We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nova is little gem in Dallas neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nova

Nova
1417 W Davis Street, Dallas, TX 75208
214.484.7123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 3,104 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Contemporary, Gastropub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nova is little gem in Dallas neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This restaurant is all about quality and diversity of food for its customers. The restaurant has asian, mediteranean and southern influences on the menu. A rare combination. Having dinner with 7 of my best friends we learned that each of the items on the menu was delicious. From the beet salad (which I normally don't like), to the chicken fried pork loin, to the chocolate creme brulee. And also outstanding nightly specials. I ordered the jerk mahi mahi with curry cous cous special. Lovely, as my friend Enam will say. Worth checking out if you are not living in the neighborhood and a great place to come back to if you are a local.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nova is a Star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This restaurant is a shiny beacon that brings "neighbors" from all parts of Dallas together. Upon entering, one immediately feels the presence of community and friendship. Hang out at the bar before dinner and enjoy an appetizer and a few of their fresh, seasonal cocktails while you get to know the bartenders and the owners of this fab foodie location. The simple and straight forward dinner menu completes your evening as everything is fresh and flavorful when it arrives at your table. The service is super friendly, attentive and a perfect combination with the low key, neighborhood atmosphere. Nova is a star that I hope never fades.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Different and very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Upon arrival you wonder if you got some bad intel about this restaurant. The outside is deceiving and the inside is nothing special. However, when the food arrived you realize that it is all about the food! The menu is diverse with multiple entrees that appealed to each member of our party. Service was solid, the drinks were good but the food was wonderful. Everyone had high praise for their entrees and the chocolate desert was one of the best deserts I have ever had at a casual dinner. We intend to return again soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A perfectly edited menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

The menu is right sized and changes just enough. I've never had a bad entree and the service is great.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Food and drinks in one place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I've been here a couple of times and food is always good. They have a really small but great menu of handmade pizzas and their cocktails selection is very good as well. You can come with friends and share a laugh at their patio or sit quietly inside. Decoration reminds you the Oak Cliff area 30-40 years ago. It is definitely worth the try! I specially recommend their vignettes for dessert.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nova also viewed

 

Been to Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.