We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Perfection and Convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt DFW

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt DFW to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt DFW
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2337 South International Parkway, P.O. Box 619045, Dallas, TX 75261-9045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #1 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago metro area
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection and Convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

After needing to layover unexpectedly at DFW (overnight), we checked into the Grand Hyatt, located about 200 feet from the American Airlines terminal. We were soon grateful for the layover!

Upon checking in and seeing our exhausted kids (and parents), the front desk reservationist asked our 8 yr old if he would like to watch planes take off from his room...we thought this was sweet but had no idea how amazing the room would be. We opened the door which activates the wall to wall window screen to go up, giving us an on-runway view of the planes at DFW. Our boys were thrilled and we were relieved that there appears to be soundproofing allowing one to enjoy the runway view but not the noise.

The amenities in-room and bathroom were sleek, modern and spotless. The bathroom, especially, with black granite and auto on/off lights was luxurious. Huge shower and slightly odd bathtub on other side of bathroom. Still, so relaxing.

The small rooftop pool and deck overlooks the runway, too, and is connected to the most equipped and pristine health club we've ever used at a hotel. Locker rooms are par none and offer amenities to take back to the room (deodorant, etc).

The restaurant located outside the lobby is pricey ($42 for small filet), but was literally the best food we'd ever eaten in Texas (and we are foodies). The service offered us by server Luis Quevedo was personal, unbelievably professional and insightful...we ended up dining there on our way to Mexico as well as on our way back due to the attentiveness and detail given to the patrons as well as the menu. Even the sous chef came out to inquire about our satisfaction.

We are now looking for excuses to get back to Dallas asap...and to layover at Grand Hyatt DFW!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    201
    28
    16
    6
See reviews for
141
196
119
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Azle, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt on the airport last January when we had a 6:00 a.m. flight to catch to Fort Lauderdale in order to take a cruise with Royal Caribbean. It was a very nice hotel with comfortable beds, and it was fun watching the planes take off right from our room. Parking was also handy, with it figured into the room rate, as well as the complimentary shuttle bus that took us to our terminal and picked us up when we got back. Highly recommended if you're on a tight schedule, and you want to reduce some of the inevitable hassle of flying post-9/11.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the airport runway side. It's fun to watch the planes taking off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were shocked how fast they collected us at the exit of the airport and did our check-in. The room was clean and big. This hotel was pretty busy, however everything ran well. The bathroom is filled with what you need if you stay for one night
The bar has a good burger and the flank steak salad was delicious. Wi- fi is only free in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel was great for an airport/plane junkie like myself. We got a room overlooking two of the runways and my son and I spent a lot of time just watching planes come and go. The decor and amenities are modern and beds super comfortable. They definitely are paying attention to the small details which gives the place a very polished feel.

The only thing I have to complain about is the shower. Having spent plenty of time in the Dallas area I know they have really hard water and I should plan on feeling slimy after a shower, but many other hotels I have stayed in had water softeners installed. This is a detail which seems to have been overlooked at the Hyatt which normally I wouldn't be surprised by, but given their attention to other details it did seem out of place. That said, it wouldn't stop me from staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night before the long haul to Sydney. Room was as expected with great view of runway, noise did not wake us. They are doing renovations and half the restaurants are closed. There is a bar with a basic menu or a buffet which looked so so. What they don't tell you is that you can get security passes to go in and out of the airport so you can walk, shop, eat. There is nothing on the non secure side in the terminal except a Starbucks kiosk and another small kiosk. Was told that room service would take around 45 mins as food has to come from conference floor.There are two newsagents. Apart from that nothing to do. The pool is good though no shade, could be because of wind, gym well equipped. An ok stay, will give it another run when renos are over and plan my time better. There is also no coffee/ tea in room though they will bring you a coffee machine gratis if requested.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is our first choice for accommodations whenever we are flying out of DFW. The hotel is lovely and the staff is genuinely concerned about making sure our stay is perfect. The restaurants and bar have excellent menus and the food never disappoints. If nothing else, we always eat breakfast at the Grand Hyatt before we board. The white cheddar and ham panini and french press coffee is an excellent way to start your trip.

The deluxe king room is spacious with a comfy bed and a large bath. It is easy for 2 to get dressed in the morning. The soaps and lotions are some of the best quality I have had in any hotel. Is there a little noise? Of course there is, especially if you, like us, request a room that is on the runway. I consider it part of the atmosphere. As little noise as there is when you are practically on top on the planes in the terminal and yards away from the runway, I am sure the rooms facing the other direction are quiet. Keep is mind that the airport pretty well shuts down around 10 - 11 pm.

If you drive to DFW and do not choose valet parking, you can unload at the hotel with bell staff and easily park in the Terminal D parking garage on level 3 and walk across to the hotel. There is massive road construction at the north entrance to DFW and in the Dallas area. Staying in the airport meant no stress about arriving too early or too late. What a wonderful way to start any trip.

The hotel provides a courtesy service where airport security/TSA will come clear you for entrance into the terminals for dinner/shopping if it is not the day you boarding a plane. (There is a 30 minute wait while they fill out the paperwork and run your name through Homeland Security. Also, be advised that you will be "patted down" since you have no boarding pass; no exceptions.) DFW has a new fine-dining steak house, as well as other restaurants that are removed from the food court atmosphere.

Upon departure, the bellman will walk you into Terminal D, get your boarding passes at the kiosk if you have not already printed them in the hotel, and give your luggage to the airline if you are flying American. It does not matter if your plane is departing from that terminal or not. You never have to "lug" or shove that heavy luggage through lines yourself. Be sure to tip accordingly for the excellent service. After freeing yourself of luggage, walk through security as usual and take the Skylink to your departure terminal.

We love this hotel. One of these days, we are going to arrive a day earlier so we can enjoy their pool and spa.

Room Tip: HIgh floor with runway view is wonderful unless you are a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the best experience I've had with any sort of needed airport stay. No need for hauling the bags out to a shuttle, no anxiety about getting to and from the airport in time. It's located within the airport with a cool restaurant space, peaceful and extremely clean rooms, great room service and in-room movies for cranky kids coming off long flights, and staff that came through big time for us in a travel emergency. We actually booked our flight through Dallas rather than Miami because we knew we'd need to spend the night and had such a positive experience last time. I only wish this hotel were copied at more US airports.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt DFW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt DFW

Address: 2337 South International Parkway, P.O. Box 619045, Dallas, TX 75261-9045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dallas
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#2 Business Hotel in Dallas
#7 Green Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt DFW 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, convenience and unsurpassed service are the standard at the Grand Hyatt DFW. The hotel is integrated into DFW International Terminal D and accessible from all DFW terminals via the SkyLink or Terminal Link systems. This luxurious hotel offers 298 elegantly appointed guest rooms, 34,000 sq. ft of meeting space, and a globally inspired dining experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Prestigia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt DFW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Dfw Hotel Dallas
Grand Hyatt Dallas
Grand Hyatt Hotel Dallas
Hyatt Dallas
Dallas Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt DFW, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.