We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and excellence in a historic setting.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Save Saved
You added Adolphus Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Adolphus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Only $1 Extra For Parking
Ranked #25 of 188 hotels in Dallas
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Luxury and excellence in a historic setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Adolphus on a trip for a concert at the AT&T Performing Arts Center. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Dallas near the arts district. There is no self parking available at the hotel but there are other garages nearby. We used the valet and found that they are very well staffed and wait times are minimal. Check in was quick and easy and everyone we interacted with was friendly and welcoming. Traveling through the public areas the craftsmanship in this old building is apparent. There is a large amount of detailed woodwork that is not seen in modern settings but that adds a richness and character. Our room was in a corner of the building with three large windows looking over downtown. The room was larger than most modern hotel rooms. Furnishings included a king size bed, love seat, writing desk, armchairs and a large, flat screen TV in an armoire. The bathroom was also large with a shower but no bathtub. The room was clean and well maintained. Responses to calls for items were answered and taken care of promptly with a professional and friendly attitude. We ate in the cafe and found service to be quick and friendly with good food. Overall it was a great experience and we would gladly stay at the Adolphus again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Bill,

Your recent Dallas getaway is the experience we strive to provide all of our guests at The Adolphus.

Thank you for your kind words and compliments.

We look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    993
    348
    156
    81
    65
See reviews for
198
550
124
541
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Got in at 9pm after a long plane ride and there was only one person at the registration desk. There were at least 15 people to check in, it took 40 minutes waiting in line to get checked in. No one came to help the girl, apparently the manager went home earlier. There were plenty of guys around to take suitcases up to rooms (for tips???) but only ONE person to register. It was late, we were tired. Room are OK, not cleaned well. 1/2 eaten old pizza in refrigerator the first night. It was removed and the refrigerator locked (how do you get snack food if you want it? No key!
I found a partially finished bottle of water behind a chair, a toy car underneath the ottoman and a fruit loop piece of cereal. Carpet not cleaned, no effort made to move furniture to clean. The first day I had nicely stocked shampoo, bath gel, lotion and conditioner. The next day I didn't even get a clean bar of soap! At $200 a night (with taxes) consistency is imperative. One of the busboys would hail a taxi and push other like-skinned people ahead of others waiting for a taxi as well
This is booked as a "luxury" hotel. Step it up to luxury or you'll stay a laughing stock.

Room Tip: Tell the staff you want personal; items each day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Lynda,

Your comments gave us pause.

Sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
472 helpful votes 472 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were guests of the Adolphus for 10 nights, a stay we believe is above average in the industry. Although one ought to expect to be treated well even for a one night visit, we had hoped that the hotel would take notice of our extended stay and respond accordingly. It did not. Our stay there was on the whole disappointing and fell well below expectations for a hotel that holds itself out as one of Dallas’s best.

First, some background. We had communicated with the hotel and asked that housekeeping or engineering do a bed bug check of the room in advance of our stay. We had selected the hotel in part because there were NO bed bug reports, but we recognise that even the best hotels have occasional problems.

When we arrived, we were not greeted by a door man or a bell man. Check-in was without grace, perfunctory, and indifferent. We were simply given our room key card and directed to take the escalators to the elevators, which would in turn take us to our room floor. No bell man assisted us with our bags: we were left to carry them ourselves. Although we were later told that this was an aberration and definitely not typical, we observed this happening with several other guests.

We found the room, although large, to be in terrible shape. Linen was stained and soiled. The drapes and sheers were also filthy. Furniture was chipped and finishes worn. A knob was missing from a dimmer switch. Upholstered furnishings were stained. The bathroom was incredibly small, dark, and oppressive. There was peeling paint on the bathroom ceiling and the wallpaper was coming away from the wall. There was mould in the grout. We found the room’s condition particularly egregious in that we had been assured that a housekeeping team had inspected the room for bed bugs prior to our arrival and given it a clearance.

We complained to the front desk. The response was a defensive and denying one and certainly not calculated to deal with the issues. Subsequently, at our request, we were escalated to a manger who did attempt to deal with the issues. We were shown another room - which we rejected because it was smaller and also had some of the same issues. We elected to accept the first room.

We did return one afternoon to find the ceiling in the bathroom had been repainted, some of the sheers and a table replaced, an attempt made to clean the backing of the drapes, as well as a bottle of wine and a fruit basket together with an apology from the manager.

Problems go well beyond the room. There is a general lack of customer service. Some employees are lazy and contemptuous. Staffing is inadequate. There is a revolving door of individuals who are identified as concierges. None has certification and all seem to wear an assortment of different hats. They are frequently not at their posts, having been tasked with other duties. On several occasions, we attempted to reach them on the telephone and no one picked up. Further, when we left messages to have them call us, they did not. On the whole, they lacked the knowledge and finesse we have come to expect from better hotel concierges. We were impressed with the hotel drivers, however.

