We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill

Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill
5027 West Lovers Lane, Dallas, TX 75209
214 350 5027
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 2,895 Restaurants in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Inwood Road
University Park, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great Tavern environment with fine dining!
Tavern and fine dining don't often go together, but this place is worth a try.
Service was fantastic.
I will be a repeat customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    21
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Visiting from out of town. Rave reviews compelled us to try. It was just ok. Scallops were very good. Short ribs SOUNDED delicious but were pretty tasteless and fatty. Dessert was a fried pie that tasted fried and rather bland. Certainly didn't live up to the hype. Great ambience but sadly we were seated next to a rather loud/obnoxious man so even that was diminished.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food, even better service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first visit and our expectations were high as the restaurant was recently voted #1 by D magazine. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent and the service remarkable. Ellen was cheery, knowledgeable and incredibly attentive (without hovering). I have had very good service at other restaurants, but this was among the very best.

We will go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“This is What a restaurant Should Be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Six of us had dinner at Neighborhood Services and were blown away. First off, the décor and atmosphere of the restaurant is spot on. Careful attention is obvious in the way the restaurant has been laid out and the attendant objets d'art. The vibe is casual with mostly young professionals. The service is attentive as well as knowledgeable. The menu is interesting in that there is a great selection of dishes and they are all well prepared. The menu is extensive and the food extremely well prepared and plated. The wine list is a bit limited but is fine for the menu and occasion.
This is a place one shouldn't miss. You won't be disppointed

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal, great side dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I understand this was rated Dallas' best restaurant and I can see why.The waiter was extremely attentive, suggesting a perfect wine complement to our meal. We started with a spicy sausage and honey crisp apple flatbread (they offer several), and a cerviche, which were perfect appetizers for four diners. The side dishes are wonderful - we had the creamy Three Jack and Mac casserole (probably the best I've ever had) and roasted Brussel sprouts (yes, awesome Brussel sprouts). They have fish specials every day and special cerviche offerings each day of the week. The banana split dessert was divine. Pretty decent beer list with offerings from Ballist Point and Firestone Walker, not just your typical Shiner selection. The wine list is extensive.The atmosphere is intimate. A nice change from the chains of Dallas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neighborhood Services Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.