We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bread Winners Cafe

Bread Winners Cafe
3301 McKinney Ave, Dallas, TX 75204 (Oak Lawn)
21475449940
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #159 of 3,098 Restaurants in Dallas
Cuisines: Bakery, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Oak Lawn
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our bookclub met this week (6 of us). Service was very disorganized. Not sure if she was new, but kept asking over and over for the same items i.e. coffee, dessert menu, etc. Food was okay but not the best I've had. Will try breakfast someday as I have heard raves about brunch etc, but wouldn't go again for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    87
    29
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a great place for lunch. It was packed when we were there for lunch. The McKinney location offers free parking across the street, and the food was very solid. We were in a bit of a hurry, and the waiter did a good job to make sure we were served quickly. Great sandwiches.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice food, terrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've been here a couple times for dinner and have waited at the front for well over 5 minutes with no other customers up front. Sometimes someone is behind the bar/pastry area and doesn't even acknowledge our existence. For brunch they are packed, but they don't appear to be in any sort of position to be turning down dinner business, but that's exactly what they've done after making me wait so long it forces me to leave.
They've made some menu changes and right now it's probably one of their least diverse menu offerings.
The brunch is pretty good. Service is still less than adequate but considering they're so packed it's easy to excuse.
I'd say get here for brunch but avoid dinner at all costs.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went to brunch with a group of 6 during a recent retreat. Great place, lovedddd the food. Ordered the Julios Huevos, they were delicious. My friend ordered the Normandy - if you are a big french toast guy, this is the plate to get. I recommend this place for brunch if your in the area. Really great food, will visit again if I am in the area!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Uptown treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stopped by Sunday morning- very busy, but we were seated in the large indoor area very quickly. Great patio service, too. Split a strawberry and cream Belgium waffle (yummy) and a giant orange roll. Loved everything and will visit often.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread Winners Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bread Winners Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bread Winners Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.