We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful campus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Methodist University

Southern Methodist University
6425 Boaz Lane, Dallas, TX 75275
214 768 2000
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 151 attractions in Dallas
Type: Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A private local coeducational university located in Dallas, Texas.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Lots to see here! Visited with my daughter touring colleges. Cleanest campus we have seen. Start at the Blanton center to hear the 100+ years history of the school. Walking tour is easy and interesting learning about the school's traditions along the way. Lots of shade, not a lot of hills. Friendly students willing to point you in the right direction if you get lost. Visit the museum on campus too. Quite a jewel in Dallas.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    24
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great architecture...enjoyed the campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Beautiful campus. Really spread out! Buildings are so inviting. Wish I had more time to spend. Bush 43 selected a wonderful location for his museum/library.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Lovely Campus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Just like many other reviewers, what a lovely campus. Was here for a college tour and I have to say that SMU is one of the prettiest campuses we've been to. Everyone we ran into there was professional and helpful. Very neat to find this campus within Dallas. Lovely place to walk. There facilities appear to be amazing, from the rock-climbing wall to pool with sand beach entry.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a beautiful campus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We drove though the campus and stopped at the bookstore. My boyfriend who is a big time college football fan loved seeing the "Mustangs" stadium and buying some college t-shirts. I loved how beautiful the campus was.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“SMU is more beautiful and impressive every time I visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

What an incredible place! Every time we visit, there are more new things to see. Check out the Dedmon Life Center where the students go to work out...3 story climbing wall, basketball courts, a TANNING pool with beach entry and fountains, beach volleyball courts, and more treadmills and ellipticals than I have ever seen in my life. You have to see it to believe it...and even then it's hard to wrap your brain around such a plush place!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Methodist University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Methodist University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southern Methodist University to your Saves list