We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most mis-managed hotel ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dallas Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Dallas Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1033 Young Street, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #53 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most mis-managed hotel ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

" A vision of W Hotels" is the tagline used to describe this hotel brand. Accurate, if their vision is of mismanagement and ineptitude. This hotel did not have a reliable air-conditioning system during much of our 5 week stay in June; this frequently resulted in rooms that were 90 degrees with no air circulation (windows do not open). Several members of our group were told they had to change rooms upon returning from work at 11PM on Sunday night. Rooms with a "Do Not Disturb" sign were regularly entered; on at least one occasion to remove a microwave (and not replace it) for no apparent reason. Hot water was not available on several occasions. Power was shut off completely one afternoon; the only advance notice was taped to elevator doors, rather that placed under room doors. One of our group's rental cars was "booted" in the parking lot even though registered to stay another 2 weeks. An additional charge to my credit card appeared days after checking out and paying in full. A call to the Aloft confirmed that this was their error and they promised to credit my card immediately; a week has passed and nothing has been done. These are only a few examples. My colleagues and I are frequent travelers; we agree that we have never stayed in a more poorly run property. The only thing I can recommend in their housekeeping staff, who did an excellent job of maintaining this dismally renovated old warehouse. It must be that "vision" thing: bravely furnished with cheerfully insubstantial plastic and vinyl, with exposed and rustically lathed concrete ceilings and not a padded floor the entire building. Stay for no more than 1 night and hope you don't experience what we constantly endured for 5 weeks. The Magnolia and the lovely Adolphus are only 2 or 3 blocks away; stay there instead.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2010
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your groups stay with us in June. The hotel faced numerous challenges with our HVAC and Hot water systems during the month, but we are happy to report that all systems have been restored. Again we apologize and wish you the best on you and the group all the best on your current tour.

Scooter Yates
General Manager, Aloft Dallas Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    112
    52
    27
    19
See reviews for
32
64
28
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ASHDOWN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I took a group of 20 teenagers to Dalls and we stayed at the aloft downtown for 3 nights. It was the cleanest, coolest most modern hotel with a great lobby and wonderful staff that went way beyond theoir call of duty. Everyone from the fornt desk to the cleaning crew were so very nice and helpful. I would recommend aloft to anyone going to Dallas.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for your review of the Aloft Dallas Downtown.
We are so glad that you and your group enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
I appreciate your kind words regarding the staff and we will pass on a copy of your review to all that you have mentioned. Thank you again for taking the time to post this review.
We look forward to saying "Aloha" to you again, the next time you find yourself in the Dallas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

From the moment we walked into the lobby, to checking out four days later we were thrilled with every aspect of Aloft! The service was friendly and efficient, our large king room was incredibly well-designed, extremely comfortable and completely quiet, and the downtown location is convenient to everything. There was nothing not to like about Aloft!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the Aloft Dallas Downtown!
So glad that you enjoyed our accommodations and that our downtown location was convenient for your travel needs. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

An excelent option to be in downtown, the furniture is awesome, the bar is nice, the pool is small but it´s a good place to meet people... the personnel is friendly... it´s better than Sheraton, Hilton even some Westin.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Aloft Dallas Downtown.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your positive comments.
We hope you visit with us again the next time you are the Dallas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

This is a very hip hotel with great views. I only stayed one night during a convention, but the rooms are very spacious with great beds and bathrooms. The hotel parking worked out great. The hotel is very close to the convention center. The only negative is the air conditioning in the room that is operated by a motion detector. Not so good in Texas heat!!! Also, please add ice buckets to the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Thank you for your review of the Aloft Dallas Downtown.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay and that our convenient location to the convention center worked out well for you.
We will share your concerns with our management staff and we appreciate you taking the time to post your comments.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Very neat and modern hotel.

However, we had 3 rooms reserved that were supposed to be next to each other. Turns out they did not have the rooms and we ended up on 3 different floors. (It took about 2 hours to get to this point.) They never once apologized and were quite rude.

Upon check out, the rooms were all supposed to be held under the same credit card number; however, they charged all 3 rooms to the card that was provided for "incidentals" upon check-in. They messed up again and never once apologized.

This is a cool, modern hotel -- but do not stay here if you want good service.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
I would like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you and your friends experienced during your recent stay our hotel.
In our ongoing efforts to comply with “Green Certification” initiatives, we experienced a software failure in our Energy Management System. While not an excuse, this failure was not a quick fix- as it required various programming and software changes. This also led to the property having to take room inventory offline at the last minute on any given day to facilitate the upgrades, which limited our ability to honor your room type requests. We strive to provide the experience that our guests expect and deserve, and are truly apologetic that we fell short. The system challenges are now resolved and we apologize to all of our guests that were inconvenienced during their stay. We hope should future travel plans bring you back to Dallas, you would give us another opportunity to be your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft worth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

My wife had a wedding to go to in the Dallas area so we decided to stay the night in big D. We chose the Aloft to stay the night. It was a very trendy hotel with very spacious and clean rooms with all the ammenities. We went out to dinner and returned around 9:30 in the evening. We were trying to decide what to do for entertainment and it was real easy to figure out once we walked in. The nightlife at the hotel lobby/bar was great. Lots of nice people just hanging out ! Lots of fun. When I stay in Dallas again, there is no question where I will be staying.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theresagio, Manager at Aloft Dallas Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Thanks for your review of the Aloft Dallas Downtown. We are so glad that you and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our spacious guest rooms,the cleanliness of the hotel, and our bar area. Glad you said "Aloha" to Aloft and we look forward to welcoming you back to the big D soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dallas Downtown

Address: 1033 Young Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#48 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dallas Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Dallas Downtown is a vibrant, loft-inspired hotel, conveniently located near City Hall, the Dallas Convention Center, American Airlines Center, and Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Dallas Downtown Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.