We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The French Room: an absolute must do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Adolphus Hotel to your Saves list
Adolphus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 189 Hotels in Dallas
Paris, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The French Room: an absolute must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Have traveled a lot and can say that The Adolphus is one of the best hotels in the country. The most appealing draw is The French Room. A stay at The Adolphus should REQUIRE an evening at The French Room. While the decor is perfect and the service is second-to-none the cuisine is superb in every aspect. My recommendation: The Chef's Selection with the wine pairings. Absolutely marvelous. The chef's offerings are exquisite, the presentations are stunning, the wait staff attends to every detail, and the sommelier's selections were perfect. My wife ordered ala carte and her meal was equal in every way. This may sound like a paid advertisement but it is not. We had a great time and will be repeat customers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    381
    168
    95
    73
See reviews for
212
604
135
580
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Hotel was chosen by Bride for out of town wedding guests. Stayed 2 nights. Rooms were large, clean & comfortable. Staff excellent. Only downside was parking - Valet parking offerred ($$), but 2 blocks away was parking garage for a few dollars. Also - no pool, but we didn't need one anyway. We would return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Hosting an after rehearsal dinner for 125 friends and family in a city ten hours away can be daunting, not to mention the need to plan a weekend full of activities to keep everyone happy. The staff at the Adolphus Hotel was at my side every step of the way from the hospitality suite, to the menu of exceptional food to service that was unbelievable. Everything was perfect and all of my guests felt pampered and special. Paula Fenner and her staff pulled off flaming deserts, beautifully set tables, people to help me move gift bags, boxes or grooms cloths from one room to another when we were at the wedding, and the list goes on and on. I cannot wait to go back to The Adolphus and spend another wonderful weekend or perhaps a week with the friendly staff that made all of us feel special and welcome each time we stepped out of our comfortable room. In today's hectic world, they seem to have captured the right pace and service to make everyone feel extra special. My son's wedding weekend will be long remembered as A+ thanks in part to this fine hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

The Adolphus was built by Adolph Busch of Budweiser fame so you know it was top of the line when it was built. Unlike some other historic hotels, the Adolphus is just as beautiful today with numerous expensive, beautiful and historic furnishings throughout. Ask at the desk for the information sheets that describe the items in the public areas. The service at front door, front desk, valet car compliments the decor and grandeur. Location is also great. You can walk to Sixth Floor Museum & the Art District in the other direction. Adolphus also will drive you to downtown attractions. Best to reserve with doorman in advance. Only service lacking was the poor concierge. Not knowledgeable about restaurants or concerts. Expected better at this level of hotel. We had an upgraded room that was large & well appointed. Do not miss dining in the French Room. This is not your usual hotel dining room. It is beautiful with great service from Jim Donohue, the maitre d' and his wait staff. The food is delicious, just don't come ravenous as it is nouvelle cuisine. Only nitpicks besides concierge for this top level hotel was lack of newspaper [please not USA Today!] at door in morning, no in-room safe and having to stop at desk to check out.
If you like classical music, go to the Dallas Symphony. Call them directly or online and say "VisitDallas" to get 20% discount. Enjoy dinner in symphony hall at one of their 2 restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I have stayed in pretty much the best of the best in this country and I have to say the whole atmosphere at the Adolphus Hotel is top notch. Annibal The concierge handled everything I ask for and then some. Mayra at the front desk made me feel welcome and was on her game.. Not the normal I am just doing my job thing, But really enjoying taken care of the client, Wish there was more out there today as it was refreshing and pleasant.
Would send anyone I know there and know they would be treated well..

Mark

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

You will know when you have arrived the minute you drive up to the Adolphus. The Door Man greets you with a great smile and does not let you lift a finger. All is done for you. Although this is a vintage hotel, it has been beautifully maintained. I was here to be honored by my agency with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Yes, I have arrived in my life and my stay at this beautiful Hotel was also a great reward.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Adolphus in June 2009, and I could not have been more impressed with how great their customer service and attention to detail were throughout the wedding planning process, as well as during the wedding reception. I worked with their event planners for about a year, and they went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect! I could not have imagined a more perfect place to have a wedding reception, and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking about staying there or having an event there. Amazing hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adolphus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adolphus Hotel

Address: 1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 189 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adolphus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adolphus hotel is an urban classic, with Lone Star tradition and cosmopolitan style. Travel + Leisure readers voted it one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. The latest Zagat Survey ranks the hotel's French Room the #1 restaurant in Dallas for food, decor and service.Main Street entertainment and nightlife just outside our doors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Adolphus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adolphus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.