We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Elegant Splendor and Magnificence Of This Historic Downtown Dallas Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Adolphus Hotel to your Saves list
Adolphus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Elegant Splendor and Magnificence Of This Historic Downtown Dallas Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

What an amazing hotel. I spent 3 nights and I was greeted each time with very helpful and friendly staff. The hotels location is in walking distance to all the sights and sounds of downtown Dallas. My room was very clean and room service was quick to respond to my needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Garret,

Our staff is most grateful for your high praise.

Thank you for taking the time to recognize their hard work and dedication.

We hope you will come back to see us soon.

Thank you!

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    369
    160
    87
    71
See reviews for
207
582
127
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We purchased the "Deluxe King or Two Double Room: One-Night Stay for Two with Valet Parking". When I called and tried to book a room, no king room was available, so they gave us a queen. I was not pleasant about that. The hotel itself was beautiful and quite different from the usual hotels. We love the lobby! For some reasons, I really like the carpet. Their elevator was ancient and very cute. We found our floor decoration very odd. The carpet and the wall color did not really match. Our room was at the corner and it was cozy. We got a view of the Commerce Street. We did not use any of the amenity or their restaurant, so can't really comment on it. Their valet staff was really friendly. Overall it was an average stay. It was nice to stay in a historical hotel like this, but I do not think we would go back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments.

We appreciate your visiting The Adolphus.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here earlier this week on business. The staff were great and the rooms were clean. The place is kind of a flashback to the 1950s so if you enjoy that type of atmosphere you will like this hotel. I prefer a more modern feel, but it's always good to switch it up every now and then. Philip the bellman was great and he helped me find a good place for dinner. The breakfast was pretty good and service was fast. I would consider staying here again if I need to be near downtown.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Phillip is delighted that you thought highly of his service, and we appreciate your recognizing him publicly for his warm and gracious hospitality.

Thank you for mentioning our central location and the breakfast you enjoyed.

We hope you will visit us, again.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Everything was absolutely wonderful. It is a stunning historic hotel right in the heart of Dallas. There are no negatives here. The lobby bar was energetic and the sitting areas beautiful. I really liked the palm trees in the main sitting area. You really need to see it to appreciate it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your telling The Adolphus story. Your compliments and high praise are a joy to read.

Thank you!

Best,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are large. The gym had everything I needed. My nicoise salad for lunch was delicious. Best of all, the staff (restaurant, front desk, bellman, gift shop, concierge) has customer service down pat. It's obvious that they value customer service and stress that to their staff. I will stay here again when I'm in Dallas.

Also, I'm allergic to feathers and the foam pillows they put in my room were memory foam. Everywhere else I go (all over the world) I get nasty little foam pillows that were probably purchased at a dollar store. They are always seriously uncomfortable and clearly an afterthought. I was impressed with these pillows!

Room Tip: Beware that some rooms are up a small flight of stairs. If you can't do stairs or have too much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Amy,

Your review captures the essence of The Adolphus and what our staff works so hard to achieve every day.

Thank you for writing a review that speaks to our finest attributes.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Adolphus is a wonderfully grand stay! It is centrally located in downtown Dallas. The hotel is a historical jewel with great charm and character. The room rate is extraordinarily reasonable given the quality of the hotel. Restaurants and bars are wonderful. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Carol,

What beautiful compliments! Our staff appreciates your kind words of praise.

Thank you for taking the time to express your view.

We look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here this past weekend to enjoy the downtown area of Dallas. This hotel is clean and comforting. It is also close to a lot of great spots in Dallas. This hotel is 30 minutes away from Cowboy Stadium, Dallas State Fair, and the Zoo!

Room Tip: Twisted Root Burgers is down the street :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a joy to hear that we impress.

Thank you for your review!

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adolphus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adolphus Hotel

Address: 1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adolphus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adolphus hotel is an urban classic, with Lone Star tradition and cosmopolitan style. Travel + Leisure readers voted it one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. The latest Zagat Survey ranks the hotel's French Room the #1 restaurant in Dallas for food, decor and service.Main Street entertainment and nightlife just outside our doors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Adolphus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adolphus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.