We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel location construction sucks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 LBJ Freeway, Dallas, TX 75240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 187 hotels in Dallas
1 review
“Good hotel location construction sucks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean and rooms was nice and spacious..When I checked in I had to wait like 9 minutes for the attendant to return he had a sign that said be right back. I had a baby and 2 other kids so that irritated me standing waiting with another family and a older lady. Breakfast was great but there was 4 vehicles that wax broke into last night I would recommend you park up front..Another thing that would be great if they gave military discounts..overall a good hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area), responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Lilgrace77,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites North Dallas at Preston. We agree that the construction can be a challenge and we do our best to inform guests of the best way to get to the property before they arrive considering how much change is going on. We are also working with the local authorities and warning our guests to not leave valuable items visible in their vehicles to help mitigate the temptation of theft. Local authorities have been very helpful in reducing the occurrences recently. Thank you again for sharing what you liked about the property. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    23
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
34
12
3
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel. Very trendy and modern hotel. Lobby lights within floor, high ceiling with changing LED panels. Staff was great. Only issue (with nothing to do with hotel) was the ease of access due to current construction going on. Was acknowledged as a Platinum Priority Club Member. The Galleria mall is close by so that was a plus. Definitely recommend staying here if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area), responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear DocAP,

Thank you for taking time to comment about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express North Dallas at Preston. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the property and it's location. We are sorry about the construction as we know it has made it difficult to get to and from the hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to North Dallas. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had made reservations for two nights at this hotel. We ended up arriving a day early, and we drove to the location to see if we could check in early. As in 1:30 or so in the morning early. And the associate who checked us in could not have been more helpful or friendly. She quickly checked us in and assured me she would make a note on our reservation that we had checked in early, so that everything would flow smoothly. She told me since the reservation was made through booking.com, we would have to check out and check in, but we could do this at breakfast or whenever. And everything did flow smoothly!

The room was great as well. This location has obviously been remodeled in the not too distant past. As some of the other ratings have mentioned, the rooms are larger than typical. The beds were firm, and there were choices of firm and soft pillows. The sheets were also crisp. We slept great. Another nice plus was the ceiling fan in the room. We arrived in the heat of August in Dallas, and the room was almost chilly. Also this hotel is located just off the very busy LBJ freeway, and we did not hear any traffic noise whatsoever.

The room was very clean, and I am super picky about that. The restroom was nice, and there was a walk in (door-less) shower. No bathtub, but since we never use the tubs at home, we certainly don't need one in a hotel. There were lots of nice lights, including tiny reading lamps for each person, attached to the headboards. There was no mini fridge, nor was there a microwave. We did not have need for either of these, but in case you need one or the other, you should ask the very accommodating staff when you make your reservations.

Breakfast was typical fare - eggs, biscuits, gravy, cinnamon rolls, toast, pancakes, cereals, yogurt, some fruit, juices and coffees. However, one thing I really liked was that 24 hours/day, there were dispensers filled with two different types of water. One was always strawberry (it was very refreshing), and one was lime or lemon and then it was changed to cucumber. There was also a platter of "construction cookies" near the dispensers.

As has probably also been mentioned, this hotel is located on the access road of LBJ, between Hillcrest and Preston. Driving into the parking lot often requires a bit of a delay, since there is only one lane open. One can enter off Preston, to the back of the hotel, as well.

The lobby is very modern, attractive and clean. But by far the best part of this location is the service. Everyone we encountered was just super. It felt much more upscale than the typical Holiday Inn. I can't say enough about the associates. Next time we go to Dallas, we will definitely stay here.

