We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun filled times in middle of metropolitan city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas World Aquarium

Dallas World Aquarium
1801 North Griffin Street, Dallas, TX 75202
214 720 2224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The adventure at The Dallas World Aquarium begins at the top of the rainforest exhibit, where exotic birds, such as Cocks-of-the-rock and many species of toucans, can be seen. Lounging around are Two-toed and Three-toed sloths. Endangered animals, such as Orinoco crocodiles, Giant river otters, Antillean manatees and several species of monkeys are part of the many conservation projects. The aquarium portion displays interesting marine life, including Japanese crabs, jellyfish, Leafy, Weedy and Ribbon seadragons. Black-footed and Blue penguins can be seen swimming as guests enjoy the outdoor South Africa exhibit. Sharks, rays and sawfish are only a few of the fish living in the Mundo Maya cenote. Safe from Neotropical eagles, are euphonias, tanagers and hummingbirds. Reptiles and amphibians, both of significance to the Maya culture, can be seen throughout the exhibit.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Lubbock, Texas, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun filled times in middle of metropolitan city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This aquarium will surprise you. There are no large body of water around Dallas but great imported species are here. Fun filled times with family. My children laugh and ogled at many fun and exotic attractions. Great to ignite children's imagination. This is a must see if visiting Dallas.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    512
    160
    55
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice, creative habitat in multilevels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A must see if you are in Dallas. A little pricey but well worth it. Not your typical Aquarium as has a full habitat from the birds, trees, critters above water and below water.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Privately Owned Aquariums in Dallas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have visited The Dallas World Aquarium many times over the years and thought I'd share for those that have not visited. Commonly confused with the Dallas Aquarium (publicly owned), the Dallas World Aquarium is privately owned and operated. The DWA is more than just an aquarium as the tour begins indoors at the top of the rain forest canopy. You will wind through the rain forest seeing birds, Three toed Sloths, Giant River Otters, monkeys, and a slew of other amazing animals. As you continue down you will eventually find a giant freshwater tank with a viewable pane the size of a large wall. This houses some exotics such as Manatees and other large fish. You will eventually find the saltwater systems on the ground floor and they are nothing short of spectacular. There are multiple systems with each dedicated to a specific region. Some of our favorites include Fiji and the Leafy/Weedy Sea Dragon exhibits. Once you've had your fill here there's plenty more including South African Penguins.

There is a lot to do here and I highly recommend for a family outing. It's not cheap but well worth it.

-Bring a camera and budget for a couple hours.
-They have a cafe for dining but there are plenty of eatery options outside the facility.
-We prefer to visit during the week rather than the weekends. Just call ahead and make sure there isn't a school field trip scheduled for the day.
-The DART rail runs right through the area for those that don't want to pay for parking or deal with traffic.
-Great for a Friday visit in my opinion.

http://www.dwazoo.com/

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magical if you take the time to look for all the hidden animals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I have been here 4 times in the last 13 years and this time still didn't disappoint. We took our 14 and 11-year old girls and they enjoyed it as well. The manatee is awesome. I could watch it for hours. The sloths, otters, fish are all so close its amazing. It is set up so you have a good view of everything. It is a bit pricey but I imagine the upkeep on the animals is costly. Great place!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Dallas World Aquarium is set up like a tropical rain forest, water falls and all. It's a delightful walk thru the indoor rainforest seeing all the animals, fish, birds, etc. My two godsons from Honduras were mesmerized and it was one of their favorite attractions in Dallas. Its the perfect place to take kids both for enjoyment and for them to learn about wildlife.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas World Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas World Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.