We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool themed hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Joule, Dallas to your Saves list
The Joule, Dallas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Package
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Dallas
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cool themed hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great service.
Clean
Good food
Cool rooftop pool

I had a great time at this hotel. I was there meeting some friends for business. The weather was great and we spent most of our time around the pool. On the weekend, there was great pool side service, a DJ spinning, ...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    142
    35
    20
    20
See reviews for
62
272
46
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Joule is a boutique hotel in downtown Dallas with five-star service. The pool/bar area is very cool -- the pool has a glass wall so that jealous pedestrians below look up and snap photos. The rooms are very nice, and the bed was perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the The Joule suites, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had a wonderful weekend getaway in my own city....Myron did a great job of taking care of all of our needs. I would recommend this place to everyone and plan on returning very soon. Do not leave this place without trying the great breakfast, we ordered and 10 mins later it was hot and at our door.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

From the moment we walked into the door at the Joule and received our glass of champagne I knew that my wife and I were in for a great evening. Not getting to spend to much one on one time with my wife of 20 years I was looking forward to this evening like you wouldn't beleive and I truly was not disapointed!
The room itself was so spectacular...comfortable with a lot of style and substance...it actually reminded us both of a hotel we had stayed in Madrid:)
The guys at the front desk were great particularly, Myron who gave us some great tips on where we could go for some nibbles and drinks and the place he referred us to THE STONE STREET MARTINI LOUNGE was out of this world.
So a wonderful evening where I got to reaquaint myself with my wife in a superb luxorious hotel:)
I WILL BE BACK!!!

GP

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayville, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Phenomenal service from bell hop, check in, room service, evening turndown, to bar. The rooms are fantastic, clean with separate bedroom and living space, and a large bathroom. The only negative is the cost. At $400 a night after tax, I was thankful my company covered the bill. Given there was construction outside I probably would have expected a lower rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I'm just one of the common people who enjoys staying in a fancy hotel like The Joule a few nights per year. Although the area where the hotel is located is not very alive, I was looking forward to the pool. Unfortunately the pool on the roofterras was closed and the rooms where not that impressive, but the bellboy (sorry, forgot his name) and the concierge (Clint) were the best!. Just like I expected from a Starwood Hotel they took that extra step to make me feel special. It's the staff, not the venue that made the stay a real experience. A big applause for the staff of this hotel, especially Clint!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

From the minute you pull up curb side, to the bittersweet goodbye bid to the valet as you depart, the level of service and quality at The Joule is palpable. Everyone I encountered, from the valet attendant to the lobby concierge to the bar tender clearly have a sense of pride in The Joule and hold the guest experience in focus.

My wife and I both work downtown and planned a stay at The Joule for a much-needed quality date night away from the house and kids. She checked us in and we met up at the roof-top "poole" bar before the show we were going to at the Majestic (which is an easy four-block stroll). It was a cool night but the way the pool and bar are set up, you could enjoy the space even if it were snowing outside. Very unique and very pleasant. We had a drink and appetizers served to us, the fine cheeses and meats were delicious. And finally, a bartender who would make a martini MY way instead of his way! Evening off to a great start.

So, off to our show we go. My wife checked us in to our room and I had been running late so I had not seen our room until after the show. Was I ever into a tremendous surprise. The room was breathtaking in quality, through and through. I understand that it was recently renovated and WOW, what a success story this is. Very modern with lots of stone, hardwood and glass but very warm and comfortable and with the perfect use of soft area rugs, carpeting and well-chosen furniture pieces.

We came back to "the poole" and bar after the show and dinner for another drink and dozed easily in the huge comfy "bed chairs" at poolside, to the soft rumbling sounds of downtown. Really a nice time.

I have to reserve a separate paragraph for the bedding. I have stayed in many, many hotels through business travel, vacations, or what have you. The hotel building itself can be beautiful, have the best restaurants and service but if the bed and bedding is not of equal quality, the experience falls flat. When you think about it, you spend the majority of your time at the hotel IN BED. It is clear that the bed and the bedding at The Joule had been selected by someone who truly LOVES being in bed the way we do. We didn't want to leave and felt a little teary eyed and empty inside when we had to leave it (okay, a little dramatic, but we LOVED the bedding, okay??). The perfect number and size and weight of the pillows. The weight of the sheets and covers are just right. Pure white gives a feeling of clean. The bed itself was perfection as well, down the firmness and lighting. I could not have asked for a better experience.

This is a clear representative of the fact that the guest experience at The Joule is thoroughly thought through, considered and detail-focused. Which is the difference between a good hotel and a great hotel. And this, my brothers, is a great hotel.

As a side note, the Main Street address of The Joule could not be better for a downtown location. There are dozens of culinary choices within five to ten minutes walk from The Joule, and we found one perfect to our mood (see my review of The Dallas Fish Market) for dinner after the show at the Majestic. The next morning, on the recommendation of the valet attendant, we went right across the street to Sol Irlandes (also see my review) for brunch. It was really, really good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dallas hotels
Downtown Dallas
Omni Dallas Hotel
Omni Dallas Hotel
#4 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 3,759 reviews
Oak Lawn
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
Hotel ZaZa Dallas
#2 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Highland Dallas
#23 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 810 reviews
Adolphus Hotel
#29 of 192 in Dallas
4.5 of 5 stars 1,994 reviews
Downtown Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
Hyatt Regency Dallas
#19 of 192 in Dallas
4.0 of 5 stars 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Address: 1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Dallas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#5 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule, named for the international unit of energy, occupies a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic, landmark Dallas building. The hotel is well into a two-year $78 million renovation and expansion expected to be complete by early 2013, including a subterranean spa by ESPA, new suites and multi-story penthouses, the TASCHEN Library and retail by TRAFFIC Los Angeles and TENOVERSIX. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of Old World quality and contemporary design with original marble flooring, richly colored fabrics, custom millwork, chrome, glass and populated throughout by original artwork from names including Andy Warhol, Tony Cragg, Adam Fuss and Richard Phillips. In addition to uniquely designed guestrooms and a spectacular penthouse, the property currently includes a cantilevered glass rooftop pool and bespoke lobby environment. Set in the heart of a burgeoning downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the internationally acclaimed Dallas Arts District, the hotel is ideally located. The Joule - an artfully delivered experience in an iconic setting infused with energy, style and passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joule, Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.