We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Samar - CLOSED

Samar
2100 Ross Ave, Ste 100, Dallas, TX 75201-6755 (Downtown Dallas)
214-922-9922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Dallas
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was in town for work, staying at a nearby hotel, and wanted a good meal in walking distance. Samar offers tapas "inspired" by cultures from three different regions - Spain, India, and the Eastern Mediterranean. I tried the chicken-apricot seekh kebab, beef short rib kadhai, and tiger prawns. Overall, the food was OK but nothing special, and a bit overpriced. For example, one small order of plain naan - if pieced together made a disc about 6 or inches in diameter - was $2.50. The chicken kebab was actually a sausage-type product that was just OK, as were the tiger prawns (although I did enjoy the fired okra that was served with the prawns). The beef short rib was good, and probably the only of the three that I would recommend. They also have a spicy paste that is flavorful and compliments the food.

The service was solid, our server was knowledgeable and friendly, and the restaurant was certainly popular. But I can't believe the popularity was because of the food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“eye-popping food in ear-splitting setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is part of the Stephan Pyle properties, very close to the Dallas Art Center, Meyerson and opera, etc. Interesting fusion of southwest and mediterranean cuisine including tapas selections. The food tastes great, BUT THE PLACE IS NOISY. We could not conduct a conversaton at a 4 person table, and then the staff were asked if the music could be lowered a few levels of sound, the response was that the owners wanted it that way. Ah to be young and hip and already deafed from rock concerts and earbuds. This old guy won't be going back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Mixed tapas from Spain, India and Eastern Mediterranean. Concept is great, food was o.k. but the place is certainly popular. It is packed for lunch and dinner

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We attended a concert at the Meyerson and this restaurant was in the area so we chose it. We had fantastic service and fabulous food. Loved the ambience and small plates. Then a very short walk to the concert. Perfect night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spain! India! Eastern Mediterranean in Downtown Dallas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Your taste buds will explode with wonder! I am not fond of this type of food but since it is another resturant of Stephen Pyle's I decided to try it. Glad I did. Although I won't eat the lamb (pet in my eyes) I did enjoy the prawn. Examples from the menu: India/Small plate-$7.00-Chickpea Flour Tempura Veggies-GOOD!, Friend had the Beef Short Rib Kadha-$10.00-small plate-GOOD! From Spain/Sauteed shrimp-small plate-$10.00-GOOD! Chicken & Jamon Croquette-$6.00-FAB-O!! From Med: Fatoush Salad - MY FAVORITE! -$7.00, Dessert: Caramelized Apple Empanda w/Cinnamon Ice Cream -FAB-O-$7.00, Drinks: Stag Mule-$9.00 & Samartini-$9.00-GOOD! Out door sitting with leather cushion couch/chairs. Check them out: www.samarrestaurant.com for explainations of all the food. Wait staff explains everything. I go there a-lot. Small place but fast service - for the most part - can be understaffed during lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.