We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely New Years Eve at Battuto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battuto Italian Kitchen

Battuto Italian Kitchen
18101 Preston Road, Ste. 204C, Dallas, TX 75252-5477
972-930-0558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 3,098 Restaurants in Dallas
Price range: $6 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Frankford
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Lovely New Years Eve at Battuto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Delish, and unusual! They had a wonderful butternut squash soup especially for New Years Eve! My husband had the cauliflower soup (NO CREAM in it) that is a regular on the menu. I tasted it too... Yum! My husband is a meat eater. I steer towards vegetarian dishes. Battuto had both. I had the Spaghetti Pomodoro and it was quite flavorful. I can't remember what my husband had, but he was very happy! Definitely will go back.

Our waiter was young. He did a fine job, although could tell he was young and still learning. That's no problem for us. The food was great. The young man did just fine (we all have to learn). The manager did check in on our table. A very nice meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I were excited to try this place out and arrived on Saturday night around 6:30. Upon arrival, we noted there were at least a dozen tables were open. We were told there were many reservations and they needed to check the books. The initial wait time was 30 minutes. We waited 15 minutes in the wait area and I watched a table near the bar get cleared and sit empty. The host came over and explained they were so booked with reservations that they wouldn't be able to seat us for an hour. Meanwhile, there were still open tables. If you want to go here, you need to make a reservation!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never a disappointment, always a delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My wife and I have been regulars here since their soft opening. We have steadily worked our way through the menu and have yet to be disappointed. Highlights include the bison pasta, the "bacon and eggs" pizza, and yes, even the spaghetti and meatballs. The latter was a little dry for my taste, but a little extra sauce on the side made it a favorite. (Granted, I'm something of a sauce addict. If you're not, it may well be perfect for you as-is.)

If you enjoy cocktails, you're in for a treat as well. They have a relatively small selection of house drinks, but each one is delightful.

But perhaps the best part of any visit is a chance to chat with the owners, Gene and Julie Gates. Former morning show hosts on KVIL, they make a point of visiting with their guests and making every visit special.

I took my boss there shortly after their opening in early spring, and she immediately decided to make it the place for our Christmas party this year. I can't think of higher praise than that!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Noticed this restaurant driving by recently. Decided to try tonight. Thrilled!! A local restaurant with great atmosphere and fantastic food. Had the pumpkin filled ravioli with brown butter and sage appetizer. Delicious!! Every bite! For my entree had the wild boar ragu with butternut squash over pasta. Again, outstanding. Our waitress was knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the food she was serving. You could tell she loves to eat there too!! Loved the ambiance. Will return often.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Like being invited into someones home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Food is consistently amazing. Rome in North Dallas. Advantegaurde, but traditional. In my top 5 in the Metroplex!!!! Pannacotta, whipped heaven.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battuto Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Battuto Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battuto Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.