We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Hyatt experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Dallas-North

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Dallas-North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Dallas-North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5229 Spring Valley Road, Dallas, TX 75240   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rev Up. Slow Down.
Ranked #61 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
GreenLeadersBronze level
Texarkana, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the best Hyatt experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My dad and I traveled to Dallas for a nice weekend trip away from everday stress. Our troubles began when we arrived at our room only to find that the TV could only be controlled manually on the TV itself. I promptly alerted the front desk and someone came up to give us a new remote. The new remote would not work. So, I again phoned down to the front desk to notify them of the problem. Yet another remote was delivered to the room. This time the attendant tried to get the remote to work and quickly deduced that the battery inside the TV for the remote to work had died. He then left only saying sorry and did not even offer to change our room. Note: The room was very clean and we had no issue with the cleaning staff. Next, I tried to plug my Ipad into one of the outlets located below the work desk. Guess what, none of them worked. I finally found one outlet that did work near one of the beds. The next morning (Sat) we looked forward to the breakfast as neither of us had tried a Hyatt Place before. The breakfast left us dissapointed. We arrived around 8:30 am, breakfast being served from 7:00 am-10 am. The pancakes were cold and tasteless and my dad had some bad fruit. We left breakfast still feeling hungry but we were going to eat a good lunch at Pecan Lodge. Very tasty by the way!!! I wanted to go back up to the room to fetch my Ipad to use during the day. Unfortunatly, this is where I give them a 2 star rating. We tried to get into the room using our key card by holding the card up to the reader. This is the first place ive seen these types of key readers. Most hotels use the key reader that you slide the card in a slot. The key would not work. A faint light appeared as to let us know to enter but every time we tried, it would not work. We went down to the front desk and notified them of the problem. One of the front desk clerks went with us to the room to see if we could get it to work. He could not so he tried to reactivate the cards downstairs. He came back up and deduced that the battery inside the reader was dying and needed to be replaced. We were told to wait while someone came to replace it. We waited for 30 minutes without anyone coming. Not once did they try to accomodate me and my dad. Note: I am a Platinum member with Hyatt as well as Platinum Elite with IHG. IHG would have given us a new room or upgraded us or at the very least offered us something for our troubles. We got fed up with waiting so we left the hotel to unwind and start our day already being behind schedule. Thankfully the battery was fixed upon our return and we were able to finish our stay without further incidents. We did not even try the breakfast on Sunday and left as soon as we got up. I was hoping for a better experience for my first stay at a Hyatt Place.

Room Tip: If you do decide to choose this hotel, ask for a room on the top floor facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    50
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
27
28
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O.P.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful front desk clerks. They really add to the good image of this Hyatt Place. Hotel is in a great location for visiting attractions in both Dallas & Fort Worth. Easy access to highways. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the rooms are spacious. Outdoor heated pool which is great for March! Good breakfast buffet with a variety of choices. I will for sure stay here again when in Dallas!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Very inviting and affordable hotel in Galleria/North Dallas area. Cordial staff. Convenient location to Galleria mall and nearby businesses and restaurants. Shuttle bus/van is available. Well appointed rooms with seating area with couch/pull of bed, small divider to bedroom area. Accommodating bathroom area with hair dryer and hair products. Very small closet but had ironing board and iron. Good desk area with all the computer outlets you need. Handy kitchenette with sink and refrigerator. Large flat screen TV. Pleasurable Free breakfast with hot breads, fruit, oatmeal, eggs, pancakes, sausage, juices. It can get crowded at certain times. You could take your meal back to your room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I really enjoyed this place. The service was great: always smiling, shuttles to dinners, attentive and just plain nice. A special thank you to the front desk staff. Great hotel for business as its close to the surrounding business parks. Thank you,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Recently stayed at Hyatt Place by Dallas Galleria. The location of this hotel is excellent , just beside Galleria , has easy access to the freeway ,lots of restaurants around . Rooms are spacious and very clean , we ordered room with 2 queen size beds ,they are actually full size , but mattresses are comfortable and we had a good night rest . Internet is free ,but a little slow. Breakfast is from 7-9 am , variety of food was a bit generic and could be a little better. Overall we had a good stay and definitely will be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Not a bad hotel to stay in. I stated here for business for 4 days. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only complain was that the sofa was dusty and they only ran one elevator all day and night. And it was super slow. The free breakfast was good, and the wifi worked well enough.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is well located and reasonable. The staff are very attentive and helpful. The free breakfast and Starbucks coffee were a great plus. I enjoy Hyatt Place Hotels due to spacious rooms which are well set up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Dallas-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Dallas-North

Address: 5229 Spring Valley Road, Dallas, TX 75240
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Dallas
#57 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Dallas-North 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Place Dallas-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Dallas-North Hotel Dallas
Hyatt Dallas
Dallas Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Dallas-North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.