We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing engagement night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Joule, Dallas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Joule, Dallas to your Saves list
The Joule, Dallas
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201 (Downtown Dallas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 190 Hotels in Dallas
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing engagement night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My fiance and I have stayed at The Joule before and LOVED our stay. So it was no surprise to me that he booked a room here for the night he proposed. He gave the staff a heads up that it would be an engagement night, and they truly made it special! Particularly Eric Rojas. Mr. Rojas wrote a special note for us next to a nice bottle of champagne, lined up candles down the room hallway, left chocolate-covered strawberries on the bed, and had a bowl of fresh fruit on one of the bedside tables. The lay out was gorgeous. I was recovering from the flu, and wanted some tea and he brought us a wonderful selection. He truly made the night even more special for us. I definitely recommend The Joule for any occasion! And if you can choose someone to help out and add the extra details -- ask for Eric! We'll definitely be going again...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    122
    30
    19
    19
See reviews for
56
249
42
232
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nice hotel with an excellent staff. My wife and I stayed here on our anniversary and their concierge, Karla, did a fantastic job making arrangements so that our stay was a truly memorable experience. I have stayed at hundreds of hotels across the US and the staff here was some of the best I have experienced. I highly recommend staying here if you are in Dallas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Due to business I stayed in this property weekly for 6 weeks, and every time the service was smooth and great- from check-in, housekeeping, room service, to one of the best valet departments I've seen in hotel industry. I think their valet texting system to pull your car should be rolled out to every Starwood property.

The only minor issue I've had with this property is that their restaurant service speed is pretty slow and the menu variety not that great. But there are good restaurants nearby, and I'll still stay with this hotel every time I visit Dallas.

Room Tip: If you don't like the idea of sleeping in a round bed (which doesn't affect me), ask the FD...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for our annual "Christmas Angel Tree shopping weekend. We were met and welcomed with warm regard, and received an amenity surprise for our anniversary celebration! We asked for late check-out and were granted this request...which really made our stay so much less rushed! The corner room was reminiscent of boutique hotels in NYC; chic, modern, and interesting! We will be returning here. We hope the downtown Dallas construction on and near Main will be finished next time!

Room Tip: Corner, and try to upgrade if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We're traveling from Louisville, KY to San Antinio stopping for what we thought was going to be an over night in Dallas! We were so comfortable and relaxed in this welcoming, warm and SUPER cool boutique hotel we opted for a 2 night stay! I can't say enough about the staff. I was so impressed with Tom, Mark & Katie (just to name a few) in satisfying our needs while staying at a place that they so obviously take pride in and with good reason. I highly recommend if your considering staying here don't pass up the opportunity to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

If you must be in boring downtown Dallas, then please stay at the Joule. Easy walk to the convention center. Spacious rooms, a little vibe, OK all day food at Palmer, small outdoor patio, interesting pool retreat, tiny gym. It solves the problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Joule for our wedding night. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel, we were treated like a King & Queen. Jeffery went out of his way to make sure we felt right at home with champagne upon arrival, a tour of our suite, and well-coordinated details...a true experience! The room was so spectacular...we didn't want to leave! This hotel is a must for a romantic getaway weekend! The Davis's will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Go for the suite!!!! You won't regret it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Joule, Dallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Joule, Dallas

Address: 1530 Main Street, Dallas, TX 75201
Location: United States > Texas > Dallas > Downtown Dallas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dallas
#2 Spa Hotel in Dallas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dallas
#3 Business Hotel in Dallas
#7 Family Hotel in Dallas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Joule, Dallas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joule, named for the international unit of energy, occupies a revitalized 1920's neo-gothic, landmark Dallas building. The hotel is well into a two-year $78 million renovation and expansion expected to be complete by early 2013, including a subterranean spa by ESPA, new suites and multi-story penthouses, the TASCHEN Library and retail by TRAFFIC Los Angeles and TENOVERSIX. A visual masterpiece from award-winning designer Adam D. Tihany, the hotel creates a tasteful union of Old World quality and contemporary design with original marble flooring, richly colored fabrics, custom millwork, chrome, glass and populated throughout by original artwork from names including Andy Warhol, Tony Cragg, Adam Fuss and Richard Phillips. In addition to uniquely designed guestrooms and a spectacular penthouse, the property currently includes a cantilevered glass rooftop pool and bespoke lobby environment. Set in the heart of a burgeoning downtown, adjacent to the flagship Neiman Marcus and within walking distance of the internationally acclaimed Dallas Arts District, the hotel is ideally located. The Joule - an artfully delivered experience in an iconic setting infused with energy, style and passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Joule, Dallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Joule, Dallas Hotel Dallas
The Joule Hotel Dallas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Joule, Dallas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.