We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the time and money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Gardens

Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Gardens
8525 Garland Road, Dallas, TX 75218
+1 214-515-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
Type: Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A nationally acclaimed 66 acre display garden features breathtaking floral displays all year long. Nestled on the shores of White Rock Lake, the Dallas Arboretum was rated in 2013 as one of the Top Ten Botanical Gardens in the US by The Travel Channel. The one-of-a-kind 8 acre Rory Meyers Children's Adventure Garden is the only one of it's kind in America.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the time and money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Great for taking family photos beautiful landscape. A lot of wow factor with the glass artwork. $15 entry fee and I highly suggest taking the shuttle ride. It's free and the shuttle buses are nice plus you can enjoy the scenic ride. Take a picnic basket if possible food is pretty expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,327
    336
    59
    20
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

50,000 pumpkins!! Beautiful day! Our kids could run and shout and we could turn them loose. Perfect day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth going several times per year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

the Arboretum is beautiful year-round and there is always some cool event going on there. From summer concerts to 10k/20k run races, Chihuly glass art, holiday tea, etc. It is a great way to spend the day with friends and family.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice but small”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My wife loves gardening and all types of plants, so when we went to Dallas, this was a must see. We definitely enjoyed it, but we were expecting something larger. If our expectations based on other people's reviews hadn't been so high, we probably would have enjoyed it more

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Chihuly glassworks need CLEANING!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Went to the Arboretum to see the Chihuly glassworks. I guess when the held the exhibit over, they stopped maintaining them. Many of the works were dirty and dusty, and many had cobwebs on them, some entire webs. They can't hose these things down once in a while? It was shameful, especially since it's a national tour and it's $20 a head. Also, their map stinks. We tried to find all the Chihuly works, then concluded we must have seen them all. But we missed four installations because the map was confusing and because simple signage indicating where to go were non-existent. Attention, Arboretum management: The myriad paths are not named, and in the dark are hard to see, so how about next time you do a night exhibit, you consider some simple signage? Summation: The Chihuly works are amazing, but the presentation was sloppy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas Arboretum & Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.