We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel. Staff very helpful.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Adolphus Hotel to your Saves list
Adolphus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 189 Hotels in Dallas
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming hotel. Staff very helpful.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Style is older and could use some updates but it IS a historic hotel. Understand that they will begin renovating this fall 2014. I was here for business and it has a good downtown location. Was able to walk to the JFK memorial. Fun local green spots all around the hotel.

Staff was very helpful for directions and recommendations. Elevators were very quick.

Ate at Dallas 5* restaurant, "The French Room", which was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your compliments and insight.

Thank you, too, for sharing your travel tips - and advice about The French Room.

We hope you will return soon.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    379
    168
    95
    73
See reviews for
212
601
135
580
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilgore, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed at the Adolphus last year for a business conference and was truly disappointed with the room, the service and the price charged for it. The room was dirty, the curtains looked like they have never been changed or clean, same could be said for the upholstery. There were no ice machines available.The elevators are tiny and we had to use the stairs every time! We were on the 6th floor, mind you. We had to carry two pairs of shoes and leave much earlier because the elevators were not available. We were treated poorly by the valet parking staff ( parking of the cars, rude attitude and all!). I do not recall having the deposit returned to my account either. The business conference we are attending have "assigned" us to that hotel again, and if there have not been any changes at the place, and I can't get any other accommodations, I probably will not be attending. That is how strongly I disliked my stay at this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is challenging to address issues that occurred nearly a year ago. When problems arise, it is important to talk with the hotel management promptly.

Best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I spent Valentines at the Adolphus. I was disappointed by the value. The rooms were small and unkept for the amount you pay. But, the lobby and restaurant were great. Still, I stay in Dallas a couple of times a year and if you don't mind the drive there are better places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the feedback and apologize for your disappointing experience.

Thank you for reaching out.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel has been renovated, however, they have managed to retain the elegance and charm of yesteryear. Our room was large and comfortable, as was the bathroom. The sconces beside the mirror were vintage of the year it was built. The staff friendly and helpful, with a courtesy car available to take you within a 3 miles radius of the hotel - a big plus for attending an event in the convention center which was a few blocks away. The lobby is stunning, they serve high tea in the late afternoon (pricey). There is a large signed picture from 1997 when Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Phillip stayed there. This hotel is a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and kind words. Our staff appreciates the praise!

We are delighted that The Adolphus impresses you and offers great value.

A century of service has kept us on top of our game. Thank you for noticing.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

When you book a room at an old and historic hotel like the Adolphus, it's always a gamble. It can go either way. Just because a placebest hotel in town 50 or 75 years ago doesn't mean it is now. I've read some of the negative reviews and was a little apprehensive at what we would find.
But our stay was perfect. Yes, the hotel is very old and legendary but it is very well run and we had a great time. The hotel lobby is gorgeous and very old-school luxurious. Lots of wood paneling and comfortable couches. The lobby bar looked first-class.
We had arrived in town about midday to attend a taping of the Conan O'Brien show. We arrived at the hotel at 1, checked our bags with the concierge and rested in the lobby for a bit. We then went out to lunch and did a bit of sightseeing before the show. The hotel is within walking distance of Dealey Plaza and many fine restaurants.
Our room was on the sixth floor, way at the end so it took 3 minutes to walk from the elevators. But the room was clean. The beds were freshly made and the bellman who brought our bags to us called room service and got ice for us. There are no ice machines on the floors.
The bathroom was large and clean as well. The shower area was small but the shower head was excellent. There were more than enough towels. The soaps and shampoos were of high quality too.
My wife found the bed a bit lumpy for her tastes but it was fine to me.
We experienced none of the bad things other reviewers had. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't use their car service but was glad it was available. We will definitely stay there again. We felt welcomed and the Adolphus gave us everything we wanted in a hotel. We didn't use the fitness center and I don't believe they have a pool, which wasn't a factor for us anyway.
It was a first class experience, for which we were grateful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your review captures the essence of The Adolphus and all we are about.

Thank you for sharing comments that most everyone can relate to.

We have a fitness center, but we do not have a pool.

It was a pleasure having you with us and look forward to your return.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

I regret only being able to stay for one night. The Adolphus is the perfect mix of historic charm and modern convenience perfectly located in downtown Dallas. Everyone in our group commented on how great they slept due to the quiet, serene rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

You are most kind.

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with other travelers.

We hope to see you, again, soon.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Adolphus is a beautiful hotel with a stunning entrance lobby. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable about the history of the hotel.

Room was ok, nicely decorated and spacious. The only problem was that the air con didn't work so the room was hot and stuffy all of the time as you were unable to open the windows. We reported it to reception but it was not fixed during our stay. However, when we checked out they did compensate us for the inconvenience by reducing the cost of the parking.

Hotel is in a good location near to the major attractions and there are some nice bars and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and high praise. We appreciate your letting us know about the air conditioning in your room. It should have been repaired while you were with us; we apologize that it was not.

Your travel insight is very helpful, too.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adolphus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adolphus Hotel

Address: 1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 189 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adolphus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adolphus hotel is an urban classic, with Lone Star tradition and cosmopolitan style. Travel + Leisure readers voted it one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. The latest Zagat Survey ranks the hotel's French Room the #1 restaurant in Dallas for food, decor and service.Main Street entertainment and nightlife just outside our doors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Adolphus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adolphus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.