We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great mini-escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Joule, Dallas to your Saves list
The Joule, Dallas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Frisco, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great mini-escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I did a quick weekend stay at the Joule for my birthday weekend, and we loved it. The room was beautiful. The bed was fantastically comfortable and I really wished I could steal the pillows. The service was also great; the people at the front desk were happy to help out when we had a question or a need. And finally the location was also good. There is lots of downtown interest within walking distance, and we were close to the new Perot museum as well as a personal favorite, the Dallas World Aquarium.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
To begin, happy belated birthday! It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your birthday weekend, the property, the staff and location of The Joule. Thank you for your comment and we look forward to hosting you for a return visit!

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    133
    34
    20
    20
See reviews for
59
265
44
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Joule Hotel is looking great in Dallas, we had a wonderful stay for a recent business meeting. In particular, Helvius at reception was a life saver when he was able to help find my missing Fedex box just in time for a very important meeting. Thank you to everyone at the Joule !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We agree, Helvius is fantastic and truly is a lifesaver – we are lucky to have him on The Joule team. We sincerely appreciate the review and we hope to have you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently celebrated my daughters 21st. Birthday in Dallas and stayed at the Joule. The hotel was clean and had a nice European flair. We had our dog with us and the staff was very helpful to ensure we had what we needed including a treat for her when we arrived. The best part was the service and friendliness of the staff. From the front desk to the complimentary shuttle drivers that took us to dinner, it was obvious that the folks enjoy working for the Joule.

I highly recommend this property.

SCM from Raleigh

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and happy belated birthday to your daughter! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and received one-of-a-kind service – our staff plays an integral part in creating The Joule experience for our guests’, their families and their pets! Once again, thank you for the review and recommendation. We look forward to having you at The Joule again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Friendly, accommodating staff! Top notch service!!! A big call out and many thanks to Kathryn, Mara, Sony, Deborah, Myron, Victoria & Angelica. Looking forward to the completion of your renovations. Many thanks to Chef Connor, our waiter William and Sommelier Jeff! Dinner at Charlie Palmer was amazing!

Room Tip: Go for the Lobster Corn Dogs at Charlie Palmer :0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
So happy to hear you enjoyed The Joule’s accommodating and premium service delivered by our staff. The expansion is approaching full completion and we look forward to hosting you at The Joule in the near future. Many thanks for the review!

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The staff was accommodating to best of their ability. The room was outstanding for a weekend getaway. We will be back!! The bath, shower, bed and Bose stereo system were the best. Loved the digital art throughout the hotel. Angelica and Victoria checked us out when we left. They both were very nice and provided excellent customer service.

Room Tip: The Joule suite is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am happy to hear The Joule played a part in your fantastic weekend getaway. We are especially thrilled to hear you enjoyed the excellent guest service and we agree - Angelica and Victoria are wonderful!

Kind Regards,
Greg Katz-Managing Director
gm@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous hotel and rooms. The shower is fabulous and glamorous. The folks at the front desk started off being friendly by offering a warm towel to freshen your face and/or hands. However, after that, there wasn't that Southern Hospitality that I was hoping for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We sincerely apologize and appreciate your critique for the below par hospitality you received. The Joule takes pride in its quality of service. We encourage you to contact us directly for further feedback, as it is reviewers like you who help us maintain the exceptional and welcoming hospitality.

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the Adam D. Tihany design of The Joule! The expanded Commerce Street lobby will be opening on June 19 where you will find our new Weekend Coffee shop, TASCHEN Library at The Joule and TENOVERSIX and a carefully curated Lobby Bar purposefully paired with art and design including Tony Cragg, Dan Reese and many others.

We hope you at The Joule in the near future with warm and inviting hospitality.

Many thanks!
Greg Katz - Managing Director
marketing@thejouledallas.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was in Joules Dallas in connection with ASTD Conference in May 2013. First they put me in a room so small that I could n't move. I went down to the reception next day and told them that I am moving out. Then they changed me to another room. Still the service is poor and I will not stay in that hotel again.

Room Tip: Not worth for the money you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JouleDallas, General Manager at The Joule, Dallas, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your candid review and we sincerely apologize we were unable to deliver an exceptional experience. The Joule was pleased to be a hotel participant with the ASTD Conference. Due to the citywide conference, room type availability was limited and the room types were confirmed and contracted by the group planners. The Joule team strives to give every guest the most positive experience possible and we are happy to accommodate room moves when available. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly with any further concerns. We hope to have you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Greg Katz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Address: 1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dallas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#7 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule, named for the international unit of energy, occupies a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic, landmark Dallas building. The hotel is well into a two-year $78 million renovation and expansion expected to be complete by early 2013, including a subterranean spa by ESPA, new suites and multi-story penthouses, the TASCHEN Library and retail by TRAFFIC Los Angeles and TENOVERSIX. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of Old World quality and contemporary design with original marble flooring, richly colored fabrics, custom millwork, chrome, glass and populated throughout by original artwork from names including Andy Warhol, Tony Cragg, Adam Fuss and Richard Phillips. In addition to uniquely designed guestrooms and a spectacular penthouse, the property currently includes a cantilevered glass rooftop pool and bespoke lobby environment. Set in the heart of a burgeoning downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the internationally acclaimed Dallas Arts District, the hotel is ideally located. The Joule - an artfully delivered experience in an iconic setting infused with energy, style and passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joule, Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.