downtown for several years and we were hard-pressed to find a place to eat for lunch in the West End, so no wonder they're hurting so bad. They need to bring back the outdoor concerts and events, get rid of the stupid tourist trap restaurants, and rely on locals more than tourists to help keep them in business.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting shops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Lots of interesting shops selling a large variety of merchandise and plenty of places to dine. An eclectic atmosphere where one can go to shop, eat or relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West End Historic District also viewed

 

Been to West End Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.