We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury with a personal touch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Save Saved
You added The Joule, Dallas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Joule, Dallas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 188 Hotels in Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True luxury with a personal touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

I travel constantly for work and I have stayed in hotels the world over, famous for their luxury, or their cool factor, or their beauty. Never before (not in my hometown of New York, or Paris, or London, or Hong Kong, and certainly not in Dallas, which I frequently visit for work) have I stayed in a hotel that, in addition to being truly beautiful, and so stylishly appointed, also felt familiar, close. The staff of this establishment are genuine, kind, and gracious. When I checked out I felt like I was leaving friends (and I only stayed one night)!

So yes, the pool is wonderful, the room service is fantastic, the Taschen bookstore almost takes the cake(if that had not gone to the adorable, artistic boutique in the lobby), but the individuals I encountered (Victoria, Myron & Bianca at the check in desk, Clint the concierge, Kyle the driver, Mallea by the pool, Jesus the engineer... Bill from room service who brought me the best filet mignon I've ever eaten, Angela in guest services) elevated my stay to a remarkable travel experience. I am so grateful and I had such a fun, fun time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We sincerely thank you for your review. As you mentioned, we are passionate in going above and beyond to create the personal touch that makes an exceptional stay and are thrilled we delivered. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    115
    29
    18
    19
See reviews for
53
237
39
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Visually this hotel is amazing and from the looks of it they are just adding onto the incredible style of the downtown Dallas scene. However what you can not see is the amazing service that is provided when you visit. From the moment my wife and I made the reservation to the time we left, the service was excellent. Jennifer Vincent was very polite and accomodating to anything that we needed and went above an beyond our expectations. Our anniversary may have had something to do with it, but I had a feeling that was just the job she was ment to do and truly loved serving people and making them feel happy. Everyone there treated us like royalty and made us want to visit again. To everyone at The Joule, keep up the great work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear you enjoyed a fantastic anniversary while at The Joule. Jennifer Vincent, along with the entire Joule team is key in creating an amazing stay for our guests. We look forward to providing the same excellent service upon your next stay at The Joule.

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Joule is awesome and the service is exceptional. One of the house car drivers, Darraell was a pleasure! He was very patient with our group, and provided a professional level of service.the rooms were decor is modern, plush, and very comfortable. The front desk staff attempts to accommodate every guest needs, and they go above and beyond to make sure guests are satisfied.

Room Tip: The King Executive Suite is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Creating an environment for a comfortable and exceptional stay is priority at The Joule. We are thrilled to know you received the above and beyond service we take pride in. We sincerely thank you for your review and look forward to having you at The Joule during your next Dallas visit.

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our vacation in Dallas was enhanced by staying at The Joule. Staff throughout the hotel (maids, valets, front desk) provided great service and appeared genuinely happy to help. In particular the concierge, Lauren, and Mauricio and Thomas at the bar were excellent.
There were several dinner/bar options nearby, while the onsite bar/restaurant was also really good.
Room was a reasonable size and high spec throughout.
Yes it is pretty expensive, but you get what you pay for and The Joule is worth the little extra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review of The Joule! With a premium property in Downtown Dallas, we take pride in delivering quality hospitality and are thrilled to know we delivered. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return to The Joule.

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Little things mean a lot, but the most important part of the hospitality business is...hospitality. I do not recall a more sincere and helpful staff in a hotel - ever - anywhere - as in, on the planet. Not the false friendliness that expects a reward in a tip...real Tejas friendly. That's what we experienced at the Joule. Everywhere we turned, Myron at the front desk...Clint the Concierge...or the bartenders at the pool, a smiling helpful face greeted us or served us or just spoke graciously in their moment of interaction.

The rooms are nicely appointed and yet thoughtfully practical. Sheets and towels are soft and bedding is superb. Yes, this hotel is expensive but unlike many luxury hotels in big cities, the Joule actually deserves its reputation for a quality stay. The true value of the Joule is the completeness in meeting creature comforts and personalizing customer experience.

Finally, there are the other guests. It seems that the climate created by the staff makes everyone a bit friendlier. Great poolside experiences talking with other guests. Unusual in other "stuffy" luxury hotels. It was fun.

Room Tip: Street noise can be avoided by staying on the "back" side of the building or on higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We are thrilled to know your experience at The Joule was exactly like nowhere else! Along with the entire Joule team, Myron and Clint are true assets to providing a quality stay to our guests. Many thanks for your comments and we look forward to hosting you at The Joule in the future.

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed at the Joule in Dallas for a one night get away while grandparents watched the kids. The staff, especially Myron at the front desk, were above and beyond friendly and helpful! Myron upgraded our room after a big mix-up at a different Dallas hotel led us to Joule. He made us instantly feel welcome and stress-free after a difficult time. The hotel has recently been renovated and it is beautiful! The pool on the 10th floor is small, but great - amazing view and pool bar! The location on Main Street is super convenient for parking your car and walking everywhere. Will definitely pick Joule over all other Dallas hotels again for future escapes!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Myron at the front desk truly is fantastic and has a heart for quality service. We strive for a stress-free, warm and inviting environment at The Joule and are thrilled we delivered this experience. Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to having you at The Joule during your next Dallas escape!

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

First, we were escorted to view the different rooms available by Victoria. Upon hearing it was our 25th anniversary, they offered us a very big discount on the penthouse suite. Victoria even poured us complimentary champagne available in the lobby. Bill, in the hotel bar/restaurant recommended the quail legs appetizer and tuna tar tar which were both excellent. Then in the extremely unique gift shop, Diamond gave us recommendations for places to eat in various areas of Dallas including the Bishop's Arts District, Downtown and Highland Park. If you want to be treated like an old friend or someone special, stay at the Joule! Don't miss the cool library and the infinity pool.

Room Tip: They will happily take you to see several rooms so you can hand pick according to your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind review! The Joule takes pride in its warm hospitality and it is fantastic to know our staff was able to assist in creating a memorable 25th anniversary. Thank you again for your insights and we look forward to accommodating you at The Joule during your next visit to Dallas.

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Address: 1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#3 Business Hotel in Dallas
#10 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule, named for the international unit of energy, occupies a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic, landmark Dallas building. The hotel is well into a two-year $78 million renovation and expansion expected to be complete by early 2013, including a subterranean spa by ESPA, new suites and multi-story penthouses, the TASCHEN Library and retail by TRAFFIC Los Angeles and TENOVERSIX. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of Old World quality and contemporary design with original marble flooring, richly colored fabrics, custom millwork, chrome, glass and populated throughout by original artwork from names including Andy Warhol, Tony Cragg, Adam Fuss and Richard Phillips. In addition to uniquely designed guestrooms and a spectacular penthouse, the property currently includes a cantilevered glass rooftop pool and bespoke lobby environment. Set in the heart of a burgeoning downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the internationally acclaimed Dallas Arts District, the hotel is ideally located. The Joule - an artfully delivered experience in an iconic setting infused with energy, style and passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joule, Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.