We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected upgrade.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Dallas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Dallas Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Dallas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 North Olive Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #61 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
Gatlinburg, TN
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Unexpected upgrade.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I had made a reservation for a standard King room for two nights. When I checked in they said that I had been upgraded to a suite. I expected it would be a "Jr. Suite" where they put a sitting area at the end of the room. Was I surprised when I walked in and found a living room with two sofas and a big chair, plus a dinning area. There was a long hall down to the bedroom that was flanked with a large closet and a very nice bath. The bedroom was large, with a in-room wet bar and relaxing chair. When I called the front desk to check if this was right, they assured me that it was.

The restaurant had a great breakfast buffet. The concierge service was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    460
    282
    145
    94
See reviews for
126
170
114
981
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesboro, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My comments will fall into two categories not so good and very good.
Not So Good: The roads around the hotel are one way; if you miss the entrance you have to circle around a couple of blocks to return to the entrance. Parking costs are crazy, Vale is $24 and Self Park is $21. So add that to the overall cost of Sheraton’s expensive rooms. I look for minor issues because they are indications of how Sheraton takes care of major issues. In my room the bathroom light cover was covered in so much dust that the bathroom lighting was very dim, the hot water faucet handle was loose and spun around, and the sink drain was clogged. I found a safety issue, the electrical outlet located at the head of the bed had a two outlet converted into four outlet with four plug connected to everything, all of the wires were nestled against the box spring. Potential fire hazard - You be the judge. Finally; Sheraton has a restaurant but their prices are not very reasonable, an example would be breakfast buffet was around $20. The quality and quantity fell short of my expectations.

Good: The exercise room as over the top, great facility, great equipment. The pool was located outside the exercise room on the fourth floor so the view was interesting. The Sheraton has 29 floors, great stair running if you enjoy that kind of exercise. The staff was the best part of my experience, they were very friendly. All of my questions were answered to my satisfaction. The registration process was slow but Sheraton had several agents on duty to keep the flow moving. Over all, my room was vey nice, the view of DFW was breath taking. The bed was pillow style and the TV was a large flat screen high definition model. I was impressed with room service.

Over All; I probably won’t stay there again, it just didn’t meet my expectations or my budget.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

A group of about 25 stayed here in July for a fitness competition that was held at the Convention Center. We stayed for two nights and were pleased with our stay. The rooms are very spacious (3 of us roomed together) and we felt like we had plenty of room to spread out. There are also several counters/mirrors in the room which are great for people to spread out and get ready (fix hair, makeup). The staff was friendly, but very average. We stayed at this hotel due to the proximity to the convention center. Half a block away is a tram and you can get a pass for $3. The tram ride to the convention center is about 10 minutes. I made the mistake of meeting up with the group later and rode by myself (I'm in my 20's, blonde) and actually received honest feedback from several locals that I need to either go back to the hotel or get with my group, so please be careful. There were a number of restaurants and bars within a 10 minute walk, but again please go with someone. The hotel has a delicious brunch (although ~$25/pp), but it was very good with a broad selection. The hotel gift shop also has a lot of essentials if you need anything. There is hotel parking with plenty of room for everyone. All in all, it was a fine visit but I wouldn't necessarily stay there again if I felt there were better options.

Room Tip: We had a room away from the elevators and it was extremely quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We recently booked a large block of rooms at the hotel for a wedding and brunch. The group reservations girl offered a suite for the Bride and Groom for the wedding evening. After getting the bill, it appears that our Group Reservations girl is no longer working at the Sheraton, and they refused to honor her commitment.

We also booked a per person brunch with the hotel and had 70 guests attend. They presented me a bill for 96 persons on the basis that they had to set more place settings (as people moved to visit with others) and that rather than counting the actual number of people, they counted place settings. Not a really good idea when you have people going back for more food and moving to other seats to visit with other family and relatives.

I would not recommend another event at this hotel.

Room Tip: The bedding in our room was not the famous Sheraton sleeper mattress and was very uncomfortable. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Tx
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I visited this hotel on a work conference. When I walked into my room I was very pleased. It was very spacious, flat screen tv, comfy beds, four big fluffy pillows on each bed (important to me, because I love pillows!). The restroom was large and modern. There were plenty of hangers in the closet and my view was nice. I see that some reviews could hear the train from their room...I could not...I was in 2263. The overall staff was very courteous. Everytime we had a question to go on how to get somewhere they were very helpfull. We ate in the hotel for breakfast and lunch for our conference and the food was excellent, and there was plenty. The only reason I am not giving 5 stars is that I think the hotel bar was very pricey...and the bartender actually reprimanded my friend when she tried to order. After standing at the bar for 15 minutes to order our first drinks (they were very busy) when she finally saw a bartender and called out her order...he looked at her and said..."thanks....now I don't know what I was doing!" I guess he caught himselft because he then said...what can I do for you. Other than the bar, the place is great!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great service! I have been staying in this hotel for the last 6 month. Hotel is clean and nice if you are staying for business or pleasure during the weekend. Location is good, driving distance to the best shopping malls (Galleria and North Park) and tourist sites.

Suites are huge! a lot of space of 4 people.

The two best things of this hotel is the Executive Lounge and the gym.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Stayed here as a couple for four days in September. Every member of the staff was pleasant, accommodating, and efficient. Asked for and received an upper room with a great view. Room was medium size, modern and spotless. Big screen, flat HDTV. Starbucks coffee in room. Excellent, though a bit pricey at $19, breakfast buffet. Large sports lounge with very large TV's and reasonable drinks and snacks. Hotel is connected by skybridge on north side to a small mall with shopping, ice skating rink, and small cafes and fast food including a McDonald's. A number of inexpensive restaurants within a three block area.
Walk to the famous Adolphus hotel four blocks away to view the historic lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for upper room on North tower for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Dallas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Dallas Hotel

Address: 400 North Olive Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#42 Family Hotel in Dallas
#51 Business Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Dallas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1840
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Downtown Dallas Hotel offers warm hospitality, an accommodating environment, and vibrant location in the heart of the Arts and Financial district and just blocks from the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Dallas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Dallas Resort
Adam's Mark Dallas
Dallas Sheraton
Adam Mark Dallas
Adamsmark Hotel
Dallas Adam Mark Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Dallas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.