We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yup, poop in the hallway” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft Dallas Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aloft Dallas Downtown to your Saves list
Aloft Dallas Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1033 Young Street, Dallas, TX 75202 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #47 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Yup, poop in the hallway”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. However, the second night we were there, we came back to a very large pile of poop (I'm assuming from a dog) in the hallway right in front of our door at the end of the hall. I appreciate dog friendly places and get that accidents happen (owner should have really picked it up), but called the front desk. They apologized and said they would clean it up. 3 hours later, it was still there. Finally it got picked up, but that was a before the guests next door came home at 2am and blasted music and were yelling. The walls are very thin, which I expected, but it took a call to the front desk and 30 minutes later for them to quiet down. I think if you're planning on going out late and can still step over some dog poop when you get back, this place is great. If not, maybe try somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    109
    49
    25
    19
See reviews for
30
64
28
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Get pet friendly hotel. The location is nice for walking distance to all downtown activities. The rooms are not large but efficient. The lounge area is cozy & relaxing.
The king size beds are pillow top so there very nice.great flat screen television & high ceilings.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Pros:
1. The hotel is built in what looks to be an old warehouse which makes for a unique experience compared to most other aLofts.
2. The lobby is large, open and has ample seating.
3. We stayed in a suite (using a suite night award) and thought that the old brick walls, high ceilings, and great views from the large windows made for an all around great room experience.
4. For platinum members the breakfast amenity is very generous. Everything we chose for breakfast, including hot prepared options were taken care of by the front desk.

Cons:
1. My wife and I are in our twenties and always enjoy the lively bar/lobby scene of most aLofts however some patrons were extremely drunk and made things uncomfortable. On the elevator ride back to the room my wife was propositioned by a group of guys who clearly couldn't hold their alchohol.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed for a weekend away- if you have stayed with this Starwood brand before you will find this location even cooler. The Building is a minimalist structure with the usual high end appointments you expect. The lobby is expansive, comfortable lounge and clean amenities through out.

The check in was flawless, Jeremy was quick and efficient, I had a king suite on the 8th floor overlooking the park to the south. The room was excellent-again it is like other Alofts in design and function, Bed was comfy, couch and other items in the room were functional and cool.

Pioneer Park nearby is an excellent place to take a walk. There are great restaurants nearby, and if you are adventurous a stroll downtown is easy. If you are a fan of trendy and good value this is a perfect place

Pool is on the ground floor, no room service but a well stocked food bar in the lobby,

Room Tip: Building is triangular south and west are nice views, the northeast side looks into downtown, stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a larger hotel than most of my Aloft experiences. Really enjoyed the renovated but unfinished look with interior bricks from an industrial era; makes sense being in Pioneer Park where Dallas past (1800s) meets the present! Upon arrival I was upgraded to a suite with 20 foot windows that provided a great view of the park. Before leaving for dinner, my wife and I had a drink from the well-stocked bar and did some people watching. The only downer was a $10 for parking fee. Otherwise, a great place to call home while visiting the nearby museums and other local attractions all in walking distance.

Room Tip: The view of the park is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Aloft as a brand is growing on me, and this hotel takes the brand to a new level. Very cool conversion of an old downtown building; it oozes character without the over-the-top design of its brethren W properties. Service was top-notch from check-in to check-out. Room was A+ - large, well-appointed and much warmer and liveable than standard-issue (airport) Alofts. Very comfortable bed and consistently strong wifi. Minimal fuss involved in booking a meeting room for a series of job interviews. Rate was high, but competitive with other hotels as there was a convention in town. I would absolutely recommend for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

For the price its best to stay at the anatole. Decorations are wack. Tv in rooms to close to look at from the bed. No refunds offered or an alternate date. Almost forced to stay whether you like out or not otherwise your just out of the 160.00 fee

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft Dallas Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Dallas Downtown

Address: 1033 Young Street, Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#41 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Dallas Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloft Dallas Downtown is a vibrant, loft-inspired hotel, conveniently located near City Hall, the Dallas Convention Center, American Airlines Center, and Arts District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft Dallas Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Dallas Downtown Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft Dallas Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.