Regarding the issue mentioned in the previous review about vandalism - we parked to the right side of the hotel. It was quite well lit, and we did not see any issues.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area), responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear LaurieTN,
Thank you so much for the fantastic words about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites North Dallas at Preston. It is not often that someone goes into that much detail in a review and let me assure you it is greatly appreciated. It was great to hear all the things you enjoyed about your stay and that you enjoyed the property and the rooms. I cannot wait to share this with the entire staff of the property so they can see what a stellar job they did for your stay. I must say the entire management team here at the property is very proud to hear what you had to say about the staff. Thank you again for taking so much time to give such a thorough review of the property. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I choose to stay there for 5 nights.the location is very good because you have short drive to everything.the room was nice and spacious. This hotel is just everything you can ask for. The price you pay is defiently the value is worth is .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area), responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear henderson2,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at the Holiday Inn Express North Dallas at Preston. We were all happy to hear you enjoyed the room and our location. We look forward to seeing you on your return to the North Dallas area. Thank you again for your comments about the Holiday Inn Express North Dallas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel itself is superior for Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. The rooms are A+ designed with plenty of room to walk around. We enjoyed the facility to the fullest. The customer service and check in was a breeze and we would love to return to this hotel., HOWEVER....on the morning we were leaving, we noticed that one or two vehicles, one being a brand new VW, had been vandalized. The police was there checking the parking lot for other cars that had possibly been vandalized and/or stolen....who knows. This left me a bit on edge deciding if I wanted to return to this location again. They have to hire a 24 hr. or nightly security staff to ride the parking lot and keep this great hotel a place for people to relax and not worry if there car is going to be vandalized or even stolen when they go out the next morning. Overall the hotel gets and A+, but unfortunately, the parking lot especially near the back of the hotel, gets and F.

Room Tip: Request RM 432...It is awesome :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area), responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Neeky555,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us the experience you had at the Holiday Inn Express North Dallas at Preston. It’s great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the property. We apologize that you left feeling uneasy about the car being broken into. We here at the property do our best to monitor the parking lot as well as educate our guest to ensure they do not leave any valuables visible in their vehicle, unfortunately, from time to time things of this nature do occur even when we do our due diligence. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express North Dallas at Preston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a very nice clean hotel with FANTASTIC customer service. We were on a long road trip and had just had a horrible experience with a Holiday Inn in Baton Rouge the night before we stayed at this location. We pulle din at mid-night thirty and Kelli, the night clerk, couldn't have been more helpful. She made the check in process very easy, gave us an upgrade, and called the room to make sure everything was in order. She made a previous bad experience melt away with her professionalism and attitude. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area), responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear DavenKristi,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express North Dallas at Preston. We were all very please to hear your comments about Kelli and how well she did. It was great to hear that you had a positive stay with us and we look forward to seeing you back at the Holiday Inn Express North Dallas at Preston very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last night and it was by far the best Holiday Inn I've ever stayed in so far. The rooms are spacesous, luxurious, clean, service was great, front desk personnel were great, price is resonable and this morning we finished our stay with a great breakfast!! I would stay at this hotel anytime I'm in the Dallas area ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area), responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Babygurl0325,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express North Dallas at Preston. We were all happy to hear you enjoyed both the staff and the amenities. We look forward to see you in your future travels to the North Dallas area. Thank you again for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area)

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Dallas (Galleria Area)
Address: 6055 LBJ Freeway, Dallas, TX 75240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Dallas
#41 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area) 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New North Dallas Hotel at PrestonAs you step into the upscale lobby of the Holiday Inn Express® North Dallas at Preston hotel, you'll be greeted with modern comforts while enjoying an excellent location that places you near the vibrant heart of downtown. We're in close proximity to businesses like Interstate Batteries, Alon USA, Texas Instruments, Raytheon, State Farm, FedEx, Medical City and Cooper Aerobics.Love Field Airport (DAL) is just a short distance away, too.Business travelers staying at this Dallas hotel's Galleria property can use the Business Center or utilize the 3,000-sq-ft ballroom..Love Field Airport (DAL) is just a short distance away, too.While exploring the Dallas area, the hotel guests appreciate our proximity to attractions like American Airlines Center. You can also easily catch a Rangers' or Cowboys' game. Take the time to visit the Dallas West End, a bustling dining and entertainment district, and after exploring this historic area, experience the fascinating world of Dallas World Aquarium. If you're looking for Dallas hotels near the Galleria Mall, we're just one mile from this upscale shopping haven.Visitors to the Dallas area appreciate our hotel's free high-speed, wireless Internet access, as well as the delicious, complimentary hot breakfast we serve daily. Take a dip in our indoor pool. Begin planning your Dallas getaway today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Dallas (Galleria Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.