We also had problems with a package that we had delivered to the hotel. We received confirmation from the courier that the package had been delivered, yet we were not notified by the hotel of its arrival. When we inquired of the front desk, they insisted that it had not been delivered. When we provided details of the person who had signed for the package, they advised there was no such person in the hotel. Finally, we were directed to the concierge who ultimately retrieved the package that had been sitting in a receiving area for several hours. This is completely unacceptable for a hotel that purports to cater to business guests.

We had occasion to entertain several clients in the lobby bar. Service was unacceptable. One was required to order one’s drinks at the bar and then carry them to tables. I was tasked with carrying trays of drinks to our guests. The lounge area was not kept clean and many tables sat with dirty glasses and napkins long after guests had departed. We were embarrassed.

Our general impression of the hotel and its staff was that they just don’t care.

The only positives are the hotel's location and its wonderful restaurant The French Room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is painful to read that, in spite of our best efforts, we failed to meet your expectations in the ways you describe. Rest assured, our management has taken your criticisms to heart and have shared them with every member of our staff.

Thank you for your high praise for The French Room and our sedan service. You are kind to recognize their outstanding service and commitment to excellence.

We hope you will accept our apologies.

Very sincerely,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I enjoyed staying at the Adolphus Hotel during a recent visit to Dallas to attend a show at the World Trade Center.

The hotel is located in the downtown neighborhood and just steps from Neiman Marcus, fun restaurants and other amenities. The hotel lobby is lovely with all the charm and elegance of a landmark hotel, with a great lobby bar and one of the best restaurants in Dallas - the French Room - and lobby staff that is charming and very attentive.

I wish I could give this hotel a 5 star rating, but the room I had did not warrant that rating I am sorry to say. The room was rather dated, although quite spacious. The bathroom was way below my expectations with very old fixtures (brass soap dish left soap discolored, taupe colored tub and toilet). The housekeeping was also below average as my tub really needed a good scrubbing and when I requested a working hair dryer it wasn't sent up until I asked the front desk a second time.

These are rather minor issues, I must confess. I would definitely stay at the Adolphus again. The live jazz combo in the bar on Saturday night was just great - as was the people watching!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Bridget,

We appreciate your kind compliments and valuable feedback. Your comments will help guide our improvements and staff instruction programs.

Your endorsement and high praise for The French Room are also appreciated.

Thank you for caring enough to share your insight.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Adolphus Hotel on June 23 and June 24. We had a marvelous time with friends from Arkansas. The staff was courteous and the room was large and comfortable. The scam occurred several hours after we had checked in. We received a call on the room phone. An individual claiming to be calling from the front desk stated that the person who had checked us in had failed to gather all of the information from our credit card. He started to ask for specifics and I told him I would come down to the desk. He said he was at the desk and would have to run my card again and put a hold on it if I came down. I hung up and went down to the desk to inquire about it and the desk clerk, a woman, said no one had called from the desk. I spoke to security and they said it had happened before and they would write a report. The rest our stay was great and we had a wonderful time in Dallas. Just please be forewarned.
New Orleans couple

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Gregory,

We appreciate your very kind compliments and high praise for our staff.

Every hotel in the world is subjected to these and other scams. Thank you for reminding everyone to be on their guard in their travels.

It was a pleasure having you with us, and we are delighted that you had a wonderful time in Dallas.

Warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I decided to do just a small getaway weekend and decided to stay at The Adolphus based on pictures of the interior alone. Upon arriving we were blown away at how great it looked and the pictures didnt really do it justice. Everyone on staff we encountered were super friendly and knowledgeable. We were upgraded to a suite instead of the room we booked and it was wonderful. If I have to make a complaint it was that the bathroom lights were too dim, made it hard for my wife to get ready. Overall it was a great experience and we will definitely be coming back for weekends away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Justin,

You are most kind to take the time to share your recent experience at The Adolphus. We are delighted that you found everything splendid and charming.

Your thoughtful suggestion will help guide future renovations and improvements. Listening to our guests - and responding to their needs - is our top priority.

We look forward to your return.

Thank you!

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Adolphus and had the guests for our daughters wedding stay there. From the moment we pulled our car into the drive we were treated like we were their most important guest. The man who took our car remembered our names each time we came. The service was superb. Each of our guests said the same thing. We had High Tea and the experience was absolutely wonderful. We had a wonderful experience and would definitely go back to this beautiful grand hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our management and staff take great pleasure in creating the wonderful experiences you describe so beautifully.

Thank you for highlighting the true Adolphus and its many sparkling facets.

We look forward to your next visit - and creating more happy memories for you and your family.

With warmest regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adolphus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adolphus Hotel

Address: 1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 188 hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adolphus Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adolphus hotel is an urban classic, with Lone Star tradition and cosmopolitan style. Travel + Leisure readers voted it one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. The latest Zagat Survey ranks the hotel's French Room the #1 restaurant in Dallas for food, decor and service.Main Street entertainment and nightlife just outside our doors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Adolphus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adolphus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.