We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience in Dallas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adolphus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adolphus Hotel to your Saves list
Adolphus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Savor
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Culiacan, Mexico
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Experience in Dallas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This hotel runs like a top and the history of the hotel was something I found very interesting. Beautiful, grand baronial lobby, it was the perfect location for touring downtown. We could walk to the Dart rail system and get to anywhere we wanted to go downtown. My favorite place was the Rodeo Bar Down stairs. Such a great atmosphere. Adolphus staff to be courteous and very helpful. Any question, they were ready to answer. The price on this location was so resonable and worth every penny. You can get comfortable even in such a fancy hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to compliment us on your visit to The Adolphus. It was a joy having you with us.

Our resident manager will be thrilled to hear that the hotel runs like a top. He spends countless hours ensuring that it does!

With the DART light rail system so close by, the whole of Dallas is at your doorstep - to be sure!

We hope you will return soon and make Dallas - and the Rodeo Bar - a regular stop.

Best,

David

P.S. The Rodeo Bar staff sends you a big Texas "Howdy!" Go easy on the spurs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    423
    188
    101
    77
See reviews for
230
651
143
613
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed at the Adolphus Hotel in Dallas while in town for the for 2011 NABE Annual Meeting.

This is a beautiful old world hotel with lots of wood and brass furnishings and plenty of comfy couches in the lobby. The hotel rooms were enormous and the meeting rooms for the event were quite nice as well.

The staff at the front desk, the bell stand, the banquet team, and everyone I met from the Adolphus (except for the gal in the business center) were all extremely helpful. The only drawback, which was no one's fault, is the rooms were not ready at check-in time.

Certainly take a look at the Adolphus if you need to stay in downtown Dallas for any reason. It has a personality and style all its own!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Guests,

Our founder Adolphus Busch would be proud that guests from his old stomping ground - St. Louis - paid us a visit and were happy with their stay. Thank you!

Your thoughtfulness in describing your visit so thoroughly will be greatly appreciated by other travelers.

Take care.

Kind regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had a one night stay to relax and unwind. I did just as the doctor ordered, restful night with room service----and I even got some shopping at Neiman Marcus. Service excellent and friendly employees.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
Dear Well Rested,

How nice it was to learn that we were a part of your doctor's orders. We have never been on a prescription before, but we are very honored to be considered good medicine!

We are delighted that you left relaxed and refreshed. It's definitely what we want every guest to experience when they stay at The Adolphus and dine in The French Room.

Our room service staff appreciates your kind words.

Wishing you good health and happiness always,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Its a lovely hotel and we found all the staff very helpful with some exceptional ones.
My only comments would be as follows and are not intended to criticise but be constructive.
The published rate of our room was $649 per night (room 1114) for two persons and thankfully we did not pay anything close to that. For a 5 star property I was suprised that the room did not have:
1) A full length mirror
2) In-roomsafe
3) Slip mat in bath/shower
4) Daily morning newspaper (a small thing but for what it costs greatly appreciated).

Also if you ran the shower or bath you had to have the bathroom door open as the ventilation was poor and everything steamed-up.

We found the Rodeo Bar/Grill excellent value for money but the Bistro breakfast menu rather limited.
A great stay, but its the little things that often make the difference.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidDavis, Director of Public Relations at Adolphus Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments. We appreciate your praise.

Most of our guest rooms and suites do have full-length mirrors. We apologize that yours did not. Bath mats are provided upon request. The majority of our guests do not want bath mats.

We hope to have in-room safes soon. The installation presents an inconvenience to our guests; and since demand for in-room safes is low, we are waiting for a slow period to address this.

As do most hotels, we provide USA Today to all guests. Today many guests prefer to read their paper of choice online. How times have changed!

We are grateful for your insight and look forward to welcoming you back to The Adolphus.

Best regards,

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

As usual this hotel did not disappoint. My wife and I stayed here for her 40th Birthday and upon arrival we were given a letter from the hotel manager wishing her a happy birthday. An hour after we were settled into our room a platter of chocolate covered strawberries and chocolates with a card wishing her a happy birthday made of chocolate arrived! I had one of the employees bring a cake out during afternoon tea and play happy birthday to her on the hundred year plus old piano as a surprise. They made everything special. The concierge is very knowledgeable and can give you advice on local events and attractions at the drop of a hat. Hands down the best hotel in Dallas and would give any hotel in New York or Chicago a run for its money!

Room Tip: not a bad room in the hotel! Every room is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here before about five years ago and had a much better experience. This time when we arrived they gave us a deluxe room instead of the suite we paid for. We called down to the front to have our room changed and they said they would send up a bellhop who never arrived. We finally moved ourselves because we had dinner reservations. Once we got to the new room we found two burned out lights. The ac could never get the room below about 72 and the sink and bathtub poured very hot water no matter whether you turned on hot or cold. We stayed here for two nights for our anniversary. Overall it was a very nice room for a good rate but the little things added up to a disappointing experience. Most of the staff was very helpful with the exception of the registrar who blamed us for the room issue because she said we said yes when she asked if we had a "king" room. Apparently a King room is a room type not a bed type at the Adolphus

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed 2 night and really like the hotel - has old world charm, building is old so it means all rooms are different, solid walls so you can't hear anyone in other rooms, etc. On checking in I was given a room that looked out at another building - look out the windo and you get a view of bricks - which I was not happy with. I rang down and they changed me to a suite - complimentary upgrade - so I was quite happy with that.

The rooms are nice but the bathrooms a little old - and lighting not great. The couch in the rooms looked like it needed a clean. Everything else was very good - very comfortable bed, and great big room.

The bar downstairs is nice - but service average.

Location is good - central downtown and you can walk to many restaurants etc.

All in all a very good hotel I would be prepared to stay at again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out to the street - not at a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adolphus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adolphus Hotel

Address: 1321 Commerce St., Dallas, TX 75202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adolphus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adolphus hotel is an urban classic, with Lone Star tradition and cosmopolitan style. Travel + Leisure readers voted it one of the top 10 large city hotels in the Continental U.S. and Canada. The latest Zagat Survey ranks the hotel's French Room the #1 restaurant in Dallas for food, decor and service.Main Street entertainment and nightlife just outside our doors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Adolphus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adolphus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.