We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots more to see than we expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dallas World Aquarium

Dallas World Aquarium
1801 North Griffin Street, Dallas, TX 75202
214 720 2224
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 115 Attractions in Dallas
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The adventure at The Dallas World Aquarium begins at the top of the rainforest exhibit, where exotic birds, such as Cocks-of-the-rock and many species of toucans, can be seen. Lounging around are Two-toed and Three-toed sloths. Endangered animals, such as Orinoco crocodiles, Giant river otters, Antillean manatees and several species of monkeys are part of the many conservation projects. The aquarium portion displays interesting marine life, including Japanese crabs, jellyfish, Leafy, Weedy and Ribbon seadragons. Black-footed and Blue penguins can be seen swimming as guests enjoy the outdoor South Africa exhibit. Sharks, rays and sawfish are only a few of the fish living in the Mundo Maya cenote. Safe from Neotropical eagles, are euphonias, tanagers and hummingbirds. Reptiles and amphibians, both of significance to the Maya culture, can be seen throughout the exhibit.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Springdale, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lots more to see than we expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

There is a lot to this Aquarium, and it is a great place for Kids and adults as well

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    512
    160
    55
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melissa, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to get out of the summer heat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My kids and I go here at least once every summer. Great aquarium - everything from sharks to jellyfish to the biggest crabs I have ever seen. Also a nice rainforest area. Love the jaguar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Three floors of animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My big highlight was seeing the flamingos. One floor is like a rainforest. One floor has "water" creatures. The prices of the food there isn't too bad (for a attraction). The day were were there, it was very crowded. Go early.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lot more than fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We have visited the aquarium several times over the last six years. The kids enjoy the variety of species. It is indoors,which I like although the smells can be oppresive at times. Eat before or after, the snack bar did not look inviting. Would definitely recommend for kids and adults of all ages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Memories but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I took our girls ages 7 and 9 to the Dallas World Aquarium around Christmas. Overall it was a nice experience - we were introduced to animals we have never seen before. We spent two hours there which included time in the gift shop. I thought the aquarium was pretty pricey for the experience. It cost $73 for the 4 of us plus $6 parking. The shark exhibit was awesome and the penguin feeding was a big disappointment for my 7 year old whole loves penguins.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dallas World Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dallas World Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.