We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again, horrible and disorganized” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dallas Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Dallas Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1033 Young Street, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #53 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never again, horrible and disorganized”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

Yes, I have had two bad experiences with this particular hotel. I was first intrigued with its urban downtown beauty, which if you are going for a bar experience I highly recommend. However, the customer service is horrible. My business associate requested her pants be dry cleaned and they had them back to us within 1 hour (after they told her to bring them down to her, not very customer service oriented) well they were pressed, but who can dry clean suit pants in one hour? They didn't, they pressed them and proceeded to argue with her because she refused to pay the amount since the gigantic food stain was still on the pants! They also say they had a shuttle that could take us to and from the meeting. LIES they had yet to mention to us that they hadn't hired a driver, so we had to wait and hope that someone would be available to take us to our meeting at the Hyatt (which the following year I opted to stay at the Hyatt and avoid this fiasco). There is no spa, which is a downer, employee's can be snooty, and very immature. Dead cockroach was found in room and was overall very unimpressed. If you are looking for a great stay within the Starwood preferred guest line I would recommend the chain of W hotels, much classier and much better in all aspects.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    112
    52
    27
    19
See reviews for
32
64
28
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

I was attending a conference at the Convention Center and was so excited to try this hotel since I'm a fan of the W Hotels. Happily this hotel did not disappoint. It takes the modern style of the W Hotels and brings that to a slightly lower tier hotel that maintains the cool, sleek amenities of the W Hotels while combining them with do-it-yourself loft style features. The first thing I noticed is the novel and very smart layout of the room. It was quite spacious and roomy but everything you need is there and is organized/laid out well. I love how the bathroom was designed so that the sink is separate from the toilet and shower and the "closet"/clothes storage area is close to the bathroom, and how the sink instead of being centered in the counter is towards the left leaving you with more counter space for your toiletries. You can tell a lot of thought was put into function as well as form. My room had huge windows that let a lot of light into the room and was nicely designed. The bed was awesome as they all are in SPG properties. I used the 24/7 gym and it was great with nice equipment, very clean with all the needed amenities (towels, water, music, yoga mats, etc.) The hotel bar is really fun and not surprisingly busy. Great cocktails and great small bites. There's also a pool table that got a lot of use by the hotel guests. In terms of location, it's literally across the street from the Convention Center so very convenient if you're attending a show there and also still close to the hot spots downtown which are all a short cab ride away. I also loved how the hotel had a high end mini mart in the lobby where you could buy snacks, meals, etc. The one thing to know is there is no on-site restaurant, just the bar and mini mart but you're close enough to lots of great restaurants and the bar and mini mart are enough to satisfy any late night or snack cravings. Overall I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to stay at another one.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scooteryates, General Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Aloha, PinaColada02,

Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Aloft Dallas Downtown and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Dallas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The room was very nice...good business table for a laptop. The two large 42" tv's were very nice. The bed was great..soft, easy to sleep at night. It would have been nice to have a jucuzzi at the hotel.

Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scooteryates, General Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
ALOHA, Rohn1234,

Thank you for the positive review you posted for our hotel. We are estatic to know you enjoyed your time at the Aloft Dallas Downtown! Should future travel plans bring you back to the BIG D, we look forward to having the opportunity to be of service again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Aloft Downtown Dallas is seriously the coolest hotel I have ever seen. The building is a historic brick that has a cool modern interior. It felt like we were staying in a modern art museum! The rooms are plush and spacious and feel very custom (our friends' rooms were all a little different and all were very unique). The porch with the lap pool and gym was our favorite hot spot. We spent most of our time hanging out at the bar, the pool table, the cafe, the pool... The hotel allows dogs but is still super clean and very eco-friendly. It markets alot to the 20 - 30s crowds and on the weekends the basment area turns into a club. We had alot planned for the weekend but cancelled it all just to stay at this hotel! I have our next stay booked at it's sister hotel in Frisco - stay tuned!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scooteryates, General Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
ALOHA, acantonLongview_TX,

WOW what a great review you left for our Aloft Dallas Downtown hotel. We are truly greatful and are happy to know you find our hotel the Coolest Ever!! Thank you so much for your comments and when you head back west to Big D, we would love to have you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I chose the Aloft Dallas Downtown for an internal meeting in July. I was excited about the location and the modern vibe (a change from our usual meeting locales).

So many things went wrong that I don't know where to begin. Our AV equipment was 45 minutes late to be set up (forcing us to start our meeting late). Breakfast wasn't ready on time despite e-mail reminders that it should be ready at 7:30. The bathrooms near our meeting space looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks. When I asked for the bathroom to be cleaned ASAP and no one came for more than an hour, I did my best to clean them myself. The office center printer didn't work nor the airline check-in kiosk. It was only after someone at our corporate office got involved that the staff started accommodating our requests and stopping by to check on our meeting. The decor and rooms look much nicer online than they do in person.

Overall it seemed like the staff was clueless and didn't understand the value in an apology (for how badly everything was organized).

I can say that the lounge area was popular with our group and we appreciated the complimentary drinks and some food they comped because of our experience - but that's about it.

My recommendation is that you find somewhere else to stay. We canceled our second meeting and moved it to the Sheraton Dallas Downtown (much nicer).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

My fiance and I needed a break from the everyday grind, so we decided to stay in a hotel instead of with his family (who live in Fort Worth) when we visited the metroplex. We booked a room at the Aloft and loved it from the moment we walked into the lobby. The bar area had several people enjoying cocktails and playing pool. Our room was fabulous! It was decorated like a loft, with exposed concrete and piping. The bed was very comfortable. Unfortunately, there wasn't much of a view from the room though. It was walking distance to Pegasus Plaza, which features some great restaurants and bars. We are looking forward to our next "staycation" at the Aloft Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Attending a EMS convention, this hotel is clean, quiet,nice bar, good selection of snacks / meals on the go/ great front desk staff/nice modern rooms with comfy beds/ ample parking / easy walk to convention center/ nice fitness center /nice ammeneties//

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dallas Downtown

Address: 1033 Young Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#48 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dallas Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Dallas Downtown is a vibrant, loft-inspired hotel, conveniently located near City Hall, the Dallas Convention Center, American Airlines Center, and Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Dallas Downtown Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.