We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Joule is a Jewel of a hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Joule, Dallas to your Saves list
The Joule, Dallas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The Joule is a Jewel of a hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

3 nights at this luxurious hotel with my other half. This was the first leg of our trip as we were passing through on the way to Cabo (Mexico).

When arriving at the hotel, the taxi door was opened for us and bags collected from the trunk and the next time they were seen was in the room. The doorman radioed ahead to the reception desk to let them know we had arrived.

The hotel lobby is very grand. There is a wheel near the reception desk and lots of seating. Also there is 2 PCs for internet usage, should you want.

The very friendly receptionist was welcoming, greeted us and took us up to our room. She showed us around our room, we had been upgraded. The room was very stylish. As an extra special touch they had laid out chocolates for us.

Despite the set back that one of my cases did not arrive the hotel could not have been more accommodating. They contacted the airline and arranged for it to be dropped off. Whilst providing the house car to take us to the mall to buy essentials.

The pool on the roof was awesome. It extends over the edge of building. The side of the pool is glass and you can look down to the street below. There were several cabanas and various seating areas and also a bar.

We had decided to go the bar known as the Ghost Bar of the sister hotel 'W' and the hotel very kindly offered to take us in the house car. They had also provided us with a party key to access the party where Grand Master Flash was DJ. The key allowed us to cut queue and head straight up to the party on 33rd floor.

Charlie Palmer's the restaurant in the hotel is amazing. The food was simply delicious. Whilst sitting in the bar waiting for our table the bartender made drinks especially for us. He was was friendly and even gave us drinks on the house!

The menu had a lot of variety, so something for everyone. When we had finished our main course, the waiter brought over complimentary coffees and a selection of deserts and also chocolates. The atmosphere was relaxed but smart and the service was excellent.

On the last day the hotel had laid out a complimentary breakfast buffet as the restaurant was closed. This was the usual pastries and tea/coffee/orange juice selection. A lovely touch.

All the people in the hotel were very friendly and knew us by name! I would recommend this hotel. Truly service with a smile.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    133
    34
    20
    20
See reviews for
59
265
44
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

We just returned from a week-end get away for our anniversary at the Joule. We were very impressed with the service and attention to detail. We were upgraded from a regular deluxe room to a Loft Suite and even received a bottle of champagne. All I can say is.....AMAZING.

Charlie Palmers is a wonderful restaurant and also supplys room service. Staff is incredible. Danielle and Gregory were always there for whatever we needed. Truly a luxury week-end.

  • Liked — service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We stayed at the Joule for two nights, and the hotel itself is quite beautiful. Our room was very nice as well. However, the service is not where near other luxury collection hotels, but more on the line of a Motel 6. The cleaning services "forgot" to make up our room, and did not replenish the soap or shampoo. Furthermore, they left us only one bath towel and forgot to remove all their cleaning supplies from our room. I did complain to management and they appeased me with some Starwood points. It is just very hard to fathom such poor service in a hotel that claims to be a luxury hotel. They have a great deal of work to do, so be weary if you book this place now. I imagine most of the kinks will be worked out soon, or this place won't last long.

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2008

Went to Joule for anniversary get-away. Brand new hotel which is nice since so many hotels do not update once they are a little older. Very contemporary hotel but classy. We considered Ritz and Mansion on Turtle Creek but happily choice Joule.

Service is hit or miss. They had free bottle of wine and chocolates in our room for our anniversary which was nice but I had to ask 3 times for ice bucket (it is small hotel so there are no ice machines on the floors). When I checked out they double billed for the room (once in my name and once in my wife's) and the guy at desk said they had had problems with that happening.

There is Charlie Palmer restaurant in hotel but is not owned by hotel. Charlie Palmer cooks the room service menu but it is different menu than restaurant and didn't look as good (no foie gras). We ordered take out from Charlie Palmer and they even provided us plates and silverware. This was nice because we got the food we wanted, didn't have to worry about it being cold and got to watch UT kick Missouri's [----].

Location is in middle of downtown but lots of activities close by. Check out Iron Cactus for a drink - they have 3rd story rooftop bar that is really nice if weather is good. Also for the ladies one of Dallas' best spas (Sedona - lady's only) is across the street but make sure and get appointment in advance as my wife couldn't get same day appointment on Saturday. The hotel can arrange for in room or couples massage from Sedona. Also try brunch at Bread Winner's Cafe - just a short 3 miles away. We had dinner at Nobu which is in Crescent Court which was really good too.

  • Liked — New hotel - no old crap
  • Disliked — service issues
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

WOW! What a hotel! I have never been so spoiled in my life!

This is a true Luxury Hotel from the ambience to the amenities to the exceptional staff.

My family traveled toThe Joule, A Luxury Collection Hotel for a birthday weekend - it was perfect. Upon returning to our room one evening we discovered a birthday card signed by the hotel staff and gifts on the coffee table? How? What? They are that good at The Joule!!

Not one staff member gave us the pretentious, arrogant attitude one sometimes feels when staying at a hotel of this caliber, especially when traveling with childern. Sometimes I feel like a lower class citizen when traveling with my kids at luxury resorts - not at The Joule, they welcome them with inviting arms!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

This is an excellent hotel with an amazing rooftop pool and lounge area. I would have nothing bad to say if I had not realized when I got home that the valet (or somebody with access to our car in the valet lot), had stolen a couple of items from my trunk. The staff at the hotel and the parking company (ACE parking) are working hard to rectify the situation, but at $27/night for parking one would hope that her car was more secure than it apparently was. So, one word of caution; empty your car entirely when parking in their valet lot.

  • Liked — Rooftop pool
  • Disliked — Stolen from in the valet lot
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

This was, simply the best hotel experience we have ever had.

My wife and I stayed at this hotel to celebrate our anniversary. Upon check in, they knew (and remembered!) our names, what we liked, everyone congratulated us on our anniversary! Upon check in our room was not ready, but they offered to hold our luggage and let us swim in their pool. The pool! It was a salt water pool on the 12th floor that juts out over Main Street in Dallas. The service there was exceptional, the area was very clean and very well maintained. The concierge came and gave us our room key when our room was ready.

The room was immaculate - superbly decorated, super clean, and there was a complimentary bottle of champagne for us, with truffles and a lovely note from the manager. The room was superb! Large, quiet, excellent!

The room service was wonderful - the food was great, and the service was, again, exceptional.

Stay here - it's expensive, but absolutely worth it - we plan on returning next anniversary!

  • Liked — Service!
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheJoule, Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, April 9, 2010
Thank you for the great feedback and I am pleased that this was your "Best Hotel Experience".

We are always talking to our staff about our greatest brand attributes which is Design, our Food & Beverage and Service. I am happy that you touched on each one of those.

Your anniversary is right around the corner. We hope to welcome you back to The Joule again soon.

- Kristin Walker
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Address: 1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dallas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#7 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule, named for the international unit of energy, occupies a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic, landmark Dallas building. The hotel is well into a two-year $78 million renovation and expansion expected to be complete by early 2013, including a subterranean spa by ESPA, new suites and multi-story penthouses, the TASCHEN Library and retail by TRAFFIC Los Angeles and TENOVERSIX. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of Old World quality and contemporary design with original marble flooring, richly colored fabrics, custom millwork, chrome, glass and populated throughout by original artwork from names including Andy Warhol, Tony Cragg, Adam Fuss and Richard Phillips. In addition to uniquely designed guestrooms and a spectacular penthouse, the property currently includes a cantilevered glass rooftop pool and bespoke lobby environment. Set in the heart of a burgeoning downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the internationally acclaimed Dallas Arts District, the hotel is ideally located. The Joule - an artfully delivered experience in an iconic setting infused with energy, style and passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joule, Